$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Apr 1, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
View map of 675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rebholla
Business
Hilliard, OH
Aug 22, 2011

Horrible - worst hotel I've ever stayed at - maybe good for smokers?

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night, or more precicesly about 6 hours. We had a 6 a.m. flight so we checked out at 4 a.m. However, we wished we had not checked in and had slept at the airport - it would have been more comfortable. First, even though the hotel has a no smoking sign outside of the lobby, there were at least a dozen people smoking. This carried the smoke to the lobby and onto the elevators. The smoke smell from area and likely from the people was so think on the elevators I could hardly breath. The rooms were old. Carpets were heavily stained. The entire night I could hear every door that closed, rather slammed, and the plumbing was so loud I could hear the flushing and running of water next door. The soda machine dispensed Dr. Pepper instead of water twice in a row and the front desk didn't care. Upon check out they didn't even ask how our stay was. This hotel is not acceptable even for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sanico
Business
North Hills, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

HOWARD JOHNSON PORTLAND, MAINE -TERRIBLE!

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Asked for a non smoking room - the room was filled with the smell of smoke as well as the hallway. The carpeting in the room was stained, ripped and disgusting. The only clean thing in the room was the bed and we had no where else to go. We had to stay the night. The complimentary breakfast was in a small dirty room - there was a nice staff person trying to clean the mess created by unattended children. There was no place to sit much less eat. We left immediately. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson hotel again. Do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time or money staying at this hotel. Everything was terrible. If you are not a smoker - don't stay. The smell of tobacco was everywhere, obviously people smoked everywhere they wanteded to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Aug 8, 2011

Not bad

This hotel room was a little better than expected. The window did not open all the way and there was no fridge. We bought a small fan amd that really improved the circulation. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was clean. A good home base for lots of activities in the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 1, 2011

Better off somewhere else

Room: First off the room was a non-smoking room but yet smelled like cigarette smoke. Also, several of the lights flickered or didn't work at all. And the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. Amenities: The gym was hot. The indoor pool had little to no privacy from the main road and had so much chlorine in it that it had me fighting for a clean breath of air. Breakfast was insane, it was over crowed and people would have to go to the front desk every 5 mins to ask for stuff to be replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shelburne Vermont
Jul 23, 2011

Worst hotel I have ever stayed at

The hotel was a complete dump, the first rooms we were given were completely filthy and we were moved to new rooms. The new rooms felt damp and you could smell mildew, the carpets were stained and the bedding was cheap. The continental breakfast that was offered was not only lacking but some of the items were stale. I have stayed at hotels since I was 6 years old I am now 32 and I have neve had such a terrible experience! The staff was not only undertrained but rude.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Former Mainers
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 6, 2011

I wouldn't hesitate to return!!

We are from the area originally and this trip was to return home to visit friends and family. This time, we opted to stay at a hotel instead of with family. We made a great choice by selecting this hotel. Overall, it was very comfortable. The room was clean and fresh and the bed very comfy. Each day we enjoyed a basic but adequate continental breakfast. Loved that coffee was available all day in the lobby. We even enjoyed homemade cookies right out of the oven one afternoon. What a delicious treat they were too. The indoor pool appeared to be well kept although we never had a chance to actually use it. All the Staff was friendly, helpful and efficient. We wouldn't hesitate to stay their again in a heart beat and would recommend this hotel to any friend or family member. Excellent value for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diana Home
Business
Medway Maine
Apr 21, 2011

very pleased

I will be back... got more than I expected... I was there with 2 grandchildren... One other was staying over night at a local medical center... all was welcome... Cookies, hot chocolate.. and swimming... excerise... the price was very reasonable... glad I chose this hotel... see you soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor, ME 04401
Mar 27, 2011

Pleasure

It was fabulous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Contoocook, NH
Jan 24, 2011

Basic but okay.

We've stayed here before when it was just an overnight and we wanted something relatively inexpensive (compared to most Portland hotels). The front desk is always helpful and friendly. The rooms are adequate, clean and unremarkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ny
Jan 11, 2011

good time

great, clean , nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top