$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 19, 2014

Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

3 stars
200 Sable Oaks Drive, 200 SABLE OAKS DR, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
50 reviews
Early flight

I choose this hotel because they offered free parking and an airport shuttle.. I had a 6am flight... See full review

  • Anne CH
  • Jun 29, 2014
Excellent Staff

Had a Great Time in South Portland, Came up from New Hampshire with Two of Our Grandchildren. They... See full review

  • ammoguy
  • Apr 4, 2014
Hop on a free shuttle to the airport or Maine Mall

Perched on a quiet hill of the Sable Oaks community overlooking Maine Mall, the completely renovated Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is only steps from the largest shopping mall in the state and an 18-hole golf course. Guest rooms, the lobby lounge, restaurant and indoor and outdoor pools all wear a fresh, contemporary look. A wall of glass surrounds the heated indoor pool and whirlpool, where guests can relax after a fitness center workout. On warm days, lounge at the outdoor sun patio with loungers and umbrellas. 

Highlights

  • Refreshed heated indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary shuttle to Maine Mall or the airport
  • On site at Sable Oaks Golf Club, a par-70 course with 18 holes
  • Contemporary lounge with Starbucks coffee, flat-screen TV and Wi-Fi

Rooms

Many of the 222 rooms at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks offer views of the lush greens of Sable Oaks Golf Club below. Each guest room features updated designer style with plush bedding and flat-screen televisions. A coffee-maker and mini fridge offer added convenience for business travelers and families. Handle work matters at the writing desk with free Wi-Fi or catch up on sleep with a soft down comforter, cotton-rich linens and a selection of foam and feather pillows. Concierge level rooms and suites with sofa-beds are an option, as is room service for three meals a day. Pets are allowed in some rooms (fees apply).

Features

Minutes from the Portland Airport, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks has earned a three-Diamond rating and offers free on-site parking. A sleek and contemporary communal table in the lounge makes a welcoming place to meet up or check email with flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and a day bar featuring Starbucks beverages. Stop by Fire and Water Fish & Chophouse for casual American dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Within five miles, sample the best of Portland at seafood houses, pizza shops, brewing companies, sushi and upscale fine dining. Take the free shuttle to Maine Mall or step back in time along the cobblestone streets of the Old Port, a scenic working waterfront district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Free shuttle to the Portland airport and Maine Mall area
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (across the street)
  • Maine Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Portland Museum of Art (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Freeport Outlets (21.2 mi/34 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with free printing plus copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Nine meeting rooms plus a grand ballroom for up to 900 people

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6398 -70.338
Nearby airports
Portland International Jetport, (PWM), 2.40, MI, SW;
Area description
Airport, Location Type: Airport

Dining

Fire and Water Fish & Chophouse
When considering South Portland Restaurants, the best choice is Fire and Water Fish & Chophouse. Located inside the hotel, the restaurant is a convenient and casual way to enjoy modern American fare any time, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelermp
Business
Bay Area, California
Oct 24, 2011

Marriott - unremarkable - not a good value at $181

This hotel was close to the airport, but the price was at a premium probably because of location near the airport. It is not a good value for the money, as this is a typical mid-range hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ginger lou
Portland ME
Feb 8, 2010

In my opinion

Overall it was good. They had two parties going so there was very little parking for guest.... In our room on the bed were two beer bottle caps on the bed and the sheet weren't very clean on one the beds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J Crock
Chelsea, Ma
Jul 25, 2011

Friendly staff

Room was nice and well maintained. The Breakfast buffet was not that good and they tried to rush us out for no real reason but overall not a bad stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilder, Vermont
May 24, 2009

Just fine, thank you!

this is our second stay in a year. Although they are in the process of extensive renovations, we had a great 2 days. I would reccommend the Giant lobster roll. Buffet breakfast offered lots of variety, but some of the items on the line (scrambled eggs,home fries) were cold. Not good for $14. a head. My wife had an omelette that was outsatnding. Service at check in and dining area as good as we remembered. The beds are out of this world , and the towels were so thick and fluffy, I could hardly close my suitcase!!!!!! We shall return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Maine Mall is a 3 minute drive away , and the Christmas Tree Shop about 5 minutes.

Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wilder, Vermont
May 24, 2009

Just fine, thank you!

this is our second stay in a year. Although they are in the process of extensive renovations, we had a great 2 days. I would reccommend the Giant lobster roll. Buffet breakfast offered lots of variety, but some of the items on the line (scrambled eggs,home fries) were cold. Not good for $14. a head. My wife had an omelette that was outsatnding. Service at check in and dining area as good as we remembered. The beds are out of this world , and the towels were so thick and fluffy, I could hardly close my suitcase!!!!!! We shall return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Maine Mall is a 3 minute drive away , and the Christmas Tree Shop about 5 minutes.

Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mystery Shopper 2012
New Hampshire, USA
Sep 9, 2013

just okay

I'm usually pretty low maintenance but this place didn't seem worth the money to me. The room was comfortable enough but the shower curtain smelled sour and, upon inspection, showed some mildew. While the staff was very friendly, the place is not easy to find the first time out. (GPS sent me to the adjacent golf course. Take a right at the Office Park sign with the tiny hotel logos on it to find the Marriott, then a quick hard left off the entry road.) For nearly $200 per night, a complimentary cup of coffee the next morning would be nice. Instead there was self-serve Starbucks on the lounge counter for nearly $3. Um, no. I'm willing to spend extra for someplace fine, but this is not that kind of place. Clean, predictable, pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Those with time and energy enough to work out but would rather be outside than use indoor, on-site facilities should check out the 3.5 mile Back Cove loop in Portland.

Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ginger lou
Portland ME
Feb 8, 2010

In my opinion

Overall it was good. They had two parties going so there was very little parking for guest.... In our room on the bed were two beer bottle caps on the bed and the sheet weren't very clean on one the beds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindaliz
Montreal, QC, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

a bit deceiving

the hotel was good, but not as amazing as depicted by its photos. The room was small but clean, and just a cut above average. I chose it because of its high rating... have to say it was over rated. Nothing great, and for the money I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Night in the city after backpacking
Boston, MA
Aug 8, 2011

Solidly average.

Stayed for one night while visiting in Portland. The staff was decently kind if a bit distracted while we were checking in, the hallways were clean if a bit run down, and the room was fairly standard, with a pretty comfortable bed. Nothing extraordinary, not sure it was worth the high price, but nothing specifically wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Novare Res in Portland for an amazing beer selection and great outdoor deck!

Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J Crock
Chelsea, Ma
Jul 25, 2011

Friendly staff

Room was nice and well maintained. The Breakfast buffet was not that good and they tried to rush us out for no real reason but overall not a bad stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top