$54 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
45 reviews
Last minute stop

It was nice the staff was very knowledgeable about the area and friendly the room was clean and comfy See full review

  • Steve the chef
  • Sep 18, 2014
Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun... See full review

  • Johanssen
  • Aug 14, 2013
Maine Mall location with bargain prices and pet-friendly rooms

A free shuttle included in low room rates takes guests to and from the Portland airport at Econo Lodge South Portland. Once at the hotel, enjoy free continental breakfast each morning or head next door to Maine Mall, the largest indoor shopping center in Maine, with plenty of stores and dining options. Within the surrounding miles, find beaches and state parks, amusement parks and water rides, museums, lighthouses or even a Portland Sea Dogs baseball game or Portland Pirates Hockey game.

Highlights

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle three miles to Portland airport
  • Next to Maine Mall, within walking distance of the shops


Rooms

Basic rooms keep prices low at Econo Lodge South Portland. Even with their simple appearances, each one includes a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron, ironing board and a work desk. Cable TVs offer pay-per-view movies for more in-room entertainment options. Local calls and wireless internet access are free to all guests at Econo Lodge South Portland. A refrigerator and microwave are available in some of the 54 rooms as well. Feel free to request a non-smoking room or to book pet-friendly accommodations (fees apply).

Features

Free continental breakfast at Econo Lodge South Portland includes a choice of cereals, muffins and other assorted breads, juice and coffee. Newspapers and coffee are free in the lobby at any time. For parents visiting students nearby, the hotel is less than nine miles to the University of Southern Maine. Be sure to take a coastal cruise or walk the cobblestone streets of Old Port, a working waterfront and a chic shopping, dining and entertainment district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (across the street)
  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Tate House Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (4.8 mi/7.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Sebago Lake State Park (15.8 mi/25.4 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Pet accommodation: $10 USD per night. Pet limit: One pet per room, 40 lbs or under.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Maine Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (45)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa J M
Business
Waldoboro, Maine
Mar 23, 2013

Unhappy over unexpected room charge

We booked this hotel because it was inexpenisive, and we just needed a pit stop. When we entered the room, it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. There were burn marks on the rug, and scorch marks all over the bath area. The beds were clean, so we shrugged and figured you get what you pay for. However, several days later, we discovered they charged us $100 for "smoking in the room". We were upset. Called four times about the charge, and were blown off repeatedly. Finally, the manager refunded our money, but it took over two weeks to resolve this issue. Two thumbs down, people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mainebear
Business
Maine
Feb 8, 2010

Great Location, Cheap but dirty

This hotel is very close to the mall and other shopping. It is only about 3 miles from Scarborough Downs for great harness racing and Off Track Betting with all popular tracks being simulcast. A great evening out. Also 4 miles from Cabelas sporting goods store. The rooms are only $50.00 per night. Dirty, flush plugged, We ended up fixing it ourselves! Cheap but not for the discriminating traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Unos by the South Portland mall is a great value. Great food and an exceptionally friendly and competent staff. A must try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Deceived and DIsappointed
Business
Connecticut
Oct 9, 2010

Awful, a rip off

We were charged $150 for a hotel worth at most half that. Granted, it was a holiday weekend, but the accommodations were dreadful. The [...] photos were of ANOTHER Econolodge, not this one!! This place reminded me of a 1970s retreat center that has not been updated in 40 years. When we arrived we had to phone the receptionist in order for her to get to the reception desk! We requested a smoke-free room; our room reeked of stale smoke. Fortunately, they accommodated us with a different room. The rooms are small, with outdated furniture and beds. THe HVAC unit woke us up every time it came on during the night. The toilet seat was old with chipped paint all around the rim. The faucet leaked and dripped all night. Bottom line, I've stayed at many hotels in my life, this ranks close to the bottom. It's plain awful! Econolodge ought to be embarrassed having its name associated with this place, and for them to charge $150+ is simply outrageous. Don't even update the decor; burn the place down!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Sep 27, 2009

Watch Out!

After returning from the trip, found the hotel had charged $1.61 on credit card, appears that you will be charged for possible phone use, unless at checkout you tell the front desk not to charge you, great "hidden" fee. As we left the hotel at 3 in morning to continue our travels, who would normally think to check with the front desk for possible unknown fees. Between the dirty room and this fee, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, me
Feb 16, 2011

The really ugly

Worst experience in a motel ever. It was about 15 degrees when you walk in. We went to turn on the t.v. And it didn't work. We called the front desk and it took them over an hour to switch our room, and we are the ones that had to ask. Once in the new room it was once again 15 degrees and smelled like smoke. It was 11pm by the time we got settled, we checked in at 8:30.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Two friends and a child
Business
Maine
Dec 30, 2012

It was Ok

The room smelled like old cigarettes. ( Even though it was a smoke-free room) The heating system really needs to be updated. We had it set to 70 degrees. When the heating system would kick on ( which seemed like every 10 minutes) it would blow cold air for 5 minutes then blow hot air. It also sounded like an airplane taking off. Needless to say, we did not get much sleep!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rikkasdad
Business
Minnesota
Jun 4, 2013

Better than it looks

The exterior is marked by weeds and junk in the parking lot, but our room was clean, neat and comfortable. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sailor35
Business
Maine
Oct 16, 2013

Surprise

The airport taxi was good , but it came as a surprise when I had to pay $7 a day to leave my car in thier parling lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NPalmer
Business
maine
May 5, 2014

econo lodge

Certainly a no thrills type of place, if your just looking for a place to crash it fills that need,the thing that it does have going for it ,is its close to the maine mall and just about anything you could possibly want, we stayed the sat night to sun. morning it was nice and quiet !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Any thing you could possibly need

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wedding weekend bargain hunter
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 5, 2009

Clean but dated

We picked the hotel for the price only. Very clean, but the rooms are really dated and in need of some updates/repairs. It is also tucked behind the mall, so it is a little tricky to locate at first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top