$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 30, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
97 out of 97
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sioux falls, sd
Jan 17, 2011

quick trip

Nothing specialt

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
OG12
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 3, 2011

I wouldn't have my honeymoon here but it's fine as a place to sleep.

The hotel was fine for us, since we were out all day and just needed a place to sleep. It wasn't particularly special in anyway, but wasn't awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 5, 2007

Inexpensive motel stay

The Lamp Post Inn was very inexpensive to stay, but uncomfortable to relax. There are what appears to be many long term residents. I was worried about security on the doors (no chain) & the security of my vehicle. The people working there did a good job but I was worried about the clientele of the premises. The room was clean (I hope) but needed routine maintenance. The pool is an open hole with little pools of old water in it. Obviously not used for quite a while. I stayed one out of the two nights & left early. I like the price, but would feel more comfortable staying at an inexpensive chain hotel for a few dollars more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

University of Michigan facilities all around.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valrico
Jun 20, 2008

Requires Major Renovation

Terribly maintained and room conditions deplorable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Yuck

Kind of grimy. I woke up to 2 spiders crawling around in the bed. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, MI
Jun 17, 2011

What we found.

Although the rooms were all advertised as smoke-free, the first room we were given had obviously been smoked in, which didn't work for my girlfriend who has smoke allergies. The fridge had mold in it. The entertainment center was falling apart. And the grout in the tiny tiled shower needed to be redone. We were shown a 2nd room and then a 3rd before we found an acceptable one. The gentleman who checked us in was very accomodating, and was very concerned about our satisfaction. We were happy to only be staying one night. With a few cosmetic updates, deep cleaning of rooms which were previously designated for smoking, and cleaner fridges this would be a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ann Arbor/Washtenaw area is abundant with restaurants of varying ethnicities, which range from fast food to fine dining. Entertainment options are many and include movies, theater, dance clubs, concerts, and art fairs.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, ON
Aug 14, 2009

Good

Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phys sub
Business
ann arbor, mi
Jan 8, 2010

so-so

Plus: Room was clean. Minus: We had requested extra towels for a 3rd person, and they never brought them. I tried to go to check-desk in the morning to get the towels, only to find door locked with sign that said, "open at 7". It was 5:30 and we were all trying to take showers. Since we checked out at 6:30, our 3rd person had to "improvise". I couldn't believe the hotel was un-attended all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 6, 2008

it was ok

It is an old motel that needs a lot of repairs. The staff was friendly. The rooms were very small and needed numerous repairs. I think it had the original furniture in it. It was close to town and the highway that was the best part. I wouldn't recommend it unless you don't care where your staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

close to many shoping places

Back to menu Return to top