$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
102 reviews
Good accomadations

It's a good quality hotel in a very handy location to Portland - easily accessed on the highway. See full review

  • Uuliat
  • Aug 28, 2013
Convenient and nice

I booked this hotel for my son who was flying into Portland ME and needed an airport shuttle. His... See full review

  • Winterfox
  • Aug 1, 2014
Free airport shuttle five miles to the downtown waterfront scene

With so much to do in Portland, guests at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland prefer not to pay steep rates for a fancy room. Economical rates on basic lodging include continental breakfast and wireless Internet access. Guests can even take a free 24-hour shuttle to the airport. The hotel sits less than five miles from Old Port, the historic downtown waterfront. Swim in the sunny indoor pool surrounded by two glass walls or check out local beaches, museums, ferry cruises or seafood restaurants serving fresh Maine lobster.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • Free 24-hour shuttle to airport, Amtrak and bus stations
  • Less than five miles from downtown Portland
  • Some pet-friendly rooms available

Rooms

Decor has a bit of a flashback feel at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland, but the guest room prices are hard to beat for the convenient Portland location. All rooms include basic amenities, including a coffee-maker with complimentary coffee, iron, full-sized ironing board, hair-dryer and AM/FM clock radio. Kick back with an expanded cable TV line-up that offers HBO and pay-per-view channels or hop online with free Wi-Fi. Home Office Rooms add a microwaves, fridge and complimentary welcome snacks. Business Class non-smoking rooms are subject to availability, as are pet-friendly accommodations.

Features

Groups are welcome and parking is free for vehicles of all sizes at the Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland. Winner of the Howard Johnson Presidents Award, the hotel sits at the intersection of I-95 and Route 1 Main Street in South Portland. A motor speedway, harness race track and sports events featuring Portland teas are all less than 10 miles away. On site, guests can exercise with cardio equipment in the fitness room.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, bus or train stations

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Portland Head Lighthouse (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.5 mi/16.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing services (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms equipped with free wireless Internet access seat up to 90 people

Policies and fees

  • Our guarantee policy requires a credit card guarantee.
  •  Pet Policy: Pets allowed only in pet-friendly rooms. Contact property for availability. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6201 -70.3052
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (102)

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 102
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thomasha
Latham NY
Dec 12, 2012

no heat

The heater/cooler did not work. The room was cool but not cold from ambient house heat. Only one chair in the room at the desk. It was room 106.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KinMA
MA
Oct 23, 2012

Just what we needed

Very clean, not too far from downtown, friendly staff. We just needed the room for sleeping, so we were happy with HJ!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bemis Traveler
South Portland, ME
Oct 5, 2012

Lot of Noise

The physical aspects of the hotel were fine and the staff was excellent. The problem was the noise. This place is located on Rt 1 and there were trucks and cars whizzing by all night through. Two bigger noise problems were a group of young people were carrying on outside our room at 2 in the morning. They were outside but they made a lot of noise. Inside the hotel doors kept slamming on the floor we were staying. This went on until well past 2:30 in the morning. I don't know if business was being conducted or people just like to slam doors at these hours. Whatever the reason the combined noise made sleep very difficult. I don't think I would stay there again although the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
scottsinfl
fl
Oct 3, 2012

red eye flight

It was good and close to the airport with an on the spot shuttle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
super boater
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Sep 29, 2012

misrepresented

poor, orbiz room price turned out to be more than Howard Johnson quoted over the phone to public. I know because I had to sit in the lobby to access the wireless internet, that was supposed to be provided in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ny weekender
Massachusetts, USA
Jul 16, 2012

a place to crash

Not the choice for luxury, but definitely a comfortable and affordable option for a summer night in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Simple Simon's is a short walk for a much better (and cheap)breakfast to replace the not so good hotel breakfast.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Teresa C
Grafton, ma
Jul 15, 2012

Disappointed

My sister and I booked a night on the day. My sister had to change rooms twice! The a/c didn't work properly. The rooms were just average and in need of updating. My kids live in portland so I stay there a lot but would never book another reservation at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
4shawnie
Maryland
Jun 26, 2012

A great place to stay

Clean and comfortable. Kind staff. I had traveled a long way and the bed was big and comfortable. Also I had a small dog with me and it was not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is delivery from 2 nearby places, food was good.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
blackhorse
Portland Me
May 22, 2012

Got more than what i payed for,

First room had a dog next door and after bad experience at another hotel that caused me to stay at HoJos in the first place. I was not going to deal with a potential dog yapping and barking all night, when I told them the situation they gladly switched my room. For what I paid for the room it was very nice, Wished they left coffee available after 9:00 as when being out very late a good cup would have been refreshing but right outside are convieniance stores os not a big deal, I will stay there again, as I travel to Portland frequently

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't be afraid to get lost and find little out of the way place

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gills
Western MA
May 22, 2012

Good stay,wanted more!!

My girlfriend and I decided to go to Maine for a 3 day weekend. The hotel is right off the exit of 295 which was convenient. When we arrived we noticed that they were remodeling the lobby and and it looked like they were also doing the second floor.The staff was friendly as we were checked in. Our room was average (we had a king size bed) and it was a good size room. As we got into our room and looked around we noticed that there was not a fridge in the room which we were hoping for so we could store some drinks in the room.I decided to fill up the ice bucket from their ice machine which was no where near our room. South Portland was alright but looked a little rough.We decided to drive around and we ended up going to Old Orchard where there was a Pirates Cove mini golf. After we got to Pirates Cove we found out it was closed and they were doing some remodeling also. We were fine with that since there was a beach and some shops along with a pier nearby that looked like it could have some potential. After we parked and walked the streets for a while we decided to go since the crowd was a little too rough for our liking and we felt like we didn't fit in to well.Once we left decided that we would find place to eat but after we drove for about 45 minutes all we could find were chain restaurants like 99, wendys and McDonalds.We wanted something local that and somewhere we never been before.We didnt find anything around so we found a drive in theater and watched a movie.Our 1st night was a little sleepless since the doors did not go to the floor completely and left about and 1 1/2 inch to 2 inch gap and that let in a lot of light from the hallway. Also the doors close very loud as they slam close and that got very annoying throughout the night and early morning. The location of the hotel basically shared a parking lot with the Mobil station and there was another gas station across the street.In the area there were a lot of closed businesses and a ton of franchised restaurants and stores. We were hoping for more home grown restaurants and shops. Overall our stay was average but left us wanting more from the area and the hotel.If we had to we would go again but probably after their remodeling and not for a long length of time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search