$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
165 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jan 26, 2010

Ok for one night

It was ok, great location for visiting Eastern Michigan University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 6, 2008

it was ok

It is an old motel that needs a lot of repairs. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very small and needed numerous repairs. I think it had the original furniture in it. It was close to town and the highway that was the best part. I wouldn't recommend it unless you don't care where your staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to many shoping places

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cynic9
santa barbara, ca
Aug 16, 2013

What's That Smell?

room smelled like some cleaning agent, air conditioner gave off foul smell, cigarette smokers all outside the hallways, old funky rooms, noisy parking lot next door otherwise, good location, cheap prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommo48
Belvidere, IL
Jul 22, 2009

The good and the o-so-good

While in Ann Arbor, I was able to go to all the Art Shows. My son and daughter-in-law live in Ann Arbor and were able to show me all the goodies that Ann Arbor has to offer. It was a very pleasant time. The room was ok. It was clean the first day that I got there. The soap and shampoo were quite lacking. I realized that the Inn is a budget hotel, but I thought they might have replaced the empty shampoo tubes. The location was great in that it is about a mile up the road from where son/wife lived. It was a straight shot. The total experience was not totally bad, I just thought there might be a few more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bger
bowling green ohio
Jun 15, 2009

needs some work

pool was unusable,microwave didnt work,exaust fan didnt work and bathroom even tho looked clean was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TeeWrecks
Business
Milford, CT
Sep 17, 2009

Okay, but not the place for me

Well, it was definitely cheap. But overall, not a good choice for business travel. Motel-like. Old rooms. Woke up like 5 times overnight whenever the loud A/C wallunit "clicked" on. Didn't feel entirely safe as single female traveler. Front desk was very nice and helpful. Had small computer for me to use in lobby. Also, is not within walking distance to hospital or campus, so had to take a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OG12
Washington, DC
Oct 3, 2011

I wouldn't have my honeymoon here but it's fine as a place to sleep.

The hotel was fine for us, since we were out all day and just needed a place to sleep. It wasn't particularly special in anyway, but wasn't awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phys sub
ann arbor, mi
Jan 8, 2010

so-so

Plus: Room was clean. Minus: We had requested extra towels for a 3rd person, and they never brought them. I tried to go to check-desk in the morning to get the towels, only to find door locked with sign that said, "open at 7". It was 5:30 and we were all trying to take showers. Since we checked out at 6:30, our 3rd person had to "improvise". I couldn't believe the hotel was un-attended all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacific Coast Dad
Bay Area - California
Jun 9, 2013

Tired, but Clean

The property looks tired, but the room was clean. There was a Trader Joe's next door and a very nice park a block down Washtinaw. Internet connection is sporadic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Roly Poly Sandwich shop are in the shopping center next door.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top