$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 8, 2015 Check-out: Jul 9, 2015

Lamp Post Inn

2 stars
View map of 2424 E. Stadium, Ann Arbor, MI 48104

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
113 reviews
Good value and price

it reached my expecting. I will recommend to my friends. See full review

  • Xzhu64
  • Nov 23, 2014
Better than expected

Nice, clean, two story motel. Nice to have fridge and microwave. Breakfast was basic but nice.... See full review

  • Exhausted mommy
  • Feb 19, 2015
The family-owned Lamp Post Inn offers simple and affordable accommodations close to downtown Ann Arbor and walking distance from the University of Michigan. Located on E. Stadium Blvd., the Lamp Post Inn sits adjacent to shopping and groceries at Lamp Post Plaza, and is just minutes from attractions like Michigan Stadium, Nichols Arboretum and the Natural History Museum. The Lamp Post Inn offers a range of vacation and extended-stay accommodations -- some with kitchens -- as well as complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free) in all guest rooms.
Rooms
A clean, affordable option for short-term travelers and extended-stay guests, the Lamp Post Inn features 54 standard and extended-stay guest rooms. Single-bed layouts include king- or queen-size beds, while two-bed layouts have queens or double beds. All accommodations feature microwaves and mini refrigerators, while the extended-stay guest rooms also include stoves, pots and pans, and flatware. Other in-room amenities include work desks, cable televisions and phones with free local calls, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in all rooms.
Property features
The Lamp Post Inn offers modest features at an affordable price. And the central location makes it an ideal choice for those who need nightly or weekly rates near the university campus. The hotel sits adjacent to the Lamp Post Shopping center, which has a Trader Joe's grocery store. Also nearby, a deli and a coffee shop offer convenient meal options. Guests can find free parking and an ATM on-site, and the hotel provides a complimentary breakfast each morning. Property-wide Wi-Fi access (free) makes it easy for guests to stay connected to work, school or home at Lamp Post Inn.
Highlights
  • Some kitchen-equipped rooms
  • Close to shopping, groceries
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
  • Parking (free)
Nearby attractions
  • University of Michigan (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • University of Michigan Medical Center (2.6 mi/4.3 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (2.8 mi/4.6 km)
  • Nichols Arboretum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Transportation
  • Amtrak Station (2.7 mi/4.4 km)
  • Ann Arbor Airport (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (23.3 mi/37.6 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Lamp Post Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Lamp Post Inn Rooms

Queen Non Smoke
One queen or king bed. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.
Two Doubles Non Smoking
Two Double or Queen beds. Comfortable room includes a refrigerator, stove or microwave, cable television, coffee pot, and free local telephone calls.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Yost Ice Arena: 1.6 mi
  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • University of Michigan: 1.9 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Lamp Post Inn

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4
Value:
4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maestro1947
Cincinnati, Ohio
Jan 21, 2012

univ of michigan law school revisit new school

once in, once out ... i barely got to try them ... the bath seem okay and the room seem okay .... just an ordinary room with a cable tv ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

try the Blimpie Burgers .. it is fantatic ! For the adventurous, try Ashleys, the finest beer selection is town (over 75 drafts !)

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elmi the traveler
Business
San antonio
Apr 6, 2015

OK stay

basic room with basic amenities. The price was reasonable. overall nice place to stay. there is a smell in the room which is kind of annoying in the beginning but you get used to it. I almost walked to school every day and it takes about 35 minutes to get to there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exhausted mommy
Business
West bloomfield
Feb 19, 2015

Better than expected

Nice, clean, two story motel. Nice to have fridge and microwave. Breakfast was basic but nice. Staff was friendly and allowed us to check in early with no issues. Check in was speedy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
4Shoes
Business
Grand Haven
Feb 16, 2015

MI Summer Beer Fest

Very old and run down. Do not plan on staying here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David S.
Business
St. Clair Shores
Jan 24, 2015

Good value for overnight stay

The Lamp Post Inn is fairly close to campus and downtown restaurants, bars and many other attractions. While some places to stay are closer, the Lamp Post Inn offers a better value, particularly in the colder months, when prices are lower. The rooms are decent sized and are well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Scuba
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

great night of skiing

The staff was frendly and they allowed an extra hour to check out. I felt that I was given a bad room because I used yor site. I won't complain , l recommend you send a representative in order to compare room 125 with the rest of the property. Then ask why your clientele is getting that room when it is obvious the hotel is not full? Your site is very convenient and fast, and this was the first time I used it , but something tells me I probably Will Not use the 15 you are offering for this. I can't recommend this hotel because I don't know what the real rooms are like.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Xzhu64
Business
Tallahassee , fl
Nov 24, 2014

Surprisingly good location

Near the stadium and the south side of the campus. Very easy access. The walls are a little too thin between rooms so watch your TV volume. Otherwise, pretty nondescript stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xzhu64
Business
Tallahassee , fl
Nov 23, 2014

Good value and price

it reached my expecting. I will recommend to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Cristopher
Business
Kansas City
Sep 4, 2014

I've stayed in worse, but not by much...

I can't complain too much, because hey, you get what you pay for, but, I'd probably never stay there again. The bed was super hard, the carpet was in pretty bad shape, the room had a weird smell, and the showering experience was one of the worst I've ever had (and I travel a lot for business). Seventy dollars a night is hard to pass up, but I probably will suck it up and spend the extra money for somewhere with a half-way comfortable bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J.K.Z.
Business
Amherst
Aug 14, 2014

OK for the price

It was cheap, so I did not expect a lot from it. The smell of the parking lot was quite strong, the breakfast was cheesy, and the staff was OK. I stayed there only for one night since I needed to visit U of M Ann Arbor, which was OK. But I absolutely will not stay there for longer than 2 nights even it's cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's easy to take the bus from Lamp post to U of M, which was the reason why I chose it.

Review of Lamp Post Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
4Shoes
Business
Grand Haven, Michigan
Jul 28, 2014

Summer Beer Festival Weekend Getaway

This place is nothing to write home about. But for the price we paid we expected nothing less/more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top