$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
99 reviews
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Lamp Post Inn

This hotel is in a perfect location for a visit to the University of Michigan. It was inexpensive,... See full review

  • UnBonVinBlanc
  • Feb 14, 2010
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
from
Business
from
Jan 1, 2011

Excellent Value

I have every intention to stay at these accommodations again. The value is exceptional, even if it isn't the swankest h/motel in the business. If you want your hotel to be the destination, look somewhere else. However, if what you want is a clean room/bed/shower at a good price, you'll have a hard time finding anything better in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
outta luck chuck
Business
austin, tx
Nov 3, 2010

Tough Luck at the Lamp Post

I knew that my flight into detroit/ann arbor was going to be later than some small hotels are used to so I arranged to for a late check in. as luck would have it, my flight was delayed and I showed up very late. The lamp post inn solution? Taped a note to the inside of the door directing me to a random mailbox to retrieve my key. Some one must have beat me to the lamp post because there was no key. There was no response when I tried to call the hotel either. I was forced to find another hotel in the middle of the night in a foreign city. The next day they were apologetic, but made no attempt to win back my business. In the future I will stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mdmayhem
Business
Birmingham, AL
Nov 2, 2010

Can't complain

Not fancy, but clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Perfectly respectable place to stay for the price. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
better bring a jacket bob
Business
Austin, Tx
Oct 28, 2010

LampPost = Horrible Late Arrival Prolicy

The late arrival policy of Lamp Post Inn left me out in the cold. I was traveling to University of Michigan for a conference, I saw the Lamp Post Inn online and I figured that it was probably a decent place, and it was priced within my budget. I knew that my travel plans had me arriving after 6pm, so I made the necessary arrangements for late check in. My flight was delayed and I arrived around 1am. My name was on the door, with a note saying that the key was in the mailbox. I checked the mail, NO KEY. I tried calling the number on the door, NO RESPONSE. I looked for a manager's office onsite, NO OFFICE. It's the middle of the night, in a strange town, luggage in tow, and I have to find a number for a taxi, pay to be taken to "some where the cabbie recommends" The next day they call and acknowledge that mistakes were made, however they made no offer to win back my business or compensate me for this horrible ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Angie Nurse Dolly
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 20, 2010

Great location!!!

The owner walked us to our room to ensure that it was ready for us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joes next door!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jason K
Business
El Paso, Texas
Jul 31, 2010

Pay for what you get

The place isn't bad. You pay for what you get and if you don't care for luxury while in Ann Arbor and just need a roof over your head for a few nights but don't plan on being in the room that much then this hotel is OK for you. You simply cannot beat the price of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is pretty far from things you would most likely want to do in Ann Arbor (restraunts, campus, football stadium). If you don't have a car, expect long walking times, having to take buses or spending money on taxis

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Michigan
Jul 25, 2010

Lamp Post Stay

It was clean, safe, and a great price. I would recommend it to anyone who needs to stay in Ann Arbor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sleepy in Ann Arbor
Business
Fairfield Township, Ohio
Jul 18, 2010

Your mother's motel

Everything was as it would have been 40 years ago. The mattress seemed like it was original equipment. Bring your own pillow and towel and you might enjoy your stay more than I did. The room smelled like mold or mildew (there was a strict mo smoking policy - Yay!) and the bathroom was right out of my mother's old house. Breakfast was literally a bagel or an english muffin - no fruit or cereal (fiber is what I need when traveling!). The staff was courteous and friendly but I will not stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Trader Joe's was right next door and shopping was a short drive down the road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix AZ
Jun 10, 2010

Lights are out at the Lamp post Inn

Hotel needs some work, and updating. The room is dingy, carpets are dirty and need shampooing. The towels are old and worn, need to be replaced. Staff was pleasant. This is the last time I will stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern PA
May 28, 2010

Rather tired and dingy.

The room felt dingy, with old furnishings that were in need of repair or update. The whole place felt neglected and run down. The windows and door glass of the lobby were streaked with old dirt and greasy smudges. This set the general tone for the facility. The so called continental breakfast was 3 english muffins and 2 bagels on trays, and orange and apple juice. Next time I will spend the $5 or $10 more to stay at a newer and cleaner "chain" motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top