$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

Knights Inn South Portland

2 stars
View map of 634 Main Street, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Knights Inn South Portland

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love staying in hotels
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 2, 2011

ok for a one night stay

We were only there for one night to catch an early flight in the morning. When calling hotel, the person answering the phone was extremely rude. I would not stay here again. The room had an odd odor. I was itchy the entire time I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
St. George, Utah
Nov 23, 2010

You definitely get what you pay for

I think the motel management must have a special room set aside for those that purchase the room online. Some issues I had with the motel are the sliding window in the bathroom would not lock, there was quite a bit of hair on the top of the toilet and on the bathroom door, the a/c wall unit didn't work (I just wanted to turn on the fan part of the a/c wall unit for noise to drown out the traffic noise outside), there was not an alarm clock, and the room had a bit of an odor. I can't complain too much though because the room was a pretty good deal for a frugal traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
St. George, Utah
Nov 23, 2010

You definitely get what you pay for

I think the motel management must have a special room set aside for those that purchase the room online. Some issues I had with the motel are the sliding window in the bathroom would not lock, there was quite a bit of hair on the top of the toilet and on the bathroom door, the a/c wall unit didn't work (I just wanted to turn on the fan part of the a/c wall unit for noise to drown out the traffic noise outside), there was not an alarm clock, and the room had a bit of an odor. I can't complain too much though because the room was a pretty good deal for a frugal traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sox Traveler
Business
Bangor, ME
Aug 19, 2010

Perfect for what we needed!

Experience was great for what we needed. Stopped by at 11 checked in, didn't check out the room, left straight for Boston for Sox game, didn't wanna stay in Boston so stayed here for the night for a low price and just a place to sleep. It worked out perfect. D&D across the road for quick breakfast. The staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hell is better!
Business
South Portland, ME
Feb 14, 2010

DO NOT GO HERE!!!

This was one of the worse hotels that I have ever stayed in. First off we had the corner room, ya you read right, corner room, the key to the room barely opened the door, every time you would take a shower it would smell like someone urinated in the bathroom, the shower curtain was not plastic, cloth only and not washed on a regular basis. Low quality shampoo and conditioner, oh and try wiping your butt with cardboard because that is what it felt like with the kind of toilet paper they provided us. And what kind of hotel room doesn't have a bible in it? This place was a complete dump!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mass
Nov 10, 2009

Nice weekend getaway

Our stay was nice. We just wanted a place to sleep and this served its purpose. The staff could have been friendlier but for the money not a bad stay. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WhiteFamily
Business
Rehoboth, MA
Oct 14, 2009

Fall fair expedition

Overall the value of the stay here was unbeatable for a short family get-a-way. Great location for local fairs and sightseeing, lots of shops, and places to eat that would fit any budget. Only one complaint, The room was noisy- located on the main road and a busy street at all hours!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cheap one night stay
Business
Presque Isle, ME
Oct 14, 2009

Could be worse

The office person continued to talk on the phone and just handed the key after I filled out the registration card. Fridge smelled like mold, even with the Baking soda box. Check out was pretty much, hand over the key and 'Bye'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin Donuts was across the street.

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
warrenduluth
Business
lake wales, florida
Sep 22, 2009

a tired hob beeb hovel

i picked the cheapest price, shame on me

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the mall was close

Review of Knights Inn South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
South Portland motel
Business
Gloucester, MA
Sep 22, 2009

Decent Stay

It is a nice motel, good for a one night stay. We arrived at 9pm, checked in, went to bed, got up at 5am and left. The clerk was friendly, the room was clean, and there was no noise. Excellent for an overnight but maybe not for a longer stay. Also, the best priced motel in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top