$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Z
Business
Lincoln Park, MI
Dec 7, 2011

Nice Hotel

It was clean and comfortable. The refrigerator was a little small and I only had a microwave but it was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pepspotbib
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Nov 3, 2012

Gross

I don't know who wrote positive reviews for this place cause our room was dirty, smelly and in very poor repair. Peeling wall paper, stained carpet, rust on hinges and light fixture, painted duct tape on ceiling, towels so thin you could see thru, super thin pillows, ancient thin mattress, and worst of all, my friend's sheet had a stain on it and she found a body hair by her pillow! Eeewwww! I would pitch a tent before staying here again! Stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Indian restaurant downtown is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Holland
May 13, 2011

Great Price but neglectful

The place was nice but upon further inspection the bathroom was lacking: paint chips in bathtub and toilet lever had to be held down the entire time. Then when checking out was dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Queen of the desert
Tucson, AZ
Nov 16, 2011

If you need an overnight place to stay

You know, the Lamp Post Inn is quaint, but frankly, pretty gross. If you need to stay longer than one night, I would invest in another hotel, even if it's more expensive. The Inn is run-down, but it meets very basic needs -hot water and heat. The microwave and fridge were nice to have. Trader Joe's around the corner was also great. Pillows/linens were awful, smell is awful. I didn't even bother with their breakfast. The staff is very friendly and the rate is also friendly, but if you're looking for a place to stay for more than one night, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
outta luck chuck
Business
austin, tx
Nov 3, 2010

Tough Luck at the Lamp Post

I knew that my flight into detroit/ann arbor was going to be later than some small hotels are used to so I arranged to for a late check in. as luck would have it, my flight was delayed and I showed up very late. The lamp post inn solution? Taped a note to the inside of the door directing me to a random mailbox to retrieve my key. Some one must have beat me to the lamp post because there was no key. There was no response when I tried to call the hotel either. I was forced to find another hotel in the middle of the night in a foreign city. The next day they were apologetic, but made no attempt to win back my business. In the future I will stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
better bring a jacket bob
Business
Austin, Tx
Oct 28, 2010

LampPost = Horrible Late Arrival Prolicy

The late arrival policy of Lamp Post Inn left me out in the cold. I was traveling to University of Michigan for a conference, I saw the Lamp Post Inn online and I figured that it was probably a decent place, and it was priced within my budget. I knew that my travel plans had me arriving after 6pm, so I made the necessary arrangements for late check in. My flight was delayed and I arrived around 1am. My name was on the door, with a note saying that the key was in the mailbox. I checked the mail, NO KEY. I tried calling the number on the door, NO RESPONSE. I looked for a manager's office onsite, NO OFFICE. It's the middle of the night, in a strange town, luggage in tow, and I have to find a number for a taxi, pay to be taken to "some where the cabbie recommends" The next day they call and acknowledge that mistakes were made, however they made no offer to win back my business or compensate me for this horrible ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix AZ
Jun 10, 2010

Lights are out at the Lamp post Inn

Hotel needs some work, and updating. The room is dingy, carpets are dirty and need shampooing. The towels are old and worn, need to be replaced. Staff was pleasant. This is the last time I will stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Yuck

Kind of grimy. I woke up to 2 spiders crawling around in the bed. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 17, 2007

motel atmosphere

Lamp Post INN is a glorified MOTEL. We stayed two nights and they didn't replace the used glassware, toilet paper, bedding. They didn't even make the bed. We only had their continental breakfast the second morning and the toaster didn't work to make the english muffins. A true case of you get what you pay for situation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Route 23 is a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phys sub
ann arbor, mi
Jan 8, 2010

so-so

Plus: Room was clean. Minus: We had requested extra towels for a 3rd person, and they never brought them. I tried to go to check-desk in the morning to get the towels, only to find door locked with sign that said, "open at 7". It was 5:30 and we were all trying to take showers. Since we checked out at 6:30, our 3rd person had to "improvise". I couldn't believe the hotel was un-attended all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search