$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 31, 2014 Check-out: Jan 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
107 reviews
Good accomadations

It's a good quality hotel in a very handy location to Portland - easily accessed on the highway. See full review

  • Uuliat
  • Aug 28, 2013
Thanksgiving event

Flights were changed due to weather, and we were accommodated. Death in family, and we had to leave... See full review

  • Rod Dr. Bagel
  • Dec 2, 2014
Free airport shuttle five miles to the downtown waterfront scene

With so much to do in Portland, guests at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland prefer not to pay steep rates for a fancy room. Economical rates on basic lodging include continental breakfast and wireless Internet access. Guests can even take a free 24-hour shuttle to the airport. The hotel sits less than five miles from Old Port, the historic downtown waterfront. Swim in the sunny indoor pool surrounded by two glass walls or check out local beaches, museums, ferry cruises or seafood restaurants serving fresh Maine lobster.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • Free 24-hour shuttle to airport, Amtrak and bus stations
  • Less than five miles from downtown Portland
  • Some pet-friendly rooms available

Rooms

Decor has a bit of a flashback feel at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland, but the guest room prices are hard to beat for the convenient Portland location. All rooms include basic amenities, including a coffee-maker with complimentary coffee, iron, full-sized ironing board, hair-dryer and AM/FM clock radio. Kick back with an expanded cable TV line-up that offers HBO and pay-per-view channels or hop online with free Wi-Fi. Home Office Rooms add a microwaves, fridge and complimentary welcome snacks. Business Class non-smoking rooms are subject to availability, as are pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

Groups are welcome and parking is free for vehicles of all sizes at the Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland. Winner of the Howard Johnson Presidents Award, the hotel sits at the intersection of I-95 and Route 1 Main Street in South Portland. A motor speedway, harness race track and sports events featuring Portland teas are all less than 10 miles away. On site, guests can exercise with cardio equipment in the fitness room.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, bus or train stations

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Portland Head Lighthouse (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.5 mi/16.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing services (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms equipped with free wireless Internet access seat up to 90 people

Policies and fees

  • Our guarantee policy requires a credit card guarantee.
  •  Pet Policy: Pets allowed only in pet-friendly rooms. Contact property for availability. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
main visitor
Business
NJ
Oct 15, 2013

check out others hotels first

Check in was ok-no safety latch on room door though. Restaurant looked abandoned. Grounds were sketchy looking. Did not feel too safe staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mike X
Business
Hamilton, NJ
Jul 6, 2010

Worst hotel ever..

Worst hotel ever! If you wanna sleep with spiders in the room then this is your perfect hotel. Every corner in the room has spider nets.. Not clean at all. The staff was ok. They helped me to change my room after first night, but not the room was the problem..is the whole hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2011

Better off somewhere else

Room: First off the room was a non-smoking room but yet smelled like cigarette smoke. Also, several of the lights flickered or didn't work at all. And the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. Amenities: The gym was hot. The indoor pool had little to no privacy from the main road and had so much chlorine in it that it had me fighting for a clean breath of air. Breakfast was insane, it was over crowed and people would have to go to the front desk every 5 mins to ask for stuff to be replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
med traveller
Business
Jersey City NJ
Oct 15, 2010

Disappointing

Disappointing! The "Non-Smoking" room had been smoked in and recently, and the rugs were all wet in the hall from rain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Young single female traveller
Business
Marina Del Rey, CA
Oct 25, 2010

Won't be staying here again

The hotel is really rundown, outdated and badly maintained. The decor was a mix of cheesy Asian-inspired and tired 80s wallpaper, cheap finishes, dirty-looking carpets and bedspreads. There was hair on the bathroom counter and on one of the pillows, small patches of mold on the bathroom ceiling and the lights were rusting. What kind of guests a hotel attracts also says alot - there was an unkempt man playing solitaire on the hotel computers one evening who harassed me as I tried to print out my boarding pass and told me that he had been a criminal for many years who just hadn't been caught yet. As a young, single female traveller, this made me more than a little uncomfortable. I'd give this place zero stars if I could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Maine Mall, just ten minutes drive away, is pretty nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelburne Vermont
Jul 23, 2011

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at

The hotel was a complete dump, the first rooms we were given were completely filthy and we were moved to new rooms. The new rooms felt damp and you could smell mildew, the carpets were stained and the bedding was cheap. The continental breakfast that was offered was not only lacking but some of the items were stale. I have stayed at hotels since I was 6 years old I am now 32 and I have neve had such a terrible experience! The staff was not only undertrained but rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sanico
Business
North Hills, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

HOWARD JOHNSON PORTLAND, MAINE -TERRIBLE!

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Asked for a non smoking room - the room was filled with the smell of smoke as well as the hallway. The carpeting in the room was stained, ripped and disgusting. The only clean thing in the room was the bed and we had no where else to go. We had to stay the night. The complimentary breakfast was in a small dirty room - there was a nice staff person trying to clean the mess created by unattended children. There was no place to sit much less eat. We left immediately. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson hotel again. Do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time or money staying at this hotel. Everything was terrible. If you are not a smoker - don't stay. The smell of tobacco was everywhere, obviously people smoked everywhere they wanteded to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rebholla
Business
Hilliard, OH
Aug 22, 2011

Horrible - worst hotel I've ever stayed at - maybe good for smokers?

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night, or more precicesly about 6 hours. We had a 6 a.m. flight so we checked out at 4 a.m. However, we wished we had not checked in and had slept at the airport - it would have been more comfortable. First, even though the hotel has a no smoking sign outside of the lobby, there were at least a dozen people smoking. This carried the smoke to the lobby and onto the elevators. The smoke smell from area and likely from the people was so think on the elevators I could hardly breath. The rooms were old. Carpets were heavily stained. The entire night I could hear every door that closed, rather slammed, and the plumbing was so loud I could hear the flushing and running of water next door. The soda machine dispensed Dr. Pepper instead of water twice in a row and the front desk didn't care. Upon check out they didn't even ask how our stay was. This hotel is not acceptable even for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 6, 2010

Weekend in Portland

The smoke smell when you enter the lobby is overwhelming. The beds feel as though you are sleeping on concrete w/ a cardboard cover. Went on this trip with my father and sister and all of us slept aweful. My sisters sheets got juice a couple juice stains on them but housekeeping didn't bother to change them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Altus OK
Aug 6, 2010

Trip to Maine

Hotel was ok but would not stay again. The lights over the sink did not work and the heater in the bathroom did not work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top