$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

Comfort Inn & Suites University South

2 stars
3501 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
33 reviews
Great overnight stay

The hotel was very accommodating and was a great location. It was close to the university of... See full review

  • Mathew muscular monkey
  • Apr 20, 2014
great staff

At check in the staff asked which floor I wanted and also alerted me that a group was staying in... See full review

  • pink lover
  • Nov 4, 2013
Simple south Ann Arbor hotel with shopping access and on-site parking
Located at the junction of Interstate 94 and State Street, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South sits just a few minutes south of downtown Ann Arbor and the university campus. Visitors can find shopping at the Briarwood Mall, just two blocks away from the hotel, and several restaurants lie within walking distance. Guests of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South guests also get a complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free). Business travelers can find copy and fax services available.
Highlights
  • Indoor pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Rooms
The Comfort Inn and Suites University South boasts 83 guest rooms, hot tub suites and two-bedroom suites. Clean, well-furnished accommodations have either single king-size beds or pairs of queens. All rooms include cable televisions, coffee-makers, climate control and telephones. Some rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators and work desks, and suites feature spacious sitting areas. Wi-Fi access (free) is available in guest rooms. Bathrooms come equipped with hair-dryers.
Features
Offering clean, simple accommodations in south Ann Arbor, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South makes a solid choice for short-term visitors looking to stay close to shopping, college sporting events, and local attractions. The hotel has a decent set of amenities, including an indoor swimming pool, a small fitness center and free parking with space for large vehicles. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast and coffee each morning, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in the guest rooms. Business travelers can find basic services -- print, copy, fax -- in the lobby. A variety of dining options can be found within walking distance of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (22.9 mi/36.9 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 33
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
2.6

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AnnArborVisitor
Business
Indiana
Oct 5, 2014

Noisy room!

I was given a room near the lobby and there was a lot of noise that evening from events going on in the hotel (wedding, etc). I also could easily hear the guests in the room next to me. I think if I had a room that wasn't so close to the lobby I would have had a better stay but the noise from the next room over was too much. The connecting door between the 2 rooms allowed you to hear conversation, everything easily. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arbuttravels
Business
Chicago, Ill.
Sep 6, 2013

Awesome stay

I was welcomed so nicely by kind night staff after a really long drive. I loved the hotel it was really nice with a great breakfast..I am just sad it was only one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RooMom
Business
Twin Cities MN
Jan 27, 2013

Did not quite live up to my expectations

I have stayed at other Comfort Inn & Suites and have had much better experiences. This one was perhaps the oldest or most run down of them all. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired - and did not compare at all to my last experience in Ohio at a Comfort Inn. The first night we were there our TV did not work- I did not call down to deal with it as we were just too tired to care. The next evening I called down and they walked us through fixing it. I would overall not recommend my stay at this particular Comfort Inn but I will say there was one bright point in our stay. We took advantage of the shuttle service and needed picked up from a local venue. It was in the evening and the snow was coming down pretty hard. The traffic was awful - but the driver Amy was a JEWEL. She was an absolute bright spot and is an asset to the hotel. I would give the staff overall a B (and Amy an A+).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Comfort Inn no more
Business
Hershey PA
Jan 16, 2013

I chose this hotel for location and "complimentary dinner"

Upon arrival the key to my room didn't work the first time. I brought it back to the desk. The clerk reprogrammed it and then mentioned that I might have to slide it quickly or a few times to get it to work. The information in O---- indicated "complimentary dinner" and maybe I didn't read everything, but this is not included on weekends..I arrived on a Sunday afternoon. After getting in my room I explored the hotel. The hot tub was out of service. On my way back to my room I heard the clerk question guest who had just checked out "where is your other key". It's plastic and probably didn't work in the first place. In the room there were 2 bars of soap, a bottle of shampoo and a bottle of skin cream. After showering I grabbed for a tissue #which was on the shelf under the TV# and pulled out the last one. No big deal except the box wasn't replaced the following day. Later that evening I called the front desk to ask for a cork screw. Instead of having it delivered to the room I had to run to the front desk to pick it up. The clerk asked for my name and room number clearly reminding me that I would have to return the cork screw along with my two plastic room keys. There was a single curtain in the window not a sheer and light blocking curtain like I'm use to in hotels so I had a choice of total darkeness or inviting the entire hotel next door into my room. I was initially booked in a handicapped accessible room which the clerk said is common when you book through O------. She asked me if preferred that, or would like a regular room. I told her that regular would be fine and she asked me if I had a floor preference. She gave me a room on the second floor with a king bed. In retrospect I would encourage anyone staying at this hotel to choose the 3rd floor and an end unit. Late at night there was a stampeed on the floor above me. When that subsided either the refrigerator or the heater kicked in waking me up. It was hard to sleep in the first place since the pillows, all 6 of them were the size of throw pillows on a sofa. Two standard pillows would have been much nicer. I set my alarm for 5:45 which wasn't necessary since the toilet and shower in the next room woke me up at 5. I got up, made a pot of coffee #which along with the tissues wasn't replace that day# showered and went to breakfast. I had some scrambled eggs, sausage and juice. I wanted a banana, but they were all seriously over ripe and brown so I took an apple instead. I left for my meeting deciding to eat the apple on the way. Not to supprised I found it to be rotten inside. I returned from my meeting in the afternoon exhausted from the lack of sleep the night before and decided to take a nap. Sleeping during the day was just as challenging as sleeping at night since the walls seemed to be made of cardboard. I could hear everything going on in the hall, above and on either side of the room. So I decided to run out to the store and get a bottle of wine to have with my complimentary dinner. I took the wine to my room to chill and came back to the dining room to find 3 chaffers with pasta, a pan of gravy that earlier contained salisbury steak, and a pan of dried out mashed potatoes. The only thing eatible the salad so I filled a plate and took it to my room. This was a business trip so my company paid for the room. I could have stayed at a more expensive hotel, but I chose this one for the location. Never having been to Ann Arbor before I wanted something close to the highway as well as the location of my meeting. If you are coming to Ann Arbor I would encourage you to spend a few extra bucks and stay somewhere else. I travel a lot, and don't have extraordinary expectations but this place needs to be torn down so you can see the decent hotels down the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SSM Traveler
Business
Sault Ste. Marie, MI, USA
Feb 4, 2012

Tons of perks

In addition to a great location, this hotel has a decent continental breakfast and good wifi access. The only real problem is a lack of a bar, but the value more than makes up for that...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit the Grizzly Peak. Great beer, and excellent food. Green cab has a 10 dollar special from the Briarwood area to downtown, which is the best way to visit downtown if you plan on having a few brews!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top