$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
View map of 675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
main visitor
Couples
NJ
Oct 15, 2013

check out others hotels first

Check in was ok-no safety latch on room door though. Restaurant looked abandoned. Grounds were sketchy looking. Did not feel too safe staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
desert dogz
Single
Tucson
Sep 30, 2013

HOJO South Portland

For the price and location, a good selection. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was average. Close to all sites in the Portland area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol from NC
Couples
NC
Sep 25, 2013

Good price

Hotel was adequate for a short stay. Pool nice. Room was clean. Had to catch an early flight so didn't have the breakfast. Short drive to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FBBB
Couples
Portland, ME
Sep 10, 2013

Nothing special

Definitely some issues with the hotel - thin walls make it easy to hear other rooms. Delivery guys for the hotel showed up at 5:30 a.m. right outside our door and were quite loud opening doors for that early, and also it wasn't in the best part of town. However - a great price/value for the area, and a free shuttle to the airport! I'll take it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Uuliat
Family
Blue Hill, Maine
Aug 28, 2013

Good accomadations

It's a good quality hotel in a very handy location to Portland - easily accessed on the highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Hankel Family
Family
Massachusetts
Aug 19, 2013

Antiquated room

The room we had was very old. The old block style tv. Beds that were extremely uncomfortable and stained. The 2 sitting chairs had stains as well. We had the bottom floor, and all was quiet. Alot of smokers outside the hotel, so you could smell the smoke coming in the AC unit. Not a good deal at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thesmiths13
Couples
Maine
Aug 16, 2013

Great hotel for the price

Had a great over night at this hotel. Room was ckean and comfortable. Only minor complaint was the Ac had been left off so room was a bit warm on arrival. But cooled off fast. Staff was pleasant and answered all questions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nbeaupre
Couples
Warren, ME 04864
Aug 12, 2013

stay with girlfriend

This Howard Johnson Hotel is a very nice stay and very peaceful, We liked their indoor heated pool, and the location is great! The only drawback is paying $5 extra to have a fridge in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

There is plenty of entertainment, [day and Night time], that is only a short drive away from the Hotel

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LenAim
Couples
Marlborough, Connecticut
Jul 28, 2013

Overpriced

Location was good, room price was extremely overpriced based on the rooms, and grounds. However the staff was nice, the rooms were clean and the shower was really Hot, which is a plus for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Moving Pair
Business
Hartford CT
Jul 19, 2013

easy overnight

I had to stay overnight in Portland to catch an early am flight ... this hotel worked perfectly ... airport shuttle dropped me at the airport in plenty of time to make my flight. For my requirements this hotel and the staff were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top