$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 15, 2014 Check-out: Nov 16, 2014

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
98 reviews
Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M... See full review

  • Mon Traveler
  • May 4, 2013
unique and wonderful

Great value -- very well maintained, very friendly staff, great location. don't let the outward... See full review

  • welly38
  • Aug 1, 2011
Affordable, family-owned hotel with simple rooms near University of MI
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)
Attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2586 -83.7122
Area served
Ann Arbor and Ypsilanti, Michigan.
Nearby airports
Detroit Metro Airport (DTW),
Area description
The Lamp Post Inn is within easy walking or driving distance of the University of Michigan campus and athletic facilities. Also located conveniently to the University of Michigan Medical Center, the Veteran's Hospital, and the McAuley Medical Center. Also within 1 1/2 miles are Nichols Arbortum, the Big House (stadium), all University of Michigan ahtletic fields, Nichols Arbortum, the Power Center of Performing Arts, the University Planetarium and Natural History Museum, and both Hill Auditorium and the Rackham Graduate Center. The downtown restaurant and entertainment areas as well as the Arc and Hand's On Museum are less than two miles away and easily assessible by bus or car.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (98)

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
98 out of 98
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mon Traveler
West Virginia
May 4, 2013

Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M Natural History Museum. We were fully satisfied. Without asking for it, we got a room with a kitchen. That worked well when we found that Trader Joe's was right next door. Lots of deli food and, of course a big beer/wine selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Cristopher
Business
Kansas City
Sep 4, 2014

I've stayed in worse, but not by much...

I can't complain too much, because hey, you get what you pay for, but, I'd probably never stay there again. The bed was super hard, the carpet was in pretty bad shape, the room had a weird smell, and the showering experience was one of the worst I've ever had (and I travel a lot for business). Seventy dollars a night is hard to pass up, but I probably will suck it up and spend the extra money for somewhere with a half-way comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.K.Z.
Business
Amherst
Aug 14, 2014

OK for the price

It was cheap, so I did not expect a lot from it. The smell of the parking lot was quite strong, the breakfast was cheesy, and the staff was OK. I stayed there only for one night since I needed to visit U of M Ann Arbor, which was OK. But I absolutely will not stay there for longer than 2 nights even it's cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's easy to take the bus from Lamp post to U of M, which was the reason why I chose it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4Shoes
Business
Grand Haven, Michigan
Jul 28, 2014

Summer Beer Festival Weekend Getaway

This place is nothing to write home about. But for the price we paid we expected nothing less/more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hurstrev
Business
ann arbor mi
Jan 5, 2014

two night stay

Hotel was nice for the price. A bit drafty but the heater seemed to keep up enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cynic9
Business
santa barbara, ca
Aug 16, 2013

What's That Smell?

room smelled like some cleaning agent, air conditioner gave off foul smell, cigarette smokers all outside the hallways, old funky rooms, noisy parking lot next door otherwise, good location, cheap prices

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
theCFDJster
Business
Miami
Aug 7, 2013

Towels

The towels were small. A very budget experience, but very adequate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pacific Coast Dad
Business
Bay Area - California
Jun 9, 2013

Tired, but Clean

The property looks tired, but the room was clean. There was a Trader Joe's next door and a very nice park a block down Washtinaw. Internet connection is sporadic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Trader Joe's and Roly Poly Sandwich shop are in the shopping center next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jawajediknight
Business
Orlando, Florida
May 26, 2013

nice people, poor room

The people running this hotel are nice, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. The walls are very thin, and I had to listen to a domestic dispute all night long. The refrigerator in the room was old, dusty, and having mechanical issues that late at night kept waking me up. The coffee pot in the room was okay, but had not enough sugar and cream for the pot. The continental breakfast was poor. The orange juice was powdered, reconstituted juice (at least that`s how it tasted) and the coffee was terrible. The second day I didn´t even do the continental breakfast. Also, the cable in the room didn´t work, and the wireless internet didn´t work right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mon Traveler
Business
West Virginia
May 4, 2013

Good for visiting Natural History Museum

We chose the Lamp Post Inn because we wanted something reasonably priced for a visit to the U of M Natural History Museum. We were fully satisfied. Without asking for it, we got a room with a kitchen. That worked well when we found that Trader Joe's was right next door. Lots of deli food and, of course a big beer/wine selection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wifi traveller
Business
San Francisco, CA
Mar 1, 2013

Eh.. there are better places

I work while I travel and require a bed, bathroom and decent wifi and work are -- and that's about it. The wifi was lousy -- certainly not what's expected in 2013. It couldn't even handle netflix. The work table -- rickety. I won't be coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top