$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 13, 2015 Check-out: Sep 14, 2015

Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

2 stars
View map of 675 Main Street I-95, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
104 reviews
Good value for the price

My husband and I booked this hotel last-minute on an impromptu side trip to Portland. I had never... See full review

  • Genie B.
  • Aug 26, 2015
Good location

This was a last minute getaway and we found that the location was perfect for a night in downtown... See full review

  • Wendy M.
  • Jun 6, 2015

With so much to do in Portland, guests at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland prefer not to pay steep rates for a fancy room. Economical rates on basic lodging include continental breakfast and wireless Internet access. Guests can even take a free 24-hour shuttle to the airport. The hotel sits less than five miles from Old Port, the historic downtown waterfront. Swim in the sunny indoor pool surrounded by two glass walls or check out local beaches, museums, ferry cruises or seafood restaurants serving fresh Maine lobster.

Rooms

Decor has a bit of a flashback feel at Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland, but the guest room prices are hard to beat for the convenient Portland location. All rooms include basic amenities, including a coffee-maker with complimentary coffee, iron, full-sized ironing board, hair-dryer and AM/FM clock radio. Kick back with an expanded cable TV line-up that offers HBO and pay-per-view channels or hop online with free Wi-Fi. Home Office Rooms add a microwaves, fridge and complimentary welcome snacks. Business Class non-smoking rooms are subject to availability, as are pet-friendly accommodations.

Property features

Groups are welcome and parking is free for vehicles of all sizes at the Howard Johnson Hotel - South Portland. Winner of the Howard Johnson Presidents Award, the hotel sits at the intersection of I-95 and Route 1 Main Street in South Portland. A motor speedway, harness race track and sports events featuring Portland teas are all less than 10 miles away. On site, guests can exercise with cardio equipment in the fitness room.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast and Wi-Fi
  • Indoor pool and fitness center
  • Free 24-hour shuttle to airport, Amtrak and bus stations
  • Less than five miles from downtown Portland
  • Some pet-friendly rooms available

Nearby attractions

  • Maine Mall (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (4.3 mi/7 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (4.6 mi/7.4 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (4.7 mi/7.6 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Portland Head Lighthouse (6 mi/9.7 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.3 mi/15 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.5 mi/16.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with printing services (fees apply)
  • Four meeting rooms equipped with free wireless Internet access seat up to 90 people

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3.6 mi/5.9 km)
  • Free shuttle to the airport, bus or train stations

Policies

  • Our guarantee policy requires a credit card guarantee.
  •  Pet Policy: Pets allowed only in pet-friendly rooms. Contact property for availability. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland also booked these hotels.

★★
$69
3.4 / 5 145 reviews
★★★
$82
3.6 / 5 147 reviews
★★★
$119
4.1 / 5 18 reviews
★★
$77
3.3 / 5 51 reviews
★★
$66
2.6 / 5 74 reviews
★★★
$129
3.3 / 5 31 reviews
★★★
$87
3.9 / 5 61 reviews
★★★
$135
3.5 / 5 129 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Conference facilities
Copy service
Overhead projector
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
104 out of 104
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
4shawnie
Family
Maryland
Jun 26, 2012

A great place to stay

Clean and comfortable. Kind staff. I had traveled a long way and the bed was big and comfortable. Also I had a small dog with me and it was not a problem.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There is delivery from 2 nearby places, food was good.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Genie B.
Couples
N/A
Aug 26, 2015

Good value for the price

My husband and I booked this hotel last-minute on an impromptu side trip to Portland. I had never been to the area before, and wasn't expecting the hotel to be so far from downtown Portland-- South Portland is really a suburb more than a part of the town. But compared to the pricey downtown Portland chains, the 10-15 minute drive was well worth it! The room was quiet, comfortable, appeared clean, with a great shower. Check-in was speedy and easy and the staff were friendly and professional. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone planning on hitting the bars in town, due to the drive, but it's otherwise a great spot- close enough to be convienient but far enough to be affordable!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wendy M.
Couples
N/A
Jun 6, 2015

Good location

This was a last minute getaway and we found that the location was perfect for a night in downtown Portland and then finding a spot to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

met our needs

We appreciated being able to leave our car for the duration of our trip abroad and being able to crash there when we returned. The room was spacious and comfortable, the staff helpful and pleasant and the breakfast very satisfying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dee..
Couples
West Gardiner
Mar 26, 2015

Flying in for the weekend

The hotel is fine and having the airport shuttle is awesome. A quick pickup and drop-off with pleasant driver.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Scottnsam
Family
N/A
Jan 15, 2015

Fun famI'll trip

Great room! Had a lot of fun and the hotel was very pretty. Will definitely stay here again when we go to Portland again. Thanks for great hospitality! !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rod Dr. Bagel
Family
Mechanicsburg. PA
Dec 2, 2014

Thanksgiving event

Flights were changed due to weather, and we were accommodated. Death in family, and we had to leave a day early, waiting for to a refund. Would recommend it to my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

close to airport and van service to and from. Close to shopping.

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Happy traveler
Couples
Peabody MA
Nov 18, 2014

Great hotel for our needs!

We had a wedding in Portland, we arrived early at the hotel and was allowed to go to our room. Very friendly staff, we had a room with a king bed it looked great when we arrived. Clean and neat. Continental breakfast was more than expected, from waffles to whatever, waitstaff asked if they could help when I was looking around, I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jim Mayo
Single
Montana
Sep 28, 2014

Ok place to stay

Plane was late due to the problems at O'Hare airport and had to stay in DC. HoJo's would not give a Break because we called after 4PM. Stayed there the next night and had to pay $50 more for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Town traveler
Couples
Rockville MD
Sep 22, 2014

Portland Howard Johnson

Staff was very accommodating by allowing early check-in. Room was very clean and bed was incredibly comfortable! Great location with a short drive to downtown! Would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Howard Johnson Hotel South Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dee..
Business
Augusta, ME
Sep 22, 2014

Good place to stay

Good place to stay. Reasonable price. Short driveable distance to the Maine Mall shopping area and many places to eat. Good place for a park and ride to the airport too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Maine Mall close by, lots of stores to shop in. Also many places to eat, not too far from airport either.

Back to menu Return to top