Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
165 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ThisisJohnny
Business
Columbus, IN
Oct 1, 2011

Good for budget travelers

Very basic however it will be a good choice if all you are looking for is a place to stay and you don't want to pay too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Camille
Glendale, New York
Sep 11, 2011

Brief Visit

My stay at the Lamp Post Inn lasted only one night, instead of the four I had planned. This was due to a family emergency. I found all at the lamp Post extremely welcoming and helpful, especially in assisting me to secure assureance that I would receive money back for the the three days I did not stay, as I had planned. The name of that receptionist was Miranda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Louie M
Business
Maryland
Aug 28, 2011

No more than one night

Window slats were defective. Staff brought up duct tape so I could tape a sheet over the window. Not ideal. TV was old. Breakfast: good coffee but mediocre pastries. Fortunately Ann Arbor has a wealth of great places to eat nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welly38
north jersey
Aug 1, 2011

unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward appearance fool you -- rooms are very comfortable. Bring your own shampoo, tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
welly38
north jersey
Aug 1, 2011

unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward appearance fool you -- rooms are very comfortable. Bring your own shampoo, tho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 27, 2011

Sleepless stay

I booked two nights at this hotel. After a ten hour drive, we checked into the hotel and realized as soon as we opened the door that we would spend as little time there as possible. The room was super funky - I actually sprayed febreeze upon entry - and the carpet was so gross, I wouldn't take off my sandles. To make matters worse, I was awakened by teenagers standing outside my room at 2, 3 and 4 am. I tried to called the front desk to address this matter but no one was on duty. Checked out first thing the next morning. I cannot advise anyone considering the cheap accomodations enough to double-down and book a room at the Holiday Inn which is where we stayed our second night. They have a pool, white linens, it's newly renovated and I slept like a baby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 20, 2011

Not too bad

The room was clean, but basic. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was only bagels and English muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Jun 20, 2011

Not too bad

The room was clean, but basic. The staff was friendly. Breakfast was only bagels and English muffins.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top