$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
99 reviews
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Lamp Post Inn

This hotel is in a perfect location for a visit to the University of Michigan. It was inexpensive,... See full review

  • UnBonVinBlanc
  • Feb 14, 2010
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Queen of the desert
Business
Tucson, AZ
Nov 16, 2011

If you need an overnight place to stay

You know, the Lamp Post Inn is quaint, but frankly, pretty gross. If you need to stay longer than one night, I would invest in another hotel, even if it's more expensive. The Inn is run-down, but it meets very basic needs -hot water and heat. The microwave and fridge were nice to have. Trader Joe's around the corner was also great. Pillows/linens were awful, smell is awful. I didn't even bother with their breakfast. The staff is very friendly and the rate is also friendly, but if you're looking for a place to stay for more than one night, go elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pepspotbib
Business
Kalamazoo, MI, USA
Nov 3, 2012

Gross

I don't know who wrote positive reviews for this place cause our room was dirty, smelly and in very poor repair. Peeling wall paper, stained carpet, rust on hinges and light fixture, painted duct tape on ceiling, towels so thin you could see thru, super thin pillows, ancient thin mattress, and worst of all, my friend's sheet had a stain on it and she found a body hair by her pillow! Eeewwww! I would pitch a tent before staying here again! Stay away!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Indian restaurant downtown is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
May 13, 2011

Great Price but neglectful

The place was nice but upon further inspection the bathroom was lacking: paint chips in bathtub and toilet lever had to be held down the entire time. Then when checking out was dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
outta luck chuck
Business
austin, tx
Nov 3, 2010

Tough Luck at the Lamp Post

I knew that my flight into detroit/ann arbor was going to be later than some small hotels are used to so I arranged to for a late check in. as luck would have it, my flight was delayed and I showed up very late. The lamp post inn solution? Taped a note to the inside of the door directing me to a random mailbox to retrieve my key. Some one must have beat me to the lamp post because there was no key. There was no response when I tried to call the hotel either. I was forced to find another hotel in the middle of the night in a foreign city. The next day they were apologetic, but made no attempt to win back my business. In the future I will stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
better bring a jacket bob
Business
Austin, Tx
Oct 28, 2010

LampPost = Horrible Late Arrival Prolicy

The late arrival policy of Lamp Post Inn left me out in the cold. I was traveling to University of Michigan for a conference, I saw the Lamp Post Inn online and I figured that it was probably a decent place, and it was priced within my budget. I knew that my travel plans had me arriving after 6pm, so I made the necessary arrangements for late check in. My flight was delayed and I arrived around 1am. My name was on the door, with a note saying that the key was in the mailbox. I checked the mail, NO KEY. I tried calling the number on the door, NO RESPONSE. I looked for a manager's office onsite, NO OFFICE. It's the middle of the night, in a strange town, luggage in tow, and I have to find a number for a taxi, pay to be taken to "some where the cabbie recommends" The next day they call and acknowledge that mistakes were made, however they made no offer to win back my business or compensate me for this horrible ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TeeWrecks
Business
Milford, CT
Sep 17, 2009

Okay, but not the place for me

Well, it was definitely cheap. But overall, not a good choice for business travel. Motel-like. Old rooms. Woke up like 5 times overnight whenever the loud A/C wallunit "clicked" on. Didn't feel entirely safe as single female traveler. Front desk was very nice and helpful. Had small computer for me to use in lobby. Also, is not within walking distance to hospital or campus, so had to take a cab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jason K
Business
El Paso, Texas
Jul 31, 2010

Pay for what you get

The place isn't bad. You pay for what you get and if you don't care for luxury while in Ann Arbor and just need a roof over your head for a few nights but don't plan on being in the room that much then this hotel is OK for you. You simply cannot beat the price of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is pretty far from things you would most likely want to do in Ann Arbor (restraunts, campus, football stadium). If you don't have a car, expect long walking times, having to take buses or spending money on taxis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
webby2006
Business
Indianapolis, IN, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good for a quick nights say

Its nothing fancy, its perfect for a quick nights stay when you don't plan on spending much time in the room other than sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wolverine'72
Business
Chicago area
Jul 18, 2012

An old Lamp Post

If you are looking for a place to sleep, this is a great value. We had bagels and coffee in the morning; could have added oatmeal, but we didn't have time. Old and worn, but clean; and the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

to the Michigan Stadium and central campus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top