$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
165 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Yuck

Kind of grimy. I woke up to 2 spiders crawling around in the bed. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jan 16, 2010

Yuck

Kind of grimy. I woke up to 2 spiders crawling around in the bed. Yuck.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Jan 12, 2010

Friendly and comfortable

I loved the Lamp Post Inn. The staff were very friendly and the place was spotless. It's an older (but well-maintained) motel; the shower was old-school tile. The wi-fi was faster than any other economy motel I've stayed at. Trader Joe's is right next door, but other than that the only other restaurant I saw was a sandwich shop. About 7 minutes by car from the UM campus. There was not a hairdryer or an iron in the room, but I didn't ask if they were available at the front desk. It felt like a place that people cared about. Much better than many an economy motel I've stayed at.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phys sub
ann arbor, mi
Jan 8, 2010

so-so

Plus: Room was clean. Minus: We had requested extra towels for a 3rd person, and they never brought them. I tried to go to check-desk in the morning to get the towels, only to find door locked with sign that said, "open at 7". It was 5:30 and we were all trying to take showers. Since we checked out at 6:30, our 3rd person had to "improvise". I couldn't believe the hotel was un-attended all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
phys sub
ann arbor, mi
Jan 8, 2010

so-so

Plus: Room was clean. Minus: We had requested extra towels for a 3rd person, and they never brought them. I tried to go to check-desk in the morning to get the towels, only to find door locked with sign that said, "open at 7". It was 5:30 and we were all trying to take showers. Since we checked out at 6:30, our 3rd person had to "improvise". I couldn't believe the hotel was un-attended all night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Dec 5, 2009

Cheap stay, local ownership

I had work to do up on North Campus, which was pretty far away-- and taxis in Ann Arbor are up there in price with much bigger cities. So location wasn't great. The room itself was pretty bare-bones, though the fridge and microwave were much appreciated. Wireless internet was reliable, though not always fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is a Trader Joe's, great for grabbing a few groceries to store in the room fridge!

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Dec 5, 2009

Cheap stay, local ownership

I had work to do up on North Campus, which was pretty far away-- and taxis in Ann Arbor are up there in price with much bigger cities. So location wasn't great. The room itself was pretty bare-bones, though the fridge and microwave were much appreciated. Wireless internet was reliable, though not always fast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door is a Trader Joe's, great for grabbing a few groceries to store in the room fridge!

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheap Hotel Aficionado
Baltimore, MD
Nov 17, 2009

Perfect Cheap Hotel

The room was clean, and the continental breakfast was better most at more expensive hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you want expensive decor you have to pay for it. I thought the place was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheap Hotel Aficionado
Baltimore, MD
Nov 17, 2009

Perfect Cheap Hotel

The room was clean, and the continental breakfast was better most at more expensive hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you want expensive decor you have to pay for it. I thought the place was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Oct 26, 2009

Not that bad

We were in town for the PSU vs. Michigan game. The hotel met our needs and was an excellent price for the location and weekend. On the down side, it was very loud and we could hear the neighbors conversation until 6 am. However, it was very clean and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Not far from downtown Ann Arbor, full of lots of wonderful restaurants and bars.

Back to menu Return to top