$51 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 30, 2014

Motel 6 Portland ME

1 star
1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
88 reviews
Good location, price, staff and cleanliness!

Fits the need for location and price. We have stayed here twice after a late flight in and the... See full review

  • Olivia75
  • Oct 4, 2014
Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant... See full review

  • Alex nice dad
  • Jul 25, 2014
Situated in the western end of Portland, this Motel 6 is conveniently located off I-95, only 5 minutes from downtown and the historic old port. Features include a guest laundry and Wi-Fi is available in all modern rooms for 2.99 USD per 24 hours.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Portland ME also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Motel 6 Portland ME Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 3.8 mi

Dining

Dennys
adjacent
Verrillos
adjacent
Applebees
0.25 miles
Applebees
0.25 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (88)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Portland ME

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 88
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.4

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UnhappyTravelers
Business
Maine
Sep 28, 2014

For a newly renovated motel they left out some important things

Upon arrival room lights didn't work. They charge $3 a day for wi-fi service. The ceiling was crumbling leaving popcorn paint everywhere. Mold in the tub Tv reception was terrible. I certainly wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitorkcc
Business
Macau, Macau
Sep 3, 2014

smokey room

asked for a non smoking room but the room has a strong smoking smell. location is fine. bed sheets are old and have stains on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex nice dad
Business
Waltham, ma
Jul 25, 2014

Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant smells. Moreover, the staff there is very friendly. The only thing that needs yo improve is that the queen size bed is not as big as I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Apple Bee very close to the hotel. The food and service is excellent there. We have been there three times during our three days' stay. Highly recommend this place. And it is pretty cheap there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dnelsn
Business
Warwick, RI
Oct 22, 2012

Family

There was a soiled towel and someone 's nightgown hanging in the bathroom. ai was told this was a non-smoking room yet the bed had a large cigarette burn on the bedspread that had gone thru the comforter, the blanket and the sheet. I informed the manager as I do not smoke and did not want them to think it was me. The manager did offer another room but I was too tired to go thru that.Otherwise it was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Applebees for dinner and Denny's for breakfast very close by.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cape wizard
Business
scarborough, me
Oct 5, 2012

short trip

wifi not free but what's worse is that dialup is faster. confusion and problems with electronic fund transfer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deee4
Business
me.
Sep 26, 2012

don't go

the shower dirty, staff useless, room and the whole floor stinks. this is a $20.00 room at most

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flyer2332
Business
Amherst, MA
Jul 31, 2012

Adequate

What you'd expect for the price these days. Staff were prompt and friendly. Elevator out of order. Dirty towels and linens piled in hallway. Room clean but smells of "deoderizer". Bed clean but lumpy. A/C working. Bathroom clean. No dressers, no shampoo, etc. Quiet night for good sleep. Decent, clean room for the price if you bring the amenities and don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cindy nh
Business
Nashua, NH
Jul 30, 2012

Horrible!

Had reservations guaranteed with a credit card. Check in was after 2. We arrived at 3:15 and was told they had no rooms available even though we had reservations. My husband argued and wouldn't let up so they put us in a handicap room. While my husband was arguing, they turned 6 people away...ALL had reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a very happy camper
Business
Portland, ME
Jul 23, 2012

Terrible

I changed my reservation from 7/21 to 7/22 to 7/20 to 7/21. I was told that the hotel agreed to this change, that there would be no extra charge and that the hotel would have all the information. When we arrived, not only did the hotel not have our change, there were no rooms available and they offered no apologies, etc. Just that they didn't get the change and that they were booked. Fortunately, my friend had booked a double and we were able to stay in there. Then, as soon as we walked through the door into the hall, it smelled so bad. I made the comment that I hoped the room smelled better then the hall It didn't. The room, which was a non smoking,, reeked of cigarette smoke and the bedspreads and blankets actually had burn holes in them. There was a dirty towel hanging on a hook in the bathroom, there was nothing but a bar of soap and was told quite frankly that shampoo, etc, could be bought in a vending machine. The only nice thing about this place, was the girl behind the desk on Saturday afternoon and the cleaning woman who gave us extra towels due to the fact that there was four of us in that room. I will never stay in this chain of hotels and I will never recommend one to anyone else. It was the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NomadTana
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 15, 2012

Can't beat the price

Staff were super friendly and helpful. Hotel room was spacious but didn't feel excessively clean and my bed slanted downward at a weird angle, but it's a decent location, close to the highway and about 5 miles from downtown with plenty of restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay there again. It was a great deal especially given that now is the heavy tourist season in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drive to Freeport (about 15 mi away) for their excellent outlet shopping. My favorites are north face and j crew. Also LL Bean outlet store is awesome if you love outdoorsy stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top