$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Last minute stop

It was nice the staff was very knowledgeable about the area and friendly the room was clean and comfy See full review

  • Steve the chef
  • Sep 18, 2014
Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun... See full review

  • Johanssen
  • Aug 14, 2013
Maine Mall location with bargain prices and pet-friendly rooms

A free shuttle included in low room rates takes guests to and from the Portland airport at Econo Lodge South Portland. Once at the hotel, enjoy free continental breakfast each morning or head next door to Maine Mall, the largest indoor shopping center in Maine, with plenty of stores and dining options. Within the surrounding miles, find beaches and state parks, amusement parks and water rides, museums, lighthouses or even a Portland Sea Dogs baseball game or Portland Pirates Hockey game.

Highlights

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle three miles to Portland airport
  • Next to Maine Mall, within walking distance of the shops


Rooms

Basic rooms keep prices low at Econo Lodge South Portland. Even with their simple appearances, each one includes a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron, ironing board and a work desk. Cable TVs offer pay-per-view movies for more in-room entertainment options. Local calls and wireless internet access are free to all guests at Econo Lodge South Portland. A refrigerator and microwave are available in some of the 54 rooms as well. Feel free to request a non-smoking room or to book pet-friendly accommodations (fees apply).

Features

Free continental breakfast at Econo Lodge South Portland includes a choice of cereals, muffins and other assorted breads, juice and coffee. Newspapers and coffee are free in the lobby at any time. For parents visiting students nearby, the hotel is less than nine miles to the University of Southern Maine. Be sure to take a coastal cruise or walk the cobblestone streets of Old Port, a working waterfront and a chic shopping, dining and entertainment district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (across the street)
  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Tate House Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (4.8 mi/7.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Sebago Lake State Park (15.8 mi/25.4 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Pet accommodation: $10 USD per night. Pet limit: One pet per room, 40 lbs or under.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Maine Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 45
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve the chef
Business
Boston MA
Sep 18, 2014

Last minute stop

It was nice the staff was very knowledgeable about the area and friendly the room was clean and comfy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anita D.
Business
Auburn, Maine
May 26, 2014

Lost money

My flight from Savannah to NY LaGuadia was cancelled due to storms in the NYC area so I was unable to leave Savannah and had to cancel my hotel stay at 7 p.m Thursday night. When I called the hotel to notify them, they apologized but said that they could not refund my room pre-payment. However the airline refunded the full price of the flights. Next time, I will only book the flight rather than opt for packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
senior student
Business
augusta maine
May 19, 2014

Good enough for just me

The hotel office staff was very nice. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean. Desk chair was stained so I put a bath towel over it before sitting on it. Removed bedspread. Didn't look overly clean but sheets & blanket were fine. Location was very nice. I will possibly stay here again as I have one weekend class a month in area for the next 8 months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sailor35
Business
Maine
Oct 16, 2013

Surprise

The airport taxi was good , but it came as a surprise when I had to pay $7 a day to leave my car in thier parling lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johanssen
Business
Conway, NH
Aug 14, 2013

Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun rises out beyond a field across from the parking lot...although this is in South Portland. I had a nice flatscreen tv in this unit and a great shower and a little fridge for food. I wanted it as a place to crash after spending the day over at Scarboro Beach which isn't too far of a drive away. Nice not to have to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Weathervane Restaurant is just around the corner. It is casual but nice dining. Lobsters and Lobster Rolls are available there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vanvan
Business
NY
Jul 9, 2013

Basic amenities, close to mall but having a car would be better

Although it is technically within walking distance to the mall, you have to walk across a road and large parking lots to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
destitute med student
Business
stockton, CA
Jan 10, 2011

Not too bad

For the price I paid it was fairly accommodating. Room was neat and had a pretty new space heater. I couldn't get reception for any tv channels other than the news, but I had internet so it wasn't too much of a problem. All in all, not too bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
itty bitty
Business
northern,maine
Jun 6, 2010

nice, quiet location

other guests were noisy but not hotel's fault, wish i'd had a fridge - other rooms did but not mine bed did sleep well and room was neat and clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waiting for refund in maine
Business
Swanville Maine
Apr 12, 2010

nice room, good location, bad billing

had the wrong information at check in(wrong card # and wrong address) was billed twice and still has not been credited back to my card which is holding up my money. was quiet, continental breakfast left alot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

directly across from maine mall if you like to shop

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
early flyer
Business
Portland, ME
Dec 25, 2009

Great value

Stayed overnight for early flight. Staff was very friendly, made coffee pre-breakfast just for me, prompt shuttle, only charged $5 per day for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the mall and everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top