$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Comfort Inn & Suites University South

2 stars
View map of 3501 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
Valentine's Day Stay

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting Ann Arbor for Valentine's Day. We... See full review

  • Melissa F.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Quick overnight stay

Hotel met expectations. Clean looking lobby. Clean room. Plenty of space. Parking was tricky. We... See full review

  • Amanda
  • Mar 17, 2015
Located at the junction of Interstate 94 and State Street, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South sits just a few minutes south of downtown Ann Arbor and the university campus. Visitors can find shopping at the Briarwood Mall, just two blocks away from the hotel, and several restaurants lie within walking distance. Guests of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South guests also get a complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free). Business travelers can find copy and fax services available.
Rooms
The Comfort Inn and Suites University South boasts 83 guest rooms, hot tub suites and two-bedroom suites. Clean, well-furnished accommodations have either single king-size beds or pairs of queens. All rooms include cable televisions, coffee-makers, climate control and telephones. Some rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators and work desks, and suites feature spacious sitting areas. Wi-Fi access (free) is available in guest rooms. Bathrooms come equipped with hair-dryers.
Property features
Offering clean, simple accommodations in south Ann Arbor, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South makes a solid choice for short-term visitors looking to stay close to shopping, college sporting events, and local attractions. The hotel has a decent set of amenities, including an indoor swimming pool, a small fitness center and free parking with space for large vehicles. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast and coffee each morning, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in the guest rooms. Business travelers can find basic services -- print, copy, fax -- in the lobby. A variety of dining options can be found within walking distance of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South.
Highlights
  • Indoor pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Nearby attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (22.9 mi/36.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 1.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 38
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaherazade
Business
Pequot Lakes
Mar 3, 2015

Hockey tip

There was only one thing about this hotel that wasn't nice and that was the bed in our room. I could tell the minute I walked in that it would be uncomfortable not just for me but for anyone. You could see AND feel the springs and sagginess in the middle. I should have requested a change and just got to busy to want to take the time. Other than that, it was a nice place for the money and was convenient to our plans. Breakfast was nice and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JFogerty
Business
San Mateo, CA
Sep 2, 2012

Convenient, Affordable, and Predictable

This hotel was perfect for our needs as a base to help move our daughter into her dorm.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Likehuff
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 27, 2011

Good Affordable Hotel

Very convenient location. Just off the freeway but no freeway noise. 20 mins from DTW airport. 5-7 mins from Ann Arbor downtown/U-M. Hotel was clean. Full hot breakfast was good. Nice swimming pool and hot tub. Printer didnt have paper. Computer has 20 min limit per session forced by the system. Nice clean linen and cool pillows. Flat screen TV with MSNBC and HBO!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ann Arbor has great dining and nightlife in Kerrytown, ie on S Main St.

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Mar 8, 2011

A Fine Family Stay, but Nothing Special

The hotel was overall decent. I don't have anything that I particularly loved or hated about it. The one thing that stands out was that the towels were very thin and so not that comfy. And the breakfast buffet was fine - it was nice for my 3-year-old to be able to make her own waffle - but nothing that special. We preferred to go out whenever we could to visit some of the great Ann Arbor restaurants (Seva, Afternoon Delight, Amer's, Jolly Pumpkin, etc.). But again, they provided everything we needed for a very reasonable price, including a crib for our 5-month-old, and it was easy enough to access places around Ann Arbor from there, so I don't really have complaints even if nothing stood out as being a great reason to pick this hotel over others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take advantage of all the local places to eat in downtown Ann Arbor. They have a variety of very good, interesting food - and especially vegetarian-friendly as well. The places around the hotel are all chains, so it is worth driving up State Street into the main areas, parking in a garage, and enjoying some high-quality food and atmosphere.

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midwifeknitter
Business
New Haven, CT
Sep 5, 2010

comfortable, clean hotel

We stayed here while dropping our freshman daughter off at UMich. The location was very convenient by car, but nothing special. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and the staff was very friendly.The free breakfast was very good and had "something for everyone."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
grand rapids, mi
Jul 19, 2010

hotel review

Room was exactly as pictured online. Traveled for a funeral, so I didn't use the pool or fitness area. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, slept very well. Location was close to where I needed to go. Only bad thing was the breakfast area was very crowded and ran out of eggs. There seem to be some sports teams staying there when we were there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There is a Red Robin restaurant on the opposite side of State St that is family friendly

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clinton Township MI
May 24, 2010

AAU Tournament Hotel

Had A Basketball Tournament

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Pools
Business
Chicago
Oct 5, 2009

Close to Everything

Location is great, right off the highway and close to restaurants, mall, university and downtown Ann Arbor. Rooms were average but very clean. I loved the pillows because they were so soft but others in my group didn't. Continental breakfast wasn't great but more variety then most with something for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
UMich Mom
Business
Fairfax. VA
Sep 1, 2009

Almost Perfect

Staffs were friendly. Room was tiny but quiet/comfortable. Breakfast OK. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top