$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 3, 2015 Check-out: Jul 5, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
better bring a jacket bob
Business
Austin, Tx
Oct 28, 2010

LampPost = Horrible Late Arrival Prolicy

The late arrival policy of Lamp Post Inn left me out in the cold. I was traveling to University of Michigan for a conference, I saw the Lamp Post Inn online and I figured that it was probably a decent place, and it was priced within my budget. I knew that my travel plans had me arriving after 6pm, so I made the necessary arrangements for late check in. My flight was delayed and I arrived around 1am. My name was on the door, with a note saying that the key was in the mailbox. I checked the mail, NO KEY. I tried calling the number on the door, NO RESPONSE. I looked for a manager's office onsite, NO OFFICE. It's the middle of the night, in a strange town, luggage in tow, and I have to find a number for a taxi, pay to be taken to "some where the cabbie recommends" The next day they call and acknowledge that mistakes were made, however they made no offer to win back my business or compensate me for this horrible ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie Nurse Dolly
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 20, 2010

Great location!!!

The owner walked us to our room to ensure that it was ready for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joes next door!!

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jason K
Business
El Paso, Texas
Jul 31, 2010

Pay for what you get

The place isn't bad. You pay for what you get and if you don't care for luxury while in Ann Arbor and just need a roof over your head for a few nights but don't plan on being in the room that much then this hotel is OK for you. You simply cannot beat the price of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is pretty far from things you would most likely want to do in Ann Arbor (restraunts, campus, football stadium). If you don't have a car, expect long walking times, having to take buses or spending money on taxis

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jason K
Business
El Paso, Texas
Jul 31, 2010

Pay for what you get

The place isn't bad. You pay for what you get and if you don't care for luxury while in Ann Arbor and just need a roof over your head for a few nights but don't plan on being in the room that much then this hotel is OK for you. You simply cannot beat the price of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is pretty far from things you would most likely want to do in Ann Arbor (restraunts, campus, football stadium). If you don't have a car, expect long walking times, having to take buses or spending money on taxis

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 25, 2010

Lamp Post Stay

It was clean, safe, and a great price. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to stay in Ann Arbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepy in Ann Arbor
Business
Fairfield Township, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

Your mother's motel

Everything was as it would have been 40 years ago. The mattress seemed like it was original equipment. Bring your own pillow and towel and you might enjoy your stay more than I did. The room smelled like mold or mildew (there was a strict mo smoking policy - Yay!) and the bathroom was right out of my mother's old house. Breakfast was literally a bagel or an english muffin - no fruit or cereal (fiber is what I need when traveling!). The staff was courteous and friendly but I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Trader Joe's was right next door and shopping was a short drive down the road.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
Jun 10, 2010

Lights are out at the Lamp post Inn

Hotel needs some work, and updating. The room is dingy, carpets are dirty and need shampooing. The towels are old and worn, need to be replaced. Staff was pleasant. This is the last time I will stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern PA
May 28, 2010

Rather tired and dingy.

The room felt dingy, with old furnishings that were in need of repair or update. The whole place felt neglected and run down. The windows and door glass of the lobby were streaked with old dirt and greasy smudges. This set the general tone for the facility. The so called continental breakfast was 3 english muffins and 2 bagels on trays, and orange and apple juice. Next time I will spend the $5 or $10 more to stay at a newer and cleaner "chain" motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
KS
Apr 25, 2010

Excellent quality for the price!

I will return to the Lamp Post! Remarkably convenient - microwave and mini-fridge in room, Trader Joe's next door, easy access to the interstate/airport, on bus route to UM campus. The fixtures may not be the newest, but everything was clean and comfortable, and the staff was incredibly friendly. If you need a comfy place at a reasonable price, this is an excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Prospective Student at U. Michigan
Business
New England
Apr 19, 2010

Lamp Post Inn Review

Lamp Post Inn is a good deal on price. The rooms are fine and the staff is friendly and useful. The primary negatives for this establishment are the location and wireless Internet. First, the location is a bit far from campus and you should plan to walk around 30 minutes if you do not have other transportation. Second, the wireless Internet access was a bit slow. It's fine for checking email or other basic tasks. Overall, I recommend Lamp Post if you're a budget conscious traveler who doesn't mind walking or has a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top