$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2014 Check-out: Jul 29, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
165 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UnBonVinBlanc
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 14, 2010

Lamp Post Inn

This hotel is in a perfect location for a visit to the University of Michigan. It was inexpensive, and the staff was very friendly in actually taking the time to offer directions and providing addresses that I could later plug into my GPS. The wireless internet was efficient, I had at least 3 or 4 wireless-connection signals to choose from in my room alone (provided by the hotel). The breakfast was more of a European-style breakfast, so if you want a big meal there is a Denny's right down the street and many other dining opportunities near by. The televisions provided in the rooms had plenty of channels to choose from. I really liked the free mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms. That was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to the business traveler or prospective U of M Graduate Student, in other words, for those who simply need a good place to rest their head at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Michigan Athletic facilities are an extremely short distance away.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Dec 7, 2008

Great Value

A value hotel clean comfortable with free wireless internet and breakfast as a bonus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2007

Good Value

The Lamp Post Inn was good value for the money. Staff was friendly and accomodating. We arrived 4 hours early for check in and they cleaned our room early so we could drop off our luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For us we were just interested in Michigan International Speedway and it was a resonable drive from the hotel. There are also plenty of places to eat within a very short drive.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Oct 8, 2007

Great for short stay in Ann Arbor

The room was clean, not fancy. Did have good air conditioner that cooled the room quickly. Had small refig.,microwave & small coffee maker. The bathroom was small, had the older yellow tile's of the early 60's but was clean & no problem with hot water or pressure in shower. Great place to stay for someone who needs a room to sleep in. We were there to be seen at a Neurological & Migraine clinic which was with-in a mile of location. Room was of good size. Walgreen's, Whole food store, Book store, Many types of restaurants very close. And in our case close to a hospital. Would stay there again if come back to the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Coffee shop across the street. Shopping just short drive down the street

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2007

good place to stay

My husband and I stayed at the hotel because our son was in a baseball tournament at one of the local universities. we were looking for a resonable priced hotel and the Lamp Post was just that. The employess were very friendly and helpful. We liked the location- close to everything. Just an FYI there was no blow dryer or iron/ironing board in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, WI
Apr 22, 2007

Overall good value for the money

Nothing fancy but over all clean and friendly personnel. Room refrigerator and microwave in room were nice to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ekeoma
Business
USA
Aug 11, 2007

Best bang for your buck in Ann Arbor

I came to visit the University of Michigan before applying there for grad school but couldn't find any hostels around. The price was the cheaptest thing around and there were 2 beds and a wonderful selection for cable channels (for the price). Come with a buddy and it'll be super cheap! I would have liked more privacy (no curtains, just some blinds that could be peeked into easily). Trader Joe's grocery store is right next door, so you can heat up delicious organic meals and leave it in the fridge overnight. If your main purpose is to visit UMich, you're in luck. The bus comes regularly on weekdays and zooms you right in the middle of the univeristy for just $1. The staff here were great about giving me bus schedules. I never had to use a taxi and saved tons when taking the amtrak back to Chicago. Definetley recommend, but if you have $$ and want lots of luxury, go elsewhere. I just needed a clean bed and a shower, so it worked out perfectly : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

When you take the bus into town, there are many nice restaurants and things to see. If you're from the Boston area like me, it will remind you of Harvard Square.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Aug 20, 2007

Good Value

The Lamp Post Inn was good value for the money. Staff was friendly and accomodating. We arrived 4 hours early for check in and they cleaned our room early so we could drop off our luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For us we were just interested in Michigan International Speedway and it was a resonable drive from the hotel. There are also plenty of places to eat within a very short drive.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
UnBonVinBlanc
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Feb 14, 2010

Lamp Post Inn

This hotel is in a perfect location for a visit to the University of Michigan. It was inexpensive, and the staff was very friendly in actually taking the time to offer directions and providing addresses that I could later plug into my GPS. The wireless internet was efficient, I had at least 3 or 4 wireless-connection signals to choose from in my room alone (provided by the hotel). The breakfast was more of a European-style breakfast, so if you want a big meal there is a Denny's right down the street and many other dining opportunities near by. The televisions provided in the rooms had plenty of channels to choose from. I really liked the free mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms. That was a pleasant surprise. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to the business traveler or prospective U of M Graduate Student, in other words, for those who simply need a good place to rest their head at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Michigan Athletic facilities are an extremely short distance away.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
May 25, 2007

good place to stay

My husband and I stayed at the hotel because our son was in a baseball tournament at one of the local universities. we were looking for a resonable priced hotel and the Lamp Post was just that. The employess were very friendly and helpful. We liked the location- close to everything. Just an FYI there was no blow dryer or iron/ironing board in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top