$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 98
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pepspotbib
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Nov 3, 2012

Gross

I don't know who wrote positive reviews for this place cause our room was dirty, smelly and in very poor repair. Peeling wall paper, stained carpet, rust on hinges and light fixture, painted duct tape on ceiling, towels so thin you could see thru, super thin pillows, ancient thin mattress, and worst of all, my friend's sheet had a stain on it and she found a body hair by her pillow! Eeewwww! I would pitch a tent before staying here again! Stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Indian restaurant downtown is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BunnyZ
Business
West Lafayette, IN
May 29, 2012

Convenient stay

Work well as some place to stay over night. The air conditioner was very loud thought.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fallen0047
Business
Dayton, Ohio
Jan 31, 2010

Great value close to campus.

Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Great value and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

U of M

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phys sub
Business
ann arbor, mi
Jan 8, 2010

so-so

Plus: Room was clean. Minus: We had requested extra towels for a 3rd person, and they never brought them. I tried to go to check-desk in the morning to get the towels, only to find door locked with sign that said, "open at 7". It was 5:30 and we were all trying to take showers. Since we checked out at 6:30, our 3rd person had to "improvise". I couldn't believe the hotel was un-attended all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheap Hotel Aficionado
Business
Baltimore, MD
Nov 17, 2009

Perfect Cheap Hotel

The room was clean, and the continental breakfast was better most at more expensive hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you want expensive decor you have to pay for it. I thought the place was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
east lansing, mi
Oct 11, 2009

great price

extremly friendly staff at front office

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess goes on an adventure
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 1, 2009

An Inexpensive Stay

This was the middle night of a week long road trip. And was the best price we had our whole trip. If you're looking for a bed to sleep in for cheap, but not much else, this is the place to go. It's about a 10 minute drive into the heart of Ann Arbor/College Campus if you're being touristy or visiting the school. The beds are comfortable (I did bring my own pillow though) and the rooms are clean. They offer a complimentary breakfast, but we didn't get to eat it. It doesn't appear that much has been updated recently so I would recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveller rather than a family or someone who is looking for a little more in their hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a cottage that serves coffee and other beverages and breakfast foods (muffins and bagels). Absolutely fantastic iced coffee drinks!!! I'd recommend going through the drive thru instead of walking up since they seem to serve drive thru customers first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jun 2, 2009

Lamp Post Inn

We went to a concert at The Ark in downtown Ann Arbor. This hotel is only 4 miles from downtown district. This hotel has very friendly, accomodating staff. The rooms are average but clean and a great value for the money. There are plenty of shopping businesses and restaurants close by. I stayed at this hotel last year while attending another concert at the Ark and will continue to stay there as it is so convenient, clean and a great value. The room we had had a small refridgerator and microwave which is also very convenient. Even though this place doesn't have an on-site restaurant, they do offer a continental breakfast for the early risers. Great place, great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining and shopping are within blocks. There is a mall close by and plenty of individual stores. Restaurants are also very close and varied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 12, 2008

Great place if going to football game

Didn't expect alot of the hotel for the price paid, and expectations held true. Fairly close to campus/stadium however and had a great time at the game!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

THE BIG HOUSE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top