$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
View map of 80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.5

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
waiting for refund in maine
Business
Swanville Maine
Apr 12, 2010

nice room, good location, bad billing

had the wrong information at check in(wrong card # and wrong address) was billed twice and still has not been credited back to my card which is holding up my money. was quiet, continental breakfast left alot to be desired.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

directly across from maine mall if you like to shop

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2010

Portland visit

Close to airport and interstates, clean, but toilet would not flush properly the second night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mainebear
Business
Maine
Feb 8, 2010

Great Location, Cheap but dirty

This hotel is very close to the mall and other shopping. It is only about 3 miles from Scarborough Downs for great harness racing and Off Track Betting with all popular tracks being simulcast. A great evening out. Also 4 miles from Cabelas sporting goods store. The rooms are only $50.00 per night. Dirty, flush plugged, We ended up fixing it ourselves! Cheap but not for the discriminating traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Unos by the South Portland mall is a great value. Great food and an exceptionally friendly and competent staff. A must try.

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wedding weekend bargain hunter
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 5, 2009

Clean but dated

We picked the hotel for the price only. Very clean, but the rooms are really dated and in need of some updates/repairs. It is also tucked behind the mall, so it is a little tricky to locate at first.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oregon
Sep 27, 2009

Watch Out!

After returning from the trip, found the hotel had charged $1.61 on credit card, appears that you will be charged for possible phone use, unless at checkout you tell the front desk not to charge you, great "hidden" fee. As we left the hotel at 3 in morning to continue our travels, who would normally think to check with the front desk for possible unknown fees. Between the dirty room and this fee, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Sep 15, 2009

Short stay

good value for your money. Basic but had everything you needed. This is our second time staying there on our trips to Portland. Will stay next time too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shopping guru
Business
portland, maine
Sep 6, 2009

Decent enough

this inexpensive motel was just what we expected good value for a quick trip to the city for a day of shopping and a night out on the town clean room to sleep in a a decent continental breakfast there was a minor problem with the tv which the management promptly fixed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Enfield Ct.
Aug 11, 2009

" what I think"

It was ok. Nothing special.It was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bethel
Jan 4, 2009

Good value

This motel is perfect if you're just spending a night and flying out or heading on the next day. Everything is fine and clean and very safe; not luxury, but a good value. Beds were very comfortable, room clean, staff personable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Right behind a shopping mall, good selection of places to eat....not in downtown Portland, but very convenient to airport.

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jan 3, 2009

Okay

Very polite staff, and I appreciate their taking the effort to locate the owner of the cell phone (us). Room/bedding was dusty. Heating system was dusty and touchy. Nice continental breakfast in lobby. Staff returned lost cell phone, which was much appreciated. Pretty much what I expected for the price, but would have liked to have been surprised a little. Would recommend for a no-frills crash pad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The mall is a long walk / short drive away; Portland and South Portland are 15 minutes away. Very central location.

Back to menu Return to top