$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Motel 6 Portland ME

1 star
View map of 1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Portland ME

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
1.9
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flyer2332
Business
Amherst, MA
Jul 31, 2012

Adequate

What you'd expect for the price these days. Staff were prompt and friendly. Elevator out of order. Dirty towels and linens piled in hallway. Room clean but smells of "deoderizer". Bed clean but lumpy. A/C working. Bathroom clean. No dressers, no shampoo, etc. Quiet night for good sleep. Decent, clean room for the price if you bring the amenities and don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Motel 6 regular
Business
Portland, ME
Jul 30, 2012

not a good motel 6

The room smelled - I requested a non-smoking room and it had an ashtray in it. When I questioned the front staff, they said ALL rooms have ashtrays. Why? If it is truly a non-smoking room, why the need for an ashtray? No answer was given! Overall, not worth any amount of money!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Cindy nh
Business
Nashua, NH
Jul 30, 2012

Horrible!

Had reservations guaranteed with a credit card. Check in was after 2. We arrived at 3:15 and was told they had no rooms available even though we had reservations. My husband argued and wouldn't let up so they put us in a handicap room. While my husband was arguing, they turned 6 people away...ALL had reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yaymarsha
Business
Syracuse, New York
Jul 29, 2012

Good for the Cheapest Option Available

In the context of rock bottom hotel prices in Portland, Motel 6 does alright. No bugs or anything horribly offensive. You will see people there who might expect at the cheapest room in town. This is no surprise. We could have switched rooms our second night, but everything else was at least $50 more, and on our art student budget it was not worth it since we were only sleeping in the room. If you can afford something else and are easily offended by a lack of luxury and/or an odd scents, maybe go somewhere else. If not, Motel 6 is your place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Not a very happy camper
Business
Portland, ME
Jul 23, 2012

Terrible

I changed my reservation from 7/21 to 7/22 to 7/20 to 7/21. I was told that the hotel agreed to this change, that there would be no extra charge and that the hotel would have all the information. When we arrived, not only did the hotel not have our change, there were no rooms available and they offered no apologies, etc. Just that they didn't get the change and that they were booked. Fortunately, my friend had booked a double and we were able to stay in there. Then, as soon as we walked through the door into the hall, it smelled so bad. I made the comment that I hoped the room smelled better then the hall It didn't. The room, which was a non smoking,, reeked of cigarette smoke and the bedspreads and blankets actually had burn holes in them. There was a dirty towel hanging on a hook in the bathroom, there was nothing but a bar of soap and was told quite frankly that shampoo, etc, could be bought in a vending machine. The only nice thing about this place, was the girl behind the desk on Saturday afternoon and the cleaning woman who gave us extra towels due to the fact that there was four of us in that room. I will never stay in this chain of hotels and I will never recommend one to anyone else. It was the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't stay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
adifferentcraig
Business
Brookline, MA
Jul 23, 2012

Horrible Hotel

So I booked out of necessity. Portland area hotels were virtually booked because of it being a big weekend of parents visiting their children's camps and clam festival. My online booking rate was not honored by the hotel front desk. Instead charged a higher rate and was told if i don't like it then I could leave because they'd have no problem filling the room. After a long day i took the room. Pillow cases had blood stains on them (no exaggeration). The entire hotel smells of cigarette smoke. In fact my clothes and car still have the lingering smell 2 days later. Do yourselves a favor folks and NEVER EVER stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plaza across the street has lots of options as far as chain restaurants go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy young couple
Business
Connecticut
Jul 23, 2012

Couldn't spend the night

Although the staff was helpful and courteous the hotel was a nightmare. I specifically asked for a nonsmoking room, and although it claimed to be one it smelled of cigarettes and mold. The comforter was dirty and covered in cigarette burns, the room was damp and moldy. I couldn't spend five minutes in this room, let alone one night. Luckily I checked in before six and was able to get a full refund. I would highly recommend against this hotel especially if you have kids, I wouldn't want to be around these people after dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NomadTana
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 15, 2012

Can't beat the price

Staff were super friendly and helpful. Hotel room was spacious but didn't feel excessively clean and my bed slanted downward at a weird angle, but it's a decent location, close to the highway and about 5 miles from downtown with plenty of restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay there again. It was a great deal especially given that now is the heavy tourist season in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drive to Freeport (about 15 mi away) for their excellent outlet shopping. My favorites are north face and j crew. Also LL Bean outlet store is awesome if you love outdoorsy stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BGCAPP
Business
Richmond, KY
Jun 5, 2012

Not here

A cheap hotel, bad management, no shampoo, a kind of old building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjim w
Business
wilmington vt.
May 7, 2012

good place

good place to stay. clean comfortable. close to resturaunts and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top