$69 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
View map of 80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
53 reviews
Awesome

I stayed here and my room was nice. I had a good sleep. It is right beside the Maine Mall. Great... See full review

  • Johanssen
  • Mar 16, 2015
Great place for the money.

I had a comfortable night sleep here. Great t.v. The Mall is very close for shopping. See full review

  • Johanssen
  • Mar 10, 2015
Maine Mall location with bargain prices and pet-friendly rooms

A free shuttle included in low room rates takes guests to and from the Portland airport at Econo Lodge South Portland. Once at the hotel, enjoy free continental breakfast each morning or head next door to Maine Mall, the largest indoor shopping center in Maine, with plenty of stores and dining options. Within the surrounding miles, find beaches and state parks, amusement parks and water rides, museums, lighthouses or even a Portland Sea Dogs baseball game or Portland Pirates Hockey game.

Highlights

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle three miles to Portland airport
  • Next to Maine Mall, within walking distance of the shops


Rooms

Basic rooms keep prices low at Econo Lodge South Portland. Even with their simple appearances, each one includes a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron, ironing board and a work desk. Cable TVs offer pay-per-view movies for more in-room entertainment options. Local calls and wireless internet access are free to all guests at Econo Lodge South Portland. A refrigerator and microwave are available in some of the 54 rooms as well. Feel free to request a non-smoking room or to book pet-friendly accommodations (fees apply).

Features

Free continental breakfast at Econo Lodge South Portland includes a choice of cereals, muffins and other assorted breads, juice and coffee. Newspapers and coffee are free in the lobby at any time. For parents visiting students nearby, the hotel is less than nine miles to the University of Southern Maine. Be sure to take a coastal cruise or walk the cobblestone streets of Old Port, a working waterfront and a chic shopping, dining and entertainment district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (across the street)
  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Tate House Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (4.8 mi/7.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Sebago Lake State Park (15.8 mi/25.4 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Pet accommodation: $10 USD per night. Pet limit: One pet per room, 40 lbs or under.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Maine Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WaynieV
Business
NY Metro
May 7, 2013

Clean Rooms.

Location was not the best; but it is easy to find. Rooms are clean and roomy. Very good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seabrook, NH
Jun 15, 2010

Everything was perfect

Very convient to airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 26, 2007

Great Value

The staff and ownership are some of the nicest people you could meet. They make you feel welcome and important. The rooms a large and comfortale and it is a great value for the rate we paid. The location is excellent right next to the Maine Mall with plenty of dining options within walking distance. We have stayed here athree times now and will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 19, 2007

Receptionist

The female staff member assisted us in several ways. She made it easy for us to say we would stay there again. The room was clean and fit our needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Light Houses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bangor
Sep 16, 2008

Good value and access to airport

The South Portland Econo Lodge is a great value hotel very close to the airport, making it easy to catch those early morning flights without putting a huge dent in your wallet. Most of the rooms have been recently refurbished and have all the basics you need. The breakfast offered is minimal, but gives you enough to grab and go out the door with something in your stomach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to the Maine Mall and many choices of fast food and budget sit-down dining available within a short radius from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cumberland, RI
Aug 5, 2008

Very family friendly

staff was very helpful and accommodating

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johanssen
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great place for the money.

I had a comfortable night sleep here. Great t.v. The Mall is very close for shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Johanssen
Business
N/A
Mar 16, 2015

Awesome

I stayed here and my room was nice. I had a good sleep. It is right beside the Maine Mall. Great location for shopping and restaurants. Not too far away from Portland or beaches. No swimming pool. Staff is very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Sarasota/Bradenton, FL
Jun 25, 2007

Very Helpful; Delightfully Quiet!

The Econo Lodge staff was very helpful in giving directions and friendly service. The hotel and grounds were clean and the location was VERY quiet - this especially surprised me since the location is behind the Maine Mall. However, with the rural seeming setting surrounded by white pine trees, there was no sense of being in the city - even though I could quickly have walked to J.C. Penney's! The room seemed large and included a table and chairs to sit at. The bathroom was separate from the vanity - always a plus! I was pleased that the towels were thick. Although most rooms have in-room coffee, etc., mine did not - next time I stay here, I'll make sure I ask for a room with more amenities. I always select motels with outdoor access from the room - this Econo Lodge met that criteria. Next time I do an overnight in South Portland, I'll definitely stay here - this was excellent value at a very fair price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
early flyer
Business
Portland, ME
Dec 25, 2009

Great value

Stayed overnight for early flight. Staff was very friendly, made coffee pre-breakfast just for me, prompt shuttle, only charged $5 per day for parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Near the mall and everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top