$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Feb 4, 2011

Very Affordable

The best price in town and conveniently located to campus and freeway access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jun 2, 2009

Lamp Post Inn

We went to a concert at The Ark in downtown Ann Arbor. This hotel is only 4 miles from downtown district. This hotel has very friendly, accomodating staff. The rooms are average but clean and a great value for the money. There are plenty of shopping businesses and restaurants close by. I stayed at this hotel last year while attending another concert at the Ark and will continue to stay there as it is so convenient, clean and a great value. The room we had had a small refridgerator and microwave which is also very convenient. Even though this place doesn't have an on-site restaurant, they do offer a continental breakfast for the early risers. Great place, great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining and shopping are within blocks. There is a mall close by and plenty of individual stores. Restaurants are also very close and varied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shellyrae
Business
Kalamazoo,MI
Aug 31, 2009

Prefect !

No complaints!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Took cabi, 2 miles too much this trip.RAIN

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 17, 2011

Does the job

The best things about the hotel are that it's clean and economical. Internet connection is slow. No ironing board. Breakfast is not the best. Not close to anything if you want to get breakfast or dinner. You'll need a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 25, 2010

Lamp Post Stay

It was clean, safe, and a great price. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to stay in Ann Arbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.K.Z.
Business
Amherst
Aug 14, 2014

OK for the price

It was cheap, so I did not expect a lot from it. The smell of the parking lot was quite strong, the breakfast was cheesy, and the staff was OK. I stayed there only for one night since I needed to visit U of M Ann Arbor, which was OK. But I absolutely will not stay there for longer than 2 nights even it's cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's easy to take the bus from Lamp post to U of M, which was the reason why I chose it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2010

Friendly and comfortable

I loved the Lamp Post Inn. The staff were very friendly and the place was spotless. It's an older (but well-maintained) motel; the shower was old-school tile. The wi-fi was faster than any other economy motel I've stayed at. Trader Joe's is right next door, but other than that the only other restaurant I saw was a sandwich shop. About 7 minutes by car from the UM campus. There was not a hairdryer or an iron in the room, but I didn't ask if they were available at the front desk. It felt like a place that people cared about. Much better than many an economy motel I've stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prospective Student at U. Michigan
Business
New England
Apr 19, 2010

Lamp Post Inn Review

Lamp Post Inn is a good deal on price. The rooms are fine and the staff is friendly and useful. The primary negatives for this establishment are the location and wireless Internet. First, the location is a bit far from campus and you should plan to walk around 30 minutes if you do not have other transportation. Second, the wireless Internet access was a bit slow. It's fine for checking email or other basic tasks. Overall, I recommend Lamp Post if you're a budget conscious traveler who doesn't mind walking or has a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camille
Business
Glendale, New York
Sep 11, 2011

Brief Visit

My stay at the Lamp Post Inn lasted only one night, instead of the four I had planned. This was due to a family emergency. I found all at the lamp Post extremely welcoming and helpful, especially in assisting me to secure assureance that I would receive money back for the the three days I did not stay, as I had planned. The name of that receptionist was Miranda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Z
Business
Lincoln Park, MI
Dec 7, 2011

Nice Hotel

It was clean and comfortable. The refrigerator was a little small and I only had a microwave but it was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top