$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Clean Rooms.

Location was not the best; but it is easy to find. Rooms are clean and roomy. Very good value for... See full review

  • WaynieV
  • May 7, 2013
Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun... See full review

  • Johanssen
  • Aug 14, 2013
Maine Mall location with bargain prices and pet-friendly rooms

A free shuttle included in low room rates takes guests to and from the Portland airport at Econo Lodge South Portland. Once at the hotel, enjoy free continental breakfast each morning or head next door to Maine Mall, the largest indoor shopping center in Maine, with plenty of stores and dining options. Within the surrounding miles, find beaches and state parks, amusement parks and water rides, museums, lighthouses or even a Portland Sea Dogs baseball game or Portland Pirates Hockey game.

Highlights

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle three miles to Portland airport
  • Next to Maine Mall, within walking distance of the shops


Rooms

Basic rooms keep prices low at Econo Lodge South Portland. Even with their simple appearances, each one includes a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron, ironing board and a work desk. Cable TVs offer pay-per-view movies for more in-room entertainment options. Local calls and wireless internet access are free to all guests at Econo Lodge South Portland. A refrigerator and microwave are available in some of the 54 rooms as well. Feel free to request a non-smoking room or to book pet-friendly accommodations (fees apply).

Features

Free continental breakfast at Econo Lodge South Portland includes a choice of cereals, muffins and other assorted breads, juice and coffee. Newspapers and coffee are free in the lobby at any time. For parents visiting students nearby, the hotel is less than nine miles to the University of Southern Maine. Be sure to take a coastal cruise or walk the cobblestone streets of Old Port, a working waterfront and a chic shopping, dining and entertainment district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (across the street)
  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Tate House Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (4.8 mi/7.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Sebago Lake State Park (15.8 mi/25.4 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Pet accommodation: $10 USD per night. Pet limit: One pet per room, 40 lbs or under.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6302 -70.3295
Nearby airports
Portland Int'l Jetport, (PWM), 2.00, MI, N; Boston Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 100.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-95 @ Exit 45

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Maine Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 66
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.3

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa J M
Waldoboro, Maine
Mar 23, 2013

Unhappy over unexpected room charge

We booked this hotel because it was inexpenisive, and we just needed a pit stop. When we entered the room, it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. There were burn marks on the rug, and scorch marks all over the bath area. The beds were clean, so we shrugged and figured you get what you pay for. However, several days later, we discovered they charged us $100 for "smoking in the room". We were upset. Called four times about the charge, and were blown off repeatedly. Finally, the manager refunded our money, but it took over two weeks to resolve this issue. Two thumbs down, people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MSKK
Maine
Dec 9, 2012

Perfect One Nighter

Not up to my princess wife's standards but she found no fault and had no complaints. We both agree that we would gladly return next time we need a one night stay to catch an early morning flight. Truely, an outstanding value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willevz
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

South Portland

First got a smoking room but that was an error because of orbitz. Bed was not comforfable at all thought I was going to fall off, Great view of JC Penny!!! if thats what you want to look at!!. But I guess you get what you pay for!!! Had to go back to front desk to ask for wifi code. Guess it was ok 2 out of 5

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Willevz
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 10, 2011

South Portland

First got a smoking room but that was an error because of orbitz. Bed was not comforfable at all thought I was going to fall off, Great view of JC Penny!!! if thats what you want to look at!!. But I guess you get what you pay for!!! Had to go back to front desk to ask for wifi code. Guess it was ok 2 out of 5

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PopMimi
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2011

What a Dump!

The first room we were given had a bullit hole in the front window, missing furniture(no chairs), no glasses. Staff was clueless where the missing were and offered a second "non smoking room" that smelt like an ashtray. Third room was OK & clean and complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Weathervane was a quick good seafood restaurant

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PopMimi
Washington DC
Aug 1, 2011

What a Dump!

The first room we were given had a bullit hole in the front window, missing furniture(no chairs), no glasses. Staff was clueless where the missing were and offered a second "non smoking room" that smelt like an ashtray. Third room was OK & clean and complete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Weathervane was a quick good seafood restaurant

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, me
Feb 16, 2011

The really ugly

Worst experience in a motel ever. It was about 15 degrees when you walk in. We went to turn on the t.v. And it didn't work. We called the front desk and it took them over an hour to switch our room, and we are the ones that had to ask. Once in the new room it was once again 15 degrees and smelled like smoke. It was 11pm by the time we got settled, we checked in at 8:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, me
Feb 16, 2011

The really ugly

Worst experience in a motel ever. It was about 15 degrees when you walk in. We went to turn on the t.v. And it didn't work. We called the front desk and it took them over an hour to switch our room, and we are the ones that had to ask. Once in the new room it was once again 15 degrees and smelled like smoke. It was 11pm by the time we got settled, we checked in at 8:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mid-Missouri
Oct 12, 2010

Almost perfect for a weary traveler

Front desk personnel were young but knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. The hotel was close to the airport and really close to the Maine Mall and lots of dining options. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The only knock was the poor selection for breakfast and the undrinkable coffee. Had to go to McD's for breakfast! But it was close!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mid-Missouri
Oct 12, 2010

Almost perfect for a weary traveler

Front desk personnel were young but knowledgeable, helpful, and friendly. The hotel was close to the airport and really close to the Maine Mall and lots of dining options. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The only knock was the poor selection for breakfast and the undrinkable coffee. Had to go to McD's for breakfast! But it was close!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top