$79 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 7, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
View map of 80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.7

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anita D.
Business
Auburn, Maine
May 26, 2014

Lost money

My flight from Savannah to NY LaGuadia was cancelled due to storms in the NYC area so I was unable to leave Savannah and had to cancel my hotel stay at 7 p.m Thursday night. When I called the hotel to notify them, they apologized but said that they could not refund my room pre-payment. However the airline refunded the full price of the flights. Next time, I will only book the flight rather than opt for packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
senior student
Business
augusta maine
May 19, 2014

Good enough for just me

The hotel office staff was very nice. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean. Desk chair was stained so I put a bath towel over it before sitting on it. Removed bedspread. Didn't look overly clean but sheets & blanket were fine. Location was very nice. I will possibly stay here again as I have one weekend class a month in area for the next 8 months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NPalmer
Business
maine
May 5, 2014

econo lodge

Certainly a no thrills type of place, if your just looking for a place to crash it fills that need,the thing that it does have going for it ,is its close to the maine mall and just about anything you could possibly want, we stayed the sat night to sun. morning it was nice and quiet !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Any thing you could possibly need

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Dreamergirl
Business
Boston, MA
May 4, 2014

BASIC BUT CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE

I needed to be in Portland for one night and knew I would not be in the room except to sleep so I decided to go low cost. My room was clean and comfortable. There was a coffee maker, fridge, microwave, iron and safe, non of which I used but handy to have them. The folks who checked me in and out were friendly and efficient. For this kind of stay, I would book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sailor35
Business
Maine
Oct 16, 2013

Surprise

The airport taxi was good , but it came as a surprise when I had to pay $7 a day to leave my car in thier parling lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johanssen
Business
Conway, NH
Aug 14, 2013

Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun rises out beyond a field across from the parking lot...although this is in South Portland. I had a nice flatscreen tv in this unit and a great shower and a little fridge for food. I wanted it as a place to crash after spending the day over at Scarboro Beach which isn't too far of a drive away. Nice not to have to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Weathervane Restaurant is just around the corner. It is casual but nice dining. Lobsters and Lobster Rolls are available there.

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vanvan
Business
NY
Jul 9, 2013

Basic amenities, close to mall but having a car would be better

Although it is technically within walking distance to the mall, you have to walk across a road and large parking lots to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rikkasdad
Business
Minnesota
Jun 4, 2013

Better than it looks

The exterior is marked by weeds and junk in the parking lot, but our room was clean, neat and comfortable. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WaynieV
Business
NY Metro
May 7, 2013

Clean Rooms.

Location was not the best; but it is easy to find. Rooms are clean and roomy. Very good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa J M
Business
Waldoboro, Maine
Mar 23, 2013

Unhappy over unexpected room charge

We booked this hotel because it was inexpenisive, and we just needed a pit stop. When we entered the room, it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. There were burn marks on the rug, and scorch marks all over the bath area. The beds were clean, so we shrugged and figured you get what you pay for. However, several days later, we discovered they charged us $100 for "smoking in the room". We were upset. Called four times about the charge, and were blown off repeatedly. Finally, the manager refunded our money, but it took over two weeks to resolve this issue. Two thumbs down, people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top