$119 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Econo Lodge Maine Mall

2 stars
80 John Roberts Road, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
66 reviews
Clean Rooms.

Location was not the best; but it is easy to find. Rooms are clean and roomy. Very good value for... See full review

  • WaynieV
  • May 7, 2013
Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun... See full review

  • Johanssen
  • Aug 14, 2013
Maine Mall location with bargain prices and pet-friendly rooms

A free shuttle included in low room rates takes guests to and from the Portland airport at Econo Lodge South Portland. Once at the hotel, enjoy free continental breakfast each morning or head next door to Maine Mall, the largest indoor shopping center in Maine, with plenty of stores and dining options. Within the surrounding miles, find beaches and state parks, amusement parks and water rides, museums, lighthouses or even a Portland Sea Dogs baseball game or Portland Pirates Hockey game.

Highlights

  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Pet-friendly rooms available (fees apply)
  • Free shuttle three miles to Portland airport
  • Next to Maine Mall, within walking distance of the shops


Rooms

Basic rooms keep prices low at Econo Lodge South Portland. Even with their simple appearances, each one includes a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron, ironing board and a work desk. Cable TVs offer pay-per-view movies for more in-room entertainment options. Local calls and wireless internet access are free to all guests at Econo Lodge South Portland. A refrigerator and microwave are available in some of the 54 rooms as well. Feel free to request a non-smoking room or to book pet-friendly accommodations (fees apply).

Features

Free continental breakfast at Econo Lodge South Portland includes a choice of cereals, muffins and other assorted breads, juice and coffee. Newspapers and coffee are free in the lobby at any time. For parents visiting students nearby, the hotel is less than nine miles to the University of Southern Maine. Be sure to take a coastal cruise or walk the cobblestone streets of Old Port, a working waterfront and a chic shopping, dining and entertainment district. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.7 mi/4.3 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (across the street)
  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (1.4 mi/2.2 km)
  • Tate House Museum (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Beech Ridge Motor Speedway (3.5 mi/5.7 km)
  • Scarborough Downs Harness Race Track (4.8 mi/7.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.4 mi/15.1 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.6 mi/17 km)
  • Sebago Lake State Park (15.8 mi/25.4 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Policies and fees

Pet accommodation: $10 USD per night. Pet limit: One pet per room, 40 lbs or under.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Laundry service
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Outdoor parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Econo Lodge Maine Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

43.6302 -70.3295
Nearby airports
Portland Int'l Jetport, (PWM), 2.00, MI, N; Boston Logan Intl Airport, (BOS), 100.00, MI, SW;
Area description
City Center, I-95 @ Exit 45

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (66)

Ratings and reviews for Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
66 out of 66
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

62% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seabrook, NH
Jun 15, 2010

Everything was perfect

Very convient to airport

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anita D.
Auburn, Maine
May 26, 2014

Lost money

My flight from Savannah to NY LaGuadia was cancelled due to storms in the NYC area so I was unable to leave Savannah and had to cancel my hotel stay at 7 p.m Thursday night. When I called the hotel to notify them, they apologized but said that they could not refund my room pre-payment. However the airline refunded the full price of the flights. Next time, I will only book the flight rather than opt for packages.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
senior student
augusta maine
May 19, 2014

Good enough for just me

The hotel office staff was very nice. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean. Desk chair was stained so I put a bath towel over it before sitting on it. Removed bedspread. Didn't look overly clean but sheets & blanket were fine. Location was very nice. I will possibly stay here again as I have one weekend class a month in area for the next 8 months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NPalmer
maine
May 5, 2014

econo lodge

Certainly a no thrills type of place, if your just looking for a place to crash it fills that need,the thing that it does have going for it ,is its close to the maine mall and just about anything you could possibly want, we stayed the sat night to sun. morning it was nice and quiet !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Any thing you could possibly need

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling Dreamergirl
Boston, MA
May 4, 2014

BASIC BUT CLEAN AND COMFORTABLE

I needed to be in Portland for one night and knew I would not be in the room except to sleep so I decided to go low cost. My room was clean and comfortable. There was a coffee maker, fridge, microwave, iron and safe, non of which I used but handy to have them. The folks who checked me in and out were friendly and efficient. For this kind of stay, I would book here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sailor35
Maine
Oct 16, 2013

Surprise

The airport taxi was good , but it came as a surprise when I had to pay $7 a day to leave my car in thier parling lot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johanssen
Conway, NH
Aug 14, 2013

Great getaway

I had a really nice stay. My room was upstairs and it was very nice and in the morning the sun rises out beyond a field across from the parking lot...although this is in South Portland. I had a nice flatscreen tv in this unit and a great shower and a little fridge for food. I wanted it as a place to crash after spending the day over at Scarboro Beach which isn't too far of a drive away. Nice not to have to drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Weathervane Restaurant is just around the corner. It is casual but nice dining. Lobsters and Lobster Rolls are available there.

Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vanvan
NY
Jul 9, 2013

Basic amenities, close to mall but having a car would be better

Although it is technically within walking distance to the mall, you have to walk across a road and large parking lots to get there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rikkasdad
Minnesota
Jun 4, 2013

Better than it looks

The exterior is marked by weeds and junk in the parking lot, but our room was clean, neat and comfortable. Continental breakfast was pretty sparse.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
WaynieV
NY Metro
May 7, 2013

Clean Rooms.

Location was not the best; but it is easy to find. Rooms are clean and roomy. Very good value for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Econo Lodge Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lisa J M
Waldoboro, Maine
Mar 23, 2013

Unhappy over unexpected room charge

We booked this hotel because it was inexpenisive, and we just needed a pit stop. When we entered the room, it smelled strongly of cigarette smoke. There were burn marks on the rug, and scorch marks all over the bath area. The beds were clean, so we shrugged and figured you get what you pay for. However, several days later, we discovered they charged us $100 for "smoking in the room". We were upset. Called four times about the charge, and were blown off repeatedly. Finally, the manager refunded our money, but it took over two weeks to resolve this issue. Two thumbs down, people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top