$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Portland Travelodge

2 stars
1200 Brighton Ave, Portland, ME 04102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
78 reviews
great basic no frills hotel

When I saw the outside of the hotel, I nearly left as it looked so plain and lifeless. I'm glad I... See full review

  • Novus
  • Oct 7, 2014
Portland Travelodge

My stay at this hotel was fine. I ate at the Ruby Tuesdays across the street at the large Pine Tree... See full review

  • malorick
  • Aug 8, 2013
Family hotel with low rates, summer swimming and free breakfast

Travelodge has long been known as a family-friendly chain with affordable room rates, and Portland Travelodge fits that bill. Some rooms even retain the Sleepy Bear Den motif that gives kids a big smile with bear-print bedspreads, artwork, lampshades, drapes, pint-sized chair and a VCR for family flicks, available at the front desk. All ages find the free continental breakfast each morning a fine way to start the day. Most popular attractions are less than five miles from the hotel, including the arts district and historic downtown waterfront.

Highlights

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Seasonal outdoor swimming pool with sundeck
  • Three miles from Portland Airport
  • Minutes to downtown arts and historic districts

Rooms

Simple and basic, budget-savvy rooms at Portland Travelodge include complimentary wireless Internet access, a coffee-maker and a cable television with HBO, CNN and ESPN. Local calls are free and guests can request a non-smoking room. Upgrade to Business-Class accommodations to ensure in-room use of an iron and ironing board, mini refrigerator and a two-line phone. 

Features

On summer vacation, families appreciate the outdoor swimming pool at Portland Travelodge. With easy access from I-95, the hotel offers free car, truck and bus parking and a safe deposit box at the front desk. Drive less than three miles to reach the University of Southern Maine campus. Other nearby attractions include the Maine Mall, Children's Museum of Maine and Portland Museum of Art. A Denny's restaurant sits next door and several other options are across the street at Westbrook Crossing.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Limo /town car service available

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Victoria Mansion (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (4.1 mi/6.6 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines ferry (4.9 mi/7.8 km)
  • Portland Observatory (5 mi/8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.4 mi/8.7 km)
  • Spring Point Ledge Lighthouse (7.3 mi/11.8 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Fax services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Portland Travelodge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 3.7 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Portland Travelodge

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.3
Value:
3.2

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawaii frequest visitor
Business
New york
Oct 20, 2014

Clean and comfortable

Good service, cable tv and wifi worked well, nice shower and refrigerator

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Novus
Business
Vermont
Oct 7, 2014

great basic no frills hotel

When I saw the outside of the hotel, I nearly left as it looked so plain and lifeless. I'm glad I didn't. The room was plain and basic, but had all the essentials I needed for a good stay. It was one of the best hotel beds I've EVER slept on, there was just light traffic noise and I could only barely hear other guests, there was an iron with a full ironing board, a small fridge, nice really hot water for the shower. I just needed a good basic place to get a good night's sleep at a cheap price, and this completely fit the bill. There's NO luxury about it, just very practical.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hemima
Business
Hartford, california
Sep 15, 2014

Value for money

This is an average hotel with nice staff and right location. Denny's is just beside the hotel. It is a value for money hotel with free breakfast parking and wifi. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's is just beside the hotel and many other dining joints are across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
10pitches
Business
Glastonbury, ct
Aug 25, 2014

Portland Travelodge

Architecture is old and not noise proof. But location is good, and reasonable price. Room wasnt as clean as you usually find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Portland Lobster Compnay

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Airport Bound
Business
Maine
Aug 19, 2014

Cheap Hotel Just for Sleeping

Our bed was comfy but accidentally booked a smoking room which was pretty nasty! Other than the smell and cigarette burns everywhere, we were happy with the shower and the bed was comfy and the sheets were clean. That's all we needed and had time for. Close to restaurants and shopping. The Kon Asian Bistro is yummy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kon Asian Bistro had hibachi tables and sushi!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kpro
Business
Mexico, Maine
Aug 18, 2014

Fine for a quick stay

The hotel was fine for what I needed it for, we were in town for a wedding and just needed a place to sleep. It's convenient that Denny's is right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travl'lin Mom
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 14, 2014

Only available port in a storm

We needed a place to stay after a late flight into Portland Airport. The prices of all other motels that were available were even more expensive. So, we booked here not expecting much and that is about what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Run4Fun2014
Business
Massachusetts
Jul 14, 2014

Motel for a vacation on the cheap

If you're looking for a cheap hotel to just stay the night, then this place will suffice. Not overly comfortable or clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Georgia Yankee
Business
Georgia
Jul 10, 2014

convienient

Cheaper to get coupon at rest area in booklet! Would have saved me 20 bucks. It is a typical good price, cheap hotel. Wi-fi would only work in lobby/dining area. easy access to interstate and shopping. Pool was clean, beds could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Restaurant right next door is good. Shaw's supermarket is just across street and has a great salad bar with homemade soups.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Portland Travelodge

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MOMMMA
Business
VERMONT
Jun 30, 2014

AVERAGE PRICE WAS RIGHT

AVERAGE PLACE,CHECK IN LOBBY SMELLED OF STALE CIGERETTES, SIGN ON TOP OF HOTEL SAID DELUXE CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST, ONLY HAD CEREAL, BAGELS,BANNANAS, AND JUICE,AND COFFEE THAT WASNT GREAT AT ALL. OK PLACE TO JUST SLEEP AND NOT HANG OUT AT, WAS CLEAN ENOUGHT, ROOM ITSELF DIDNT SMELL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top