$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
View map of 675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
115 reviews
met our needs

We appreciated being able to leave our car for the duration of our trip abroad and being able to... See full review

  • Emily
  • Apr 6, 2015
Flying in for the weekend

The hotel is fine and having the airport shuttle is awesome. A quick pickup and drop-off with... See full review

  • Dee..
  • Mar 26, 2015
Free airport shuttle five miles to the downtown waterfront scene

With so much to do in Portland, guests at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland prefer not to pay steep rates for a fancy room. Economical rates on basic lodging include continental breakfast and wireless Internet access. Guests can even take a free 24-hour shuttle to the airport. The hotel sits less than five miles from Old Port, the historic downtown waterfront. Swim in the sunny indoor pool surrounded by two glass walls or check out local beaches, museums, ferry cruises or seafood restaurants serving fresh Maine lobster.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • Free 24-hour shuttle to airport, Amtrak and bus stations
  • Less than five miles from downtown Portland
  • Some pet-friendly rooms available

Rooms

Decor has a bit of a flashback feel at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland, but the guest room prices are hard to beat for the convenient Portland location. All rooms include basic amenities, including a coffee-maker with complimentary coffee, iron, full-sized ironing board, hair-dryer and AM/FM clock radio. Kick back with an expanded cable TV line-up that offers HBO and pay-per-view channels or hop online with free Wi-Fi. Home Office Rooms add a microwaves, fridge and complimentary welcome snacks. Business Class non-smoking rooms are subject to availability, as are pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

Groups are welcome and parking is free for vehicles of all sizes at the Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland. Winner of the Howard Johnson Presidents Award, the hotel sits at the intersection of I-95 and Route 1 Main Street in South Portland. A motor speedway, harness race track and sports events featuring Portland teas are all less than 10 miles away. On site, guests can exercise with cardio equipment in the fitness room.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, bus or train stations

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Portland Head Lighthouse (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.5 mi/16.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing services (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms equipped with free wireless Internet access seat up to 90 people

Policies and fees

  • Our guarantee policy requires a credit card guarantee.
  •  Pet Policy: Pets allowed only in pet-friendly rooms. Contact property for availability. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
52 out of 115
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.7

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

met our needs

We appreciated being able to leave our car for the duration of our trip abroad and being able to crash there when we returned. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff helpful and pleasant and the breakfast very satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee..
Business
West Gardiner
Mar 26, 2015

Flying in for the weekend

The hotel is fine and having the airport shuttle is awesome. A quick pickup and drop-off with pleasant driver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Happy traveler
Business
Peabody MA
Nov 18, 2014

Great hotel for our needs!

We had a wedding in Portland, we arrived early at the hotel and was allowed to go to our room. Very friendly staff, we had a room with a king bed it looked great when we arrived. Clean and neat. Continental breakfast was more than expected, from waffles to whatever, waitstaff asked if they could help when I was looking around, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Town traveler
Business
Rockville MD
Sep 22, 2014

Portland Howard Johnson

Staff was very accommodating by allowing early check-in. Room was very clean and bed was incredibly comfortable! Great location with a short drive to downtown! Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Noplanstogobacktophiphi
Business
Toronto, Canada
Sep 11, 2014

Bang for your buck

All of the hotels we looked up directly in Portland were all around $250 so booking this hotel for only $70 less than 10 mins away was a no brained! The room was clean and the seem to be in a transition of making all the furniture a little more modern and up to date which was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Duckfat for lunch and Central Provisions for dinner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul and Judi
Business
Warners, NY
Sep 6, 2014

Close to everything

We only had an afternoon and evening to spend, and wanted to see Old Port and the Portland Head Light on Cape Elizabeth. This hotel was conveniently located midway between the two, with easy access from the highway. The hotel is well maintained and the room was very comfortable. The cost was considerably lower than anything in Portland. We would rather spend our money on good restaurants and sightseeing than on an overpriced room in a tourist location, and so this was perfect for us. The hot breakfast included eggs, sausage, waffles, and a variety of other breakfast entrees. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Portland Head Light (lighthouse) on Cape Elizabeth is a must see for anyone in love with the sea or the coast. This iconic rocky Maine Seacoast spot offers exceptional photo opportunities.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
June's Mom
Business
Colorado
Aug 26, 2014

Great value

Staff were excellent. Shuttle to airport quick and efficient. Room was comfortable. Will stay again in future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JackMess
Business
Quebec
Jun 25, 2014

Exactly what we expected !

The price was right for what we've got. Very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Maine mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
getway couple
Business
maine
Apr 24, 2014

stars on ice

great loc ation near center and all the shopping favorites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Paul Donna
Business
wesley, maine
Mar 27, 2014

Stay and fly

Great place to stay for flying out of Portland Jetport - the staff was great - shuttle to the airport was on time (4:30 am) - and we were able to leave the car at the hotel for 14 days at the fraction of the cost of airport parking! Room was clean and comfortable. We will stay again on our return flight!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top