$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
99 reviews
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Lamp Post Inn

This hotel is in a perfect location for a visit to the University of Michigan. It was inexpensive,... See full review

  • UnBonVinBlanc
  • Feb 14, 2010
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Windsor, ON
Aug 14, 2009

Good

Good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donska
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 10, 2009

Great value

Stayed overnight to attend University of Michigan campus tour - which is very close by. Clean room, though a bit outdated. Friendly staff, even included a continental breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Qdobo Mexican Grill down the street has good burritos for a quick meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ypsilanti, MI
Aug 7, 2009

Nice affordable place

It's a great place for checking out the University of Michigan campus and Ann Arbor downtown; the place is not right there in the downtown/campus area & close to the highway, which makes the stay away from the noise and crowd. Couldn't hear any traffic at night. Staff was efficient and accommodated my requests (use of fax service, etc.).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and other small stores are literally next to the hotel. We ate lunch at Rolly Polly which was in the complex.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jess goes on an adventure
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 1, 2009

An Inexpensive Stay

This was the middle night of a week long road trip. And was the best price we had our whole trip. If you're looking for a bed to sleep in for cheap, but not much else, this is the place to go. It's about a 10 minute drive into the heart of Ann Arbor/College Campus if you're being touristy or visiting the school. The beds are comfortable (I did bring my own pillow though) and the rooms are clean. They offer a complimentary breakfast, but we didn't get to eat it. It doesn't appear that much has been updated recently so I would recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveller rather than a family or someone who is looking for a little more in their hotel stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is a cottage that serves coffee and other beverages and breakfast foods (muffins and bagels). Absolutely fantastic iced coffee drinks!!! I'd recommend going through the drive thru instead of walking up since they seem to serve drive thru customers first.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mommo48
Business
Belvidere, IL
Jul 22, 2009

The good and the o-so-good

While in Ann Arbor, I was able to go to all the Art Shows. My son and daughter-in-law live in Ann Arbor and were able to show me all the goodies that Ann Arbor has to offer. It was a very pleasant time. The room was ok. It was clean the first day that I got there. The soap and shampoo were quite lacking. I realized that the Inn is a budget hotel, but I thought they might have replaced the empty shampoo tubes. The location was great in that it is about a mile up the road from where son/wife lived. It was a straight shot. The total experience was not totally bad, I just thought there might be a few more amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lincoln, NE
Jul 15, 2009

Nothing fancy, but a great value

The Lamp Post staff was very friendly and helpful and the room was spotless every day. The breakfast is nothing to write home about, but oatmeal and an english muffin or bagel is a fine start to the day. How good do hotel breakfasts typically get, anyway? The Lamp Post was well worth the price and I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Providence RI
Jun 23, 2009

the most affordable hotel in Ann Arbor

This was the cheapest accomodation that I could find within Ann Arbor. The location is pretty good -- right next to Trader Joe's and barely within walking distance (2 miles) from U. Mich. Free breakfast and free wireless internet are provided, though the wireless signal was kind of weak and unreliable. The room and bathroom weren't very clean, but clean enough for me and for the price. I would definitely stay here again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bger
Business
bowling green ohio
Jun 15, 2009

needs some work

pool was unusable,microwave didnt work,exaust fan didnt work and bathroom even tho looked clean was disgusting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
md2
Business
Boston, Ma
Jun 8, 2009

Gets the job done

Cheap, get what you pay for. Good location. All I wanted was a room, did not want pool or gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Muskegon, MI
Jun 2, 2009

Lamp Post Inn

We went to a concert at The Ark in downtown Ann Arbor. This hotel is only 4 miles from downtown district. This hotel has very friendly, accomodating staff. The rooms are average but clean and a great value for the money. There are plenty of shopping businesses and restaurants close by. I stayed at this hotel last year while attending another concert at the Ark and will continue to stay there as it is so convenient, clean and a great value. The room we had had a small refridgerator and microwave which is also very convenient. Even though this place doesn't have an on-site restaurant, they do offer a continental breakfast for the early risers. Great place, great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Dining and shopping are within blocks. There is a mall close by and plenty of individual stores. Restaurants are also very close and varied.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top