$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

Motel 6 Portland ME

2 stars
View map of 1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
84 reviews
Good location, price, staff and cleanliness!

Fits the need for location and price. We have stayed here twice after a late flight in and the... See full review

  • Olivia75
  • Oct 4, 2014
Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant... See full review

  • Alex nice dad
  • Jul 25, 2014
Situated in the western end of Portland, this Motel 6 is conveniently located off I-95, only 5 minutes from downtown and the historic old port. Features include a guest laundry and Wi-Fi is available in all modern rooms for 2.99 USD per 24 hours.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Portland ME also booked these hotels.

★★
$66
2.6 / 5 74 reviews
★★
$89
3.3 / 5 103 reviews
★★
$69
3.4 / 5 145 reviews
★★★
$144
3.8 / 5 51 reviews
★★
$59
2.0 / 5 59 reviews
★★
$68
3.5 / 5 22 reviews
★★
$77
3.3 / 5 51 reviews
★★★
$82
3.6 / 5 147 reviews
★★
$79
3.0 / 5 44 reviews

Motel 6 Portland ME Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 3.8 mi

Dining

Dennys
adjacent
Verrillos
adjacent
Applebees
0.25 miles
Applebees
0.25 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Portland ME

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 84
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
2.9
Value:
2.7

30% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia75
Couples
Maine
Oct 4, 2014

Good location, price, staff and cleanliness!

Fits the need for location and price. We have stayed here twice after a late flight in and the staff is friendly and the rooms are basic, colorful and clean. I love the fact that they have no carpeting in the room, what a great idea ...so much cleaner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the eschwins
Couples
brooklyn, ny
Sep 19, 2014

it was just fine

we stayed in a remodeled room for one night on our way further north, it was off of the freeway and clean. the bed was fine, the bathroom was fine, the attempts to modernize were cute, it's was a bit pricey but i think that was due to the weekend night and holiday weekend, still was less than anything else around and was just as good. would stay here again, staff were friendly, it was all easy, no hassle, the drive into town to check out the waterfront took about 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sometime traveler2
Couples
New York
Sep 7, 2014

Not a great bargain

The cheapest around, but next time I'd pay more for somewhere else. Tiny rooms (think college dorm or ship's cabin), faux wood floors at a slight pitch, only 2 pillows, no shampoo/conditioner, and non-smoking still smelled like smoking. If I'd had to stay more than one night I'd have been very displeased. On the plus side, because the rooms are accessed via an indoor hallway (like a hotel), you have more privacy than at a motel with an open walkway where everyone passes your window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're heading into Portland and don't have a designated driver, catch the #4 bus across the street in front of the entrance to Shaw's. $1.50 takes you right downtown.

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PJ24
Couples
Lady Lake, Florida
Jun 24, 2014

Small rooms

The single bed rooms are very small. There is barely room to get off the bed on the wall side. The room smelled ok..the bedspread had burn holes in it. The bathroom did not have a tub..when you took a shower, the water would splatter underneath the curtain to the rest of the bathroom. They charge extra for WIFi..pets are $5 extra. When I was ready to leave the motel, I found that my car had been keyed during the night. The only breakfast offering was coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a drive to the Old Port section of Portland. It's located on Casco Bay with a lot of nice restaurants.

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
V Wolf
Couples
Richmond, Maine
Jun 25, 2013

Never again; I'd rather pay more

Check-in was easy and quick. Room was small. No mini fridge and the ice machine didn't have ice when I tried to get it so I had to let my lunch meat and mayo go bad. There was at least one burn hole in the comforter. The bathroom only has two tiny bars of soap (glad a brought my own shampoo and body wash just in case). There was only one "full-sized" towel in the bathroom for a room booked for two people, and when we called to ask for more, we were told to come to the desk to get them (not horrible, but it's their job, not mine). Our room wasn't touched at all the first day while we were out, and the second day we were out only the trash bag was changed, the dirty towels were taken (and ONE was left again), and the bathroom may have been cleaned. There wasn't even a clock in the room, so we had to use our cell phone or iPod to know what time it was. I guess the best thing about the place was that you had to have a room key to enter the area where the rooms were past the front desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Joe and Ali
Couples
Portland, ME
Dec 14, 2012

Cheap Rooms...

Although the rooms are affordable, they do suck. They have soap, but no shampoo, the towels are small, as well. The rooms ALWAYS smell old, and musty. I have yet to see a room, smoking, or not, that lacks cigarette burns on the sheets, blankets, counters, and carpets. The staff are horrible, and rude. There are always local drunks, and junkies, from the local shelter, that stay here. Also, there is no way to cook, or store food, so you have to dine out; fortunately, there's a Denny's across the street, as well as many more restaurants very near by. I suggest the family owned and operated, Maine Motel in South Portland; the rooms are clean, the staff friendly, and it is affordable at only $267.50, after taxes, per week. They also have a refrigerator, and microwave, in every room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's, Pizza Hut (dine-in), Ruby Tuesday's, right across the street.

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pats1
Couples
portland maine, hotel 6
Oct 14, 2012

Dad

whole hotel was very smokey even we had a non smoking room. bad location had to use GPS to avoid tolls to get to portland mall

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
joseandrobert
Couples
portland maine
Sep 4, 2012

Room is dirty

no good hotel, hotel is dirty room no smoking room carpert and the room smell a cigaret

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cincinnati
Aug 24, 2012

Live Bedbugs!!!

We arrived from out of town a little early, the kind hostess checked us in early. We went up to our room and immediately noticed the foul odor when we entered our room. The room was very small. After checking every milk and cranny we found a live bedbug on the mattress box sheet... Not too mention the huge blood stain on the mattress and tons of cigarette burns on the sheets. We were fully compensated for our room and left the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ADAM LATTIMER
Couples
BUFFALO NY
Aug 7, 2012

AWFUL AWFUL AWFUL

ROOM WAS DIRTY, REAKED OF URINE AND WAS NO PLEASANT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top