$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welly38
Business
north jersey
Aug 1, 2011

unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward appearance fool you -- rooms are very comfortable. Bring your own shampoo, tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 20, 2011

Not too bad

The room was clean, but basic. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was only bagels and English muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 17, 2011

Does the job

The best things about the hotel are that it's clean and economical. Internet connection is slow. No ironing board. Breakfast is not the best. Not close to anything if you want to get breakfast or dinner. You'll need a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Midland, MI
Jun 17, 2011

What we found.

Although the rooms were all advertised as smoke-free, the first room we were given had obviously been smoked in, which didn't work for my girlfriend who has smoke allergies. The fridge had mold in it. The entertainment center was falling apart. And the grout in the tiny tiled shower needed to be redone. We were shown a 2nd room and then a 3rd before we found an acceptable one. The gentleman who checked us in was very accomodating, and was very concerned about our satisfaction. We were happy to only be staying one night. With a few cosmetic updates, deep cleaning of rooms which were previously designated for smoking, and cleaner fridges this would be a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Ann Arbor/Washtenaw area is abundant with restaurants of varying ethnicities, which range from fast food to fine dining. Entertainment options are many and include movies, theater, dance clubs, concerts, and art fairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Holland
May 13, 2011

Great Price but neglectful

The place was nice but upon further inspection the bathroom was lacking: paint chips in bathtub and toilet lever had to be held down the entire time. Then when checking out was dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. G,
Business
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
May 6, 2011

Great value, more than meets basic needs

Very pleasantly surprised by pricing and amenities. I have stayed in many 5-star hotels that had less room to move about, and no way to access snacks except through the expensive hotel=supplied stuff in their refrigs. We landed on this Inn because every thing was booked for Univ of Michigan graduation. I was a bit concerned at first, that being an Inn, the front door opened directly to the outside,but chhosing the second floor made it feel more secure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 16, 2011

Lamp Post Inn

Clean, comfortable, and warm during 39F weekend. Only gripe is that there is no iron or ironing board in the room. The only option is a crummy warped desktop ironing board which is of little use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Grand Rapids, MI
Apr 4, 2011

Lamp Post Inn took care of us!

It was a basic, no frills stop-over. Room was clean and heat was on before our arrival, which was late. Staff hit just the right note with that gesture on that cold evening. Standard cold breakfast foods along with bland hot coffee were offered in a clean dining area. Room includes a small fridge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a Trader Joe's grocery store tucked behind the Inn so a healthy snack or stocking up with hard-to-find items is a bonus. It's easy to miss that it's there: has a low-profile sign out front.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top