$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 6, 2014 Check-out: Nov 9, 2014

Comfort Inn & Suites University South

2 stars
3501 South State Street, Ann Arbor, MI 48108
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
32 reviews
Great overnight stay

The hotel was very accommodating and was a great location. It was close to the university of... See full review

  • Mathew muscular monkey
  • Apr 20, 2014
great staff

At check in the staff asked which floor I wanted and also alerted me that a group was staying in... See full review

  • pink lover
  • Nov 4, 2013
Simple south Ann Arbor hotel with shopping access and on-site parking
Located at the junction of Interstate 94 and State Street, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South sits just a few minutes south of downtown Ann Arbor and the university campus. Visitors can find shopping at the Briarwood Mall, just two blocks away from the hotel, and several restaurants lie within walking distance. Guests of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South guests also get a complimentary continental breakfast and Wi-Fi access (free). Business travelers can find copy and fax services available.
Highlights
  • Indoor pool and hot tub
  • Fitness center
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Free parking
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Rooms
The Comfort Inn and Suites University South boasts 83 guest rooms, hot tub suites and two-bedroom suites. Clean, well-furnished accommodations have either single king-size beds or pairs of queens. All rooms include cable televisions, coffee-makers, climate control and telephones. Some rooms also have microwaves, refrigerators and work desks, and suites feature spacious sitting areas. Wi-Fi access (free) is available in guest rooms. Bathrooms come equipped with hair-dryers.
Features
Offering clean, simple accommodations in south Ann Arbor, the Comfort Inn and Suites University South makes a solid choice for short-term visitors looking to stay close to shopping, college sporting events, and local attractions. The hotel has a decent set of amenities, including an indoor swimming pool, a small fitness center and free parking with space for large vehicles. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast and coffee each morning, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in the guest rooms. Business travelers can find basic services -- print, copy, fax -- in the lobby. A variety of dining options can be found within walking distance of the Comfort Inn and Suites University South.
Transportation
  • Ann Arbor Airport (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Amtrak Station (3.6 mi/5.7 km)
  • Detroit Metro Airport (22.9 mi/36.9 km)
Attractions
  • Briarwood Mall (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Michigan Stadium (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Ann Arbor Hands-On Museum (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Kerrytown Market and Shops (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Domino's Petting Zoo (10.8 mi/17.3 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Hotel Map

42.2394 -83.739
Nearby airports
Detroit-Metro Wayne Co. Arpt, (DTW), 25.00, MI, E; Ann Arbor Munic. Arpt., (ARB), 1.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, I-94, Exit 177

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Comfort Inn & Suites University South also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Multilingual
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Crisler Arena: 1.8 mi
  • Michigan Stadium: 1.9 mi
  • Yost Ice Arena: 2 mi
  • University of Michigan: 2.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hotel guyWA
Business
seattle, wa
Oct 6, 2014

It's what you expect from a comfort inn

room was clean, water was hot and pressurized, cleaning service was fine. for the money, it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tvant
Business
Grand Rapids, Mi
Oct 5, 2014

getaway

ok room, staff young, breakfast fair, location was good for us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AnnArborVisitor
Business
Indiana
Oct 5, 2014

Noisy room!

I was given a room near the lobby and there was a lot of noise that evening from events going on in the hotel (wedding, etc). I also could easily hear the guests in the room next to me. I think if I had a room that wasn't so close to the lobby I would have had a better stay but the noise from the next room over was too much. The connecting door between the 2 rooms allowed you to hear conversation, everything easily. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mathew muscular monkey
Business
Hobart, indiana
Apr 20, 2014

Great overnight stay

The hotel was very accommodating and was a great location. It was close to the university of Michigan and the mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pink lover
Business
Chicago
Nov 4, 2013

great staff

At check in the staff asked which floor I wanted and also alerted me that a group was staying in the hotel. I chose to be at the opposite end of the hotel. TV remote was very confusing and I called and they walked me through changing settings over the phone so I could get it to TV channels. Clean room, good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to Burger King. Red Robin also not far, but would have to cross large street to get to it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Taylor0525
Business
Toledo, OH
Oct 15, 2013

Perfect Weekend Trip

Me and my boyfriend wanted to get away from Ohio for the weekend, and picked this place to stay. The room was great, the TV was perfect for watching football, and the jacuzzi tub in the room was perfect for a romantic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Prickly Pear - awesome margaritas!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Time Dori
Business
Ann arbor, Michigan
Oct 8, 2013

Alone Time

It was nice. Liked it a lot. No complaints here. Good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slugger1
Business
York, PA
Oct 8, 2013

Stayed here on 2 different occasions on football weekends

Nice hotel with average accommodations but decent. Free Wi-Fi. Rooms with adjoining doors are noisy if other room is occupied with noisy kids or loud adults. Bathrooms are okay with small vanities. Breakfast room gets crowded on weekends. Access to hotel coming from town is difficult. No direct access.. Not great but not bad. Staff is young adults who try to be helpful. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Shopping center with restaurants across highway. Easy access to route 94 by pass. About 2 miles to campus and Michigan stadium. Area is served by public bus transportation from shopping center but not in front of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Arbuttravels
Business
Chicago, Ill.
Sep 6, 2013

Awesome stay

I was welcomed so nicely by kind night staff after a really long drive. I loved the hotel it was really nice with a great breakfast..I am just sad it was only one night!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites University South

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
RooMom
Business
Twin Cities MN
Jan 27, 2013

Did not quite live up to my expectations

I have stayed at other Comfort Inn & Suites and have had much better experiences. This one was perhaps the oldest or most run down of them all. The free breakfast left a lot to be desired - and did not compare at all to my last experience in Ohio at a Comfort Inn. The first night we were there our TV did not work- I did not call down to deal with it as we were just too tired to care. The next evening I called down and they walked us through fixing it. I would overall not recommend my stay at this particular Comfort Inn but I will say there was one bright point in our stay. We took advantage of the shuttle service and needed picked up from a local venue. It was in the evening and the snow was coming down pretty hard. The traffic was awful - but the driver Amy was a JEWEL. She was an absolute bright spot and is an asset to the hotel. I would give the staff overall a B (and Amy an A+).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top