$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wolverine'72
Business
Chicago area
Jul 18, 2012

An old Lamp Post

If you are looking for a place to sleep, this is a great value. We had bagels and coffee in the morning; could have added oatmeal, but we didn't have time. Old and worn, but clean; and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

to the Michigan Stadium and central campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wifi traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 1, 2013

Eh.. there are better places

I work while I travel and require a bed, bathroom and decent wifi and work are -- and that's about it. The wifi was lousy -- certainly not what's expected in 2013. It couldn't even handle netflix. The work table -- rickety. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LZjz
Business
Rochester, MI
Feb 26, 2013

Good for short trip

If you need an inexpensive simple place to stay and will not be in the hotel much, this would be okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jawajediknight
Business
Orlando, Florida
May 26, 2013

nice people, poor room

The people running this hotel are nice, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The walls are very thin, and I had to listen to a domestic dispute all night long. The refrigerator in the room was old, dusty, and having mechanical issues that late at night kept waking me up. The coffee pot in the room was okay, but had not enough sugar and cream for the pot. The continental breakfast was poor. The orange juice was powdered, reconstituted juice (at least that`s how it tasted) and the coffee was terrible. The second day I didn´t even do the continental breakfast. Also, the cable in the room didn´t work, and the wireless internet didn´t work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacific Coast Dad
Business
Bay Area - California
Jun 9, 2013

Tired, but Clean

The property looks tired, but the room was clean. There was a Trader Joe's next door and a very nice park a block down Washtinaw. Internet connection is sporadic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Roly Poly Sandwich shop are in the shopping center next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cynic9
Business
santa barbara, ca
Aug 16, 2013

What's That Smell?

room smelled like some cleaning agent, air conditioner gave off foul smell, cigarette smokers all outside the hallways, old funky rooms, noisy parking lot next door otherwise, good location, cheap prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern PA
May 28, 2010

Rather tired and dingy.

The room felt dingy, with old furnishings that were in need of repair or update. The whole place felt neglected and run down. The windows and door glass of the lobby were streaked with old dirt and greasy smudges. This set the general tone for the facility. The so called continental breakfast was 3 english muffins and 2 bagels on trays, and orange and apple juice. Next time I will spend the $5 or $10 more to stay at a newer and cleaner "chain" motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 26, 2010

Ok for one night

It was ok, great location for visiting Eastern Michigan University.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepy in Ann Arbor
Business
Fairfield Township, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

Your mother's motel

Everything was as it would have been 40 years ago. The mattress seemed like it was original equipment. Bring your own pillow and towel and you might enjoy your stay more than I did. The room smelled like mold or mildew (there was a strict mo smoking policy - Yay!) and the bathroom was right out of my mother's old house. Breakfast was literally a bagel or an english muffin - no fruit or cereal (fiber is what I need when traveling!). The staff was courteous and friendly but I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Trader Joe's was right next door and shopping was a short drive down the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ann Arbor Annie
Business
Indianapolis, IN
May 29, 2009

You get what you pay for

The room smelled funny. The shower was old and a bit too creepy for me to use. There was a window in the bathroom that was unlocked (though closed) upon my arrival and led onto the roof that made me a bit uncomfortable for my safety. Overall the room was serviceable, but not very pleasant. There was a bed, a working bathroom, and a TV with basic cable. The room was oddly shaped and there was a panel in the ceiling for the attic entrance. The furnishings were kind of old too. Their were no curtains over the windows, just blinds. It was also very humid and the air conditioner didn't help much to dehumidify the air. Breakfast was free, but very basic, including plain bagels, oatmeal packets, cookies and coffee but no fruit, cereal, milk or juice. It was an all right stay, but I'm glad I only had to spend 10 hours there. I'm not going to stay there again though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's is in the shopping complex next door and there is a coffee place right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top