$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 9, 2014 Check-out: Sep 12, 2014

Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

2 stars
461 Maine Mall Road I 95, South Portland, ME 04106
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
139 reviews
Fine for a quick stay

We needed a last minute bed near the Portland airport - this was the least expensive so we booked a... See full review

  • SwampQueen
  • Aug 13, 2014
Perfect value

Location, cleanliness and breakfast are really good. If you're looking for a cheap motel but still... See full review

  • Mari F.
  • May 25, 2014
Swim or soak in the hot tub after a day of shopping at Maine Mall

The little, yellow, two-story hotel off I-95 is a beacon of low prices at the Days Inn South Portland Airport. The hotel sits 10 minutes from downtown Portland and the rugged Maine coast, where guests can see lighthouses, seals and islands reachable by ferry. Before heading out, enjoy a free breakfast buffet served in a spacious dining area or swing by the pool and whirlpool. Take a free shuttle to the airport after a shopping trip at adjacent Maine Mall.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast buffet with fresh fruit plus free coffee in the lobby
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center
  • Next to the Maine Mall and Chili's Restaurant
  • Two miles to the airport with a free shuttle

Rooms

Simple rooms ensure guests have all the basics at Days Inn South Portland Airport. Modern touches include complimentary wireless Internet access, electronic door locks, voicemail and in-room coffee-makers. Sit down to catch up on work at the large work desk with data ports, watch favorite programs on cable TV or read the free weekday newspaper. Rooms also feature an iron and ironing board, hair-dryer, alarm clock, curved shower rod, toiletries and an in-room safe. Ask about pet-friendly rooms at Days Inn South Portland Airport (fees apply). 

Features

Winner of the Chairman's Award Property, Days Inn South Portland Airport offers affordable, clean Portland hotel rooms off I-95, near the intersection of I-295. Shop on over to the Maine Mall right next door to discover more than 150 shops and restaurants throughout the center. Golf courses and sightseeing cruises are minutes away as are family-friendly state parks and water parks.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Greater Portland METRO bus stops in front of Maine Mall

Attractions

  • Maine Mall (across the street)
  • Sable Oaks Golf Club (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Portland Museum of Art (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (5.6 mi/8.9 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (5.7 mi/9.2 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (6.1 mi/9.8 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (9.1 mi/14.6 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (10.2 mi/16.4 km)
  • Two Lights State Park (12.5 mi/20.2 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax and copy services available (fees apply)
  • Two meeting rooms to seat up to 50 people

Policies and fees

  • We only have a certain number of designated pet friendly rooms, so please call in advance to check availability and reserve your pet room.
  • Pet policy: There is a $50 USD deposit per dog required for all guests with dogs. Each pet (dogs only) will be $10 USD plus tax. Max 2 dogs per room. Pet rules are available and will be provided to our guests with pets at check-in. Pets (dogs only) must be 50 pounds or less. Pet rules. Dogs must be on a leash at all times outside of the room. Dogs are not allowed in common areas (lobby, pool, restaurant) or other guest rooms. Please use your rear entrance only to escort your dog in and downstairs to the available pet room provided. Please walk your dog on grassy areas and pick up after your dog. Please be considerate of all other guests. Pets are never allowed in an unattended room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

43.6324 -70.3395
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
ATM/Cash machine
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (139)

Ratings and reviews for Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
139 out of 139
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jessica Apricot
Deer Isle Maine
May 21, 2012

Days Inn

I was very upset to get to this hotel and find that my room smelled awful, hairs in the tub that were not mine, and a hot tub the hotel promised taken out. I would think twice. I went to point these things out and they said "That's too bad" and did nothing to make the situation right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disilusioned Traveler
Business
Maine
Jun 8, 2012

Disillusioned traveler

Days South Portland had musty/mold smell with urine stench in bathroom. Felt like little crwaly things inside covers. Will not return to this hotel and have sent in BBB statement to these facts. I also will be sending a direct letter to the hotel manangement stating just what I wrote here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

For a very convenient hotel, it should be better quality. Definitely NOT worth over $80 a night.

Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lyndsayc
Cabot vt
Jul 9, 2013

Not so great

Beds were comfy, but it looked like there was blood on the ceiling and the the staff member I talked to barely spoke English. It was cheap, but the room wasnt the nicest n it was sloppily put together. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, the free breakfast wasn't bad, but we still went out to eat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tiptop1
Business
corvallis montana
Aug 31, 2013

work

was upset do to the fact there was no freezer in the rooms for the 500.00$ worth of lobster we purchased to bring home we travel a lot and will make sure that the next room will have one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Maine
Aug 4, 2011

Once is enough

This particular Day's Inn is basically used as a hostel for visitors to Portland, Freeport, and the surrounding tourist areas. The room was in dire need of repairs. Ancient air conditioner rattled all night, bathroom had mold, tub spout missing the back ring piece, rugs were dirty along the moldings, light in bathroom just enough to see your shadow, bathroom fan was at its minimum speed so steam built up into room, luggage carts barely usable and falling apart. To spend that kind of money in this day's economy and stay for less than 12 hours in that kind of room is not acceptable any more. The proprietors of this hotel/motel should come visit once in a while and stay in their own rooms...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Belfast, ME
Jan 31, 2011

WORST HOTEL I EVER STAYED IN

I vowed never to stay at this hotel again after the bad experiences last year; over several stays, they checked me into an occupied room, they put me in the wrong class room, the refigerator didn't work, no hot water in the morning, uncaring staff. This time they charged me a $26 'upgrade charge' to stay in the same prepaid room a third day when the hotel was nearly empty. The desk clerk was very rude. The manager could have cared less. This place is bad news.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Carrie from Charlotte
Charlotte NC
Nov 6, 2009

Carrie's Days Inn

I was disappointed with the room and the response from the staff when I mentioned the smell and the uncleanliness of the room. I felt the room should have been aired out and cleaned and the smell of smoke was over powering, we had to sleep with a window open all night, all of our clothes and the bedding smelled of stale smoke. I would not recommend a stay here, we had always stayed at Days Inn and assumed it would be nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Better directions to the Jet Port would be helpful

Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland, Maine
Oct 20, 2009

Never Stay at Days Inn in Portland Maine

[...] Woke up in the morning at 3:00am to take a shower, there was no COLD water, everything was scolding hot. We had cold water the night before but not in the morning. I called the front desk and was told "yeah, we have had problems in this wing" I was given another key to go to another room, on the other side of the hotel, to take a shower. Mind you I paid $20 more to have a room that "smelled" good. Apparently if I wanted cold water it would cost another $20. Horrible experience and will NEVER use Days Inn again and I will tell all my friends and family as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terrible customer service
Phoenix, AZ
Sep 12, 2009

Horrible Experience

I never made it to the hotel because of mechanical problaems with the aircraft. When I tried to cancel the hotel, I received no help from either Orbitz or from the hotel staff. I can understand the policy of no cancellations if it were my choice, by when I have no control over the circumstances, I it uncontionable that an exception cannot be made. It is the last time I will ever use Orbitz for anything. Jim Grubb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Days Inn Airport/Maine Mall

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
yoyo and kids
Texas
Jan 24, 2014

Perfect hotel before catching a super early flight

You can't beat the location. Close to the airport, restaurants, gas station and across the street from the mall!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search