$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
105 reviews
Good accomadations

It's a good quality hotel in a very handy location to Portland - easily accessed on the highway. See full review

  • Uuliat
  • Aug 28, 2013
comfortable, late check out

booked this after late arrival at Portland Jet port. 24hr desk, very quite, comfortable bed, good... See full review

  • tired rover
  • Sep 16, 2014
Free airport shuttle five miles to the downtown waterfront scene

With so much to do in Portland, guests at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland prefer not to pay steep rates for a fancy room. Economical rates on basic lodging include continental breakfast and wireless Internet access. Guests can even take a free 24-hour shuttle to the airport. The hotel sits less than five miles from Old Port, the historic downtown waterfront. Swim in the sunny indoor pool surrounded by two glass walls or check out local beaches, museums, ferry cruises or seafood restaurants serving fresh Maine lobster.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • Free 24-hour shuttle to airport, Amtrak and bus stations
  • Less than five miles from downtown Portland
  • Some pet-friendly rooms available

Rooms

Decor has a bit of a flashback feel at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland, but the guest room prices are hard to beat for the convenient Portland location. All rooms include basic amenities, including a coffee-maker with complimentary coffee, iron, full-sized ironing board, hair-dryer and AM/FM clock radio. Kick back with an expanded cable TV line-up that offers HBO and pay-per-view channels or hop online with free Wi-Fi. Home Office Rooms add a microwaves, fridge and complimentary welcome snacks. Business Class non-smoking rooms are subject to availability, as are pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

Groups are welcome and parking is free for vehicles of all sizes at the Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland. Winner of the Howard Johnson Presidents Award, the hotel sits at the intersection of I-95 and Route 1 Main Street in South Portland. A motor speedway, harness race track and sports events featuring Portland teas are all less than 10 miles away. On site, guests can exercise with cardio equipment in the fitness room.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, bus or train stations

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Portland Head Lighthouse (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.5 mi/16.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing services (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms equipped with free wireless Internet access seat up to 90 people

Policies and fees

  • Our guarantee policy requires a credit card guarantee.
  •  Pet Policy: Pets allowed only in pet-friendly rooms. Contact property for availability. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6201 -70.3052
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (105)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
105 out of 105
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Danielle N
Business
Upstate NY
Jan 4, 2012

Great for the price

Clean room, good location- close to Portland. Would recommend to other travelers. Pool was too cold to use, however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
wbrass
Business
Ellsworth, ME, USA
Dec 24, 2011

overnight

Nice stay. Our pets were welcome. The room was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
0999margarita
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Convenient

The hotel was fine. The lobby smelled like smoke. The pool was surprisingly nice. The heat was the only downside

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
maknap
Business
Hamburg, NY 14075, USA
Oct 21, 2011

Good value for the price

The hotel stay was ok. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was clean. The only problem, and it was a major problem, was the smell. The hotel must have been recently flooded, because our room on the first floor smelled horribly of mildew. We ended up having to buy febreeze, and that helped somewhat, but the smell was still there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shark
Business
Puerto Rico
Oct 18, 2011

Needs a better look

Rugs are old and full of spots, bathroom lights are too soft and is very hard to shave under this conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Fair price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 29, 2011

vacation

the rooms were clean but outdated, not complaining though price was very fair. overall no question we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

location is perfect 15 minutes from portland and 15 minutes from old orchard beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAtraveller
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

A fine weekend stay over

The place was clean and quiet, took care of all of our needs and there were NO surprises. Basic comfort at a reasonable price. The location is great since Portand is small, and on Sunday we were a few blocks from a great little famers' market for some quality produce and baked goods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Local sunday farmers' market (at least in September)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rebholla
Business
Hilliard, OH
Aug 22, 2011

Horrible - worst hotel I've ever stayed at - maybe good for smokers?

We stayed at this hotel only for 1 night, or more precicesly about 6 hours. We had a 6 a.m. flight so we checked out at 4 a.m. However, we wished we had not checked in and had slept at the airport - it would have been more comfortable. First, even though the hotel has a no smoking sign outside of the lobby, there were at least a dozen people smoking. This carried the smoke to the lobby and onto the elevators. The smoke smell from area and likely from the people was so think on the elevators I could hardly breath. The rooms were old. Carpets were heavily stained. The entire night I could hear every door that closed, rather slammed, and the plumbing was so loud I could hear the flushing and running of water next door. The soda machine dispensed Dr. Pepper instead of water twice in a row and the front desk didn't care. Upon check out they didn't even ask how our stay was. This hotel is not acceptable even for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sanico
Business
North Hills, NY, USA
Aug 17, 2011

HOWARD JOHNSON PORTLAND, MAINE -TERRIBLE!

I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. Asked for a non smoking room - the room was filled with the smell of smoke as well as the hallway. The carpeting in the room was stained, ripped and disgusting. The only clean thing in the room was the bed and we had no where else to go. We had to stay the night. The complimentary breakfast was in a small dirty room - there was a nice staff person trying to clean the mess created by unattended children. There was no place to sit much less eat. We left immediately. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson hotel again. Do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time or money staying at this hotel. Everything was terrible. If you are not a smoker - don't stay. The smell of tobacco was everywhere, obviously people smoked everywhere they wanteded to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Aug 8, 2011

Not bad

This hotel room was a little better than expected. The window did not open all the way and there was no fridge. We bought a small fan amd that really improved the circulation. The bed was VERY comfortable and the room was clean. A good home base for lots of activities in the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top