$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 23, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
105 reviews
Good value and price

it reached my expecting. I will recommend to my friends. See full review

  • Xzhu64
  • Nov 23, 2014
Better than expected

Nice, clean, two story motel. Nice to have fridge and microwave. Breakfast was basic but nice.... See full review

  • Exhausted mommy
  • Feb 19, 2015
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 105
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elmi the traveler
Business
San antonio
Apr 6, 2015

OK stay

basic room with basic amenities. The price was reasonable. overall nice place to stay. there is a smell in the room which is kind of annoying in the beginning but you get used to it. I almost walked to school every day and it takes about 35 minutes to get to there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Cristopher
Business
Kansas City
Sep 4, 2014

I've stayed in worse, but not by much...

I can't complain too much, because hey, you get what you pay for, but, I'd probably never stay there again. The bed was super hard, the carpet was in pretty bad shape, the room had a weird smell, and the showering experience was one of the worst I've ever had (and I travel a lot for business). Seventy dollars a night is hard to pass up, but I probably will suck it up and spend the extra money for somewhere with a half-way comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theCFDJster
Business
Miami
Aug 7, 2013

Towels

The towels were small. A very budget experience, but very adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jawajediknight
Business
Orlando, Florida
May 26, 2013

nice people, poor room

The people running this hotel are nice, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The walls are very thin, and I had to listen to a domestic dispute all night long. The refrigerator in the room was old, dusty, and having mechanical issues that late at night kept waking me up. The coffee pot in the room was okay, but had not enough sugar and cream for the pot. The continental breakfast was poor. The orange juice was powdered, reconstituted juice (at least that`s how it tasted) and the coffee was terrible. The second day I didn´t even do the continental breakfast. Also, the cable in the room didn´t work, and the wireless internet didn´t work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wifi traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 1, 2013

Eh.. there are better places

I work while I travel and require a bed, bathroom and decent wifi and work are -- and that's about it. The wifi was lousy -- certainly not what's expected in 2013. It couldn't even handle netflix. The work table -- rickety. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
flyboyjosh
Business
Ann arbor, mi
Jan 4, 2013

Walk to Trader Joes

I love the location. The amenities are barbones - bring your own soap and shampoo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joes is a gourmet mecca

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
webby2006
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good for a quick nights say

Its nothing fancy, its perfect for a quick nights stay when you don't plan on spending much time in the room other than sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Judy Z
Business
Lincoln Park, MI
Dec 7, 2011

Nice Hotel

It was clean and comfortable. The refrigerator was a little small and I only had a microwave but it was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThisisJohnny
Business
Columbus, IN
Oct 1, 2011

Good for budget travelers

Very basic however it will be a good choice if all you are looking for is a place to stay and you don't want to pay too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top