$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 31, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

3 stars
200 Sable Oaks Drive, 200 SABLE OAKS DR, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
32 reviews
Early flight

I choose this hotel because they offered free parking and an airport shuttle.. I had a 6am flight... See full review

  • Anne CH
  • Jun 29, 2014
Excellent Staff

Had a Great Time in South Portland, Came up from New Hampshire with Two of Our Grandchildren. They... See full review

  • ammoguy
  • Apr 4, 2014
Hop on a free shuttle to the airport or Maine Mall

Perched on a quiet hill of the Sable Oaks community overlooking Maine Mall, the completely renovated Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks is only steps from the largest shopping mall in the state and an 18-hole golf course. Guest rooms, the lobby lounge, restaurant and indoor and outdoor pools all wear a fresh, contemporary look. A wall of glass surrounds the heated indoor pool and whirlpool, where guests can relax after a fitness center workout. On warm days, lounge at the outdoor sun patio with loungers and umbrellas. 

Highlights

  • Refreshed heated indoor pool and whirlpool
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Complimentary shuttle to Maine Mall or the airport
  • On site at Sable Oaks Golf Club, a par-70 course with 18 holes
  • Contemporary lounge with Starbucks coffee, flat-screen TV and Wi-Fi

Rooms

Many of the 222 rooms at Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks offer views of the lush greens of Sable Oaks Golf Club below. Each guest room features updated designer style with plush bedding and flat-screen televisions. A coffee-maker and mini fridge offer added convenience for business travelers and families. Handle work matters at the writing desk with free Wi-Fi or catch up on sleep with a soft down comforter, cotton-rich linens and a selection of foam and feather pillows. Concierge level rooms and suites with sofa-beds are an option, as is room service for three meals a day. Pets are allowed in some rooms (fees apply).

Features

Minutes from the Portland Airport, Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks has earned a three-Diamond rating and offers free on-site parking. A sleek and contemporary communal table in the lounge makes a welcoming place to meet up or check email with flat screen TVs, Wi-Fi and a day bar featuring Starbucks beverages. Stop by Fire and Water Fish & Chophouse for casual American dining for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Within five miles, sample the best of Portland at seafood houses, pizza shops, brewing companies, sushi and upscale fine dining. Take the free shuttle to Maine Mall or step back in time along the cobblestone streets of the Old Port, a scenic working waterfront district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Free shuttle to the Portland airport and Maine Mall area
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (across the street)
  • Maine Mall (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Portland Museum of Art (5.1 mi/8.3 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (6 mi/9.6 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (7.6 mi/12.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Freeport Outlets (21.2 mi/34 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with free printing plus copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • Nine meeting rooms plus a grand ballroom for up to 900 people

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Sauna
Golf
Jogging track
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
In room movies
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Iron
Ironing board
Wet bar

Dining

Fire and Water Fish & Chophouse
When considering South Portland Restaurants, the best choice is Fire and Water Fish & Chophouse. Located inside the hotel, the restaurant is a convenient and casual way to enjoy modern American fare any time, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (32)

Ratings and reviews for Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.8

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelermp
Business
Bay Area, California
Oct 24, 2011

Marriott - unremarkable - not a good value at $181

This hotel was close to the airport, but the price was at a premium probably because of location near the airport. It is not a good value for the money, as this is a typical mid-range hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greywolf1946
Business
Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Nice accomodations

Very nice room. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Hotel was difficult to find since it is not visible from the main highways. Thought it offered complimentary continental breakfast, but we were told that was not offered. Overall, very pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Very close to the Maine Mall with ample shopping and dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lindaliz
Business
Montreal, QC, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

a bit deceiving

the hotel was good, but not as amazing as depicted by its photos. The room was small but clean, and just a cut above average. I chose it because of its high rating... have to say it was over rated. Nothing great, and for the money I was disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EC traveler
Business
CT
Aug 16, 2011

Satisfied

We went for a wkend away to see downtown Portland and b/c every hotel in downtown Portland was over $300, we decided to stay in South Portland at the Marriott. It was 15 minutes from downtown by car which wasn't too bad b/c its a fairly nice drive. The hotel is by a big mall and tons of restaurants, which we never visited b/c we always ate in downtown Portland. The hotel was nice, its a Marriott. The staff was nice and we didn't have any issues at all. We never used the pool but it was very busy. I would recommend this hotel b/c the hotels in downtown Portland are overpriced and this hotel was the best deal even though most would consider it pricey at $200 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ppmmb
Business
Long Island, New York, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Super hotel

Really nice hotel with excellent service. Nice place to unwind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Night in the city after backpacking
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 8, 2011

Solidly average.

Stayed for one night while visiting in Portland. The staff was decently kind if a bit distracted while we were checking in, the hallways were clean if a bit run down, and the room was fairly standard, with a pretty comfortable bed. Nothing extraordinary, not sure it was worth the high price, but nothing specifically wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Novare Res in Portland for an amazing beer selection and great outdoor deck!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
J Crock
Business
Chelsea, Ma
Jul 25, 2011

Friendly staff

Room was nice and well maintained. The Breakfast buffet was not that good and they tried to rush us out for no real reason but overall not a bad stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Worcester MA
May 21, 2011

Highly recommend!

We had a great room on the corner looking over Portland. The room was particularly nice since it had a foyer separate from the main room so our baby had a nice dark place to sleep without everyone having to be asleep as well. The host worked to get us a room near my sister with whom I booked our stay and got us only 2 doors down. The breakfast buffet was awesome and well worth the extra cost with our stay especially for a family of four with two hungry kiddos. Lots of fresh fruit. There was a kerfaffle when the concierge missed that we had indeed paid for the breakfast option and didn't give us our vouchers but was quick to call and sincerely apologize when he had discovered his mistake and had someone run them up to us. The kids loved the pool. We'll definitely stay there if we have the occasion to travel that way again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Definitely get the breakfast option when booking your room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JacksBoxes
Business
Lincolnville, Maine
Feb 8, 2011

Peace & Quiet

This is one of the nicest places I have stayed. It sits on a hill overlooking the MaineMall, but it is a world apart. Staff are quietly courteous, and the grounds are a great place for individuals or families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Olive Garden

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Marriott at Sable Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blairsville, PA
Jan 2, 2011

Great price for a great night

It was New Years Eve and for the price it was well worth it. Customer service was great. Check in was quick and easy, Everything (pool, fitness room, bar, restaurant) was on the first floor. The room we had was large and beautiful. We danced all night in the ballroom. For the price and the night, could not complain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top