$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
113 reviews
Good value and price

it reached my expecting. I will recommend to my friends. See full review

  • Xzhu64
  • Nov 23, 2014
Better than expected

Nice, clean, two story motel. Nice to have fridge and microwave. Breakfast was basic but nice.... See full review

  • Exhausted mommy
  • Feb 19, 2015
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Property features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Nearby attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 113
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exhausted mommy
Business
West bloomfield
Feb 19, 2015

Better than expected

Nice, clean, two story motel. Nice to have fridge and microwave. Breakfast was basic but nice. Staff was friendly and allowed us to check in early with no issues. Check in was speedy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacific Coast Dad
Business
Bay Area - California
Jun 9, 2013

Tired, but Clean

The property looks tired, but the room was clean. There was a Trader Joe's next door and a very nice park a block down Washtinaw. Internet connection is sporadic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Roly Poly Sandwich shop are in the shopping center next door.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LZjz
Business
Rochester, MI
Feb 26, 2013

Good for short trip

If you need an inexpensive simple place to stay and will not be in the hotel much, this would be okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wolverine'72
Business
Chicago area
Jul 18, 2012

An old Lamp Post

If you are looking for a place to sleep, this is a great value. We had bagels and coffee in the morning; could have added oatmeal, but we didn't have time. Old and worn, but clean; and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

to the Michigan Stadium and central campus.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welly38
Business
north jersey
Aug 1, 2011

unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward appearance fool you -- rooms are very comfortable. Bring your own shampoo, tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, MI
Jun 17, 2011

What we found.

Although the rooms were all advertised as smoke-free, the first room we were given had obviously been smoked in, which didn't work for my girlfriend who has smoke allergies. The fridge had mold in it. The entertainment center was falling apart. And the grout in the tiny tiled shower needed to be redone. We were shown a 2nd room and then a 3rd before we found an acceptable one. The gentleman who checked us in was very accomodating, and was very concerned about our satisfaction. We were happy to only be staying one night. With a few cosmetic updates, deep cleaning of rooms which were previously designated for smoking, and cleaner fridges this would be a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ann Arbor/Washtenaw area is abundant with restaurants of varying ethnicities, which range from fast food to fine dining. Entertainment options are many and include movies, theater, dance clubs, concerts, and art fairs.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. G,
Business
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
May 6, 2011

Great value, more than meets basic needs

Very pleasantly surprised by pricing and amenities. I have stayed in many 5-star hotels that had less room to move about, and no way to access snacks except through the expensive hotel=supplied stuff in their refrigs. We landed on this Inn because every thing was booked for Univ of Michigan graduation. I was a bit concerned at first, that being an Inn, the front door opened directly to the outside,but chhosing the second floor made it feel more secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul
Mar 27, 2011

[...]

The hotel was old, but clean. The staff were very nice and knowledgeable. [...]made the reservation in my husband's name for some unknown reason, so we at first did not have a reservation. Hotel staff - not [...]figured it out for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kyle & Mom
Business
Pleasant View, TN
Feb 27, 2010

Zfamily

A great value for the price. Having the refrigerator and microwave was wonderful. The location was great. It is an older hotel and shows the wear, but it was very clean and comfortable. For the cost it was a terrific value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top