$87 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Comfort Inn & Suites University South

2 stars
View map of 3501 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
38 reviews
Valentine's Day Stay

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting Ann Arbor for Valentine's Day. We... See full review

  • Melissa F.
  • Apr 22, 2015
Quick overnight stay

Hotel met expectations. Clean looking lobby. Clean room. Plenty of space. Parking was tricky. We... See full review

  • Amanda
  • Mar 17, 2015
Simple south Ann Arbor hotel with shopping access and on-site parking
Located at the junction of Interstate 94 and State Street, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South sits just a few minutes south of downtown Ann Arbor and the university campus. Visitors can find shopping at the Briarwood Mall, just two blocks away from the hotel, and several restaurants lie within walking distance. Guests of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South guests also get a complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free). Business travelers can find copy and fax services available.
Highlights
  • Indoor pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Rooms
The Comfort Inn and Suites University South boasts 83 guest rooms, hot tub suites and two-bedroom suites. Clean, well-furnished accommodations have either single king-size beds or pairs of queens. All rooms include cable televisions, coffee-makers, climate control and telephones. Some rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators and work desks, and suites feature spacious sitting areas. Wi-Fi access (free) is available in guest rooms. Bathrooms come equipped with hair-dryers.
Features
Offering clean, simple accommodations in south Ann Arbor, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South makes a solid choice for short-term visitors looking to stay close to shopping, college sporting events, and local attractions. The hotel has a decent set of amenities, including an indoor swimming pool, a small fitness center and free parking with space for large vehicles. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast and coffee each morning, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in the guest rooms. Business travelers can find basic services -- print, copy, fax -- in the lobby. A variety of dining options can be found within walking distance of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (22.9 mi/36.9 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lacrosse mom 11
Ann Arbor Michigan
Jul 13, 2012

Great stay

Clean and very friendly front desk employees, to our surprise complimentary dinner Thursday night great breakfast both Friday and Saturday morning. Complimentary ice tea one day and pink lemonade the next very good. Very hot when we were there 106 and 102 the free drinks were refreshing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Thursday night $1.00 beer and .50 wings at Damons very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Irene C.
Business
Wheaton
Apr 29, 2015

Visiting my daughter

Hotel is a good value so I have stayed there several times. This trip was marred by a loud party in the adjacent room on Saturday night. It went on quite late.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa F.
Business
BOWLING GREEN
Apr 22, 2015

Valentine's Day Stay

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting Ann Arbor for Valentine's Day. We had an amazing day in the city and it was nice to go back and relax and also wake up to a great breakfast! If we ever stay in Ann Arbor again we will definitely be coming back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joshua B.
Business
N/A
Mar 26, 2015

Good

For what it was worth it was a good experience. Iwould probably go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amanda
Business
Omak
Mar 17, 2015

Quick overnight stay

Hotel met expectations. Clean looking lobby. Clean room. Plenty of space. Parking was tricky. We checked in early, but arrived later in the evening and did not find a parking spot so we had to park along a nearby curve. Across the street is a very nice shopping mall with some good food options. Conveniently next to the interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shaherazade
Business
Pequot Lakes
Mar 3, 2015

Hockey tip

There was only one thing about this hotel that wasn't nice and that was the bed in our room. I could tell the minute I walked in that it would be uncomfortable not just for me but for anyone. You could see AND feel the springs and sagginess in the middle. I should have requested a change and just got to busy to want to take the time. Other than that, it was a nice place for the money and was convenient to our plans. Breakfast was nice and staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shoshana
Business
New Haven,CT
Nov 20, 2014

Great place to stay when visiting Ann Arbor

Have stayed many times over the last few years, when visitng daughter at UMich. Always clean, pleasant, convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

It is helpful to have a car. Very easy to get into town to eat, shop and sightsee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel guyWA
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 6, 2014

It's what you expect from a comfort inn

room was clean, water was hot and pressurized, cleaning service was fine. for the money, it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tvant
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
Oct 5, 2014

getaway

ok room, staff young, breakfast fair, location was good for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AnnArborVisitor
Business
Indiana
Oct 5, 2014

Noisy room!

I was given a room near the lobby and there was a lot of noise that evening from events going on in the hotel (wedding, etc). I also could easily hear the guests in the room next to me. I think if I had a room that wasn't so close to the lobby I would have had a better stay but the noise from the next room over was too much. The connecting door between the 2 rooms allowed you to hear conversation, everything easily. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mathew muscular monkey
Business
Hobart, indiana
Apr 20, 2014

Great overnight stay

The hotel was very accommodating and was a great location. It was close to the university of Michigan and the mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top