$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 19, 2014 Check-out: Oct 20, 2014

Motel 6 Portland ME

1 star
1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
85 reviews
Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant... See full review

  • Alex nice dad
  • Jul 25, 2014
Unbeatable location for the price

Came by way of I-95. Perfect location. Short distance from my meeting. Everything was great at... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 10, 2010
Situated in the western end of Portland, this Motel 6 is conveniently located off I-95, only 5 minutes from downtown and the historic old port. Features include a guest laundry and Wi-Fi is available in all modern rooms for 2.99 USD per 24 hours.

Hotel Map

43.6776 -70.3288
Nearby airports
Portland Intl Jetport, (PWM), 3.00, MI, NW; Auburn/Lewiston Municipal Airport, (LEW), 28.60, MI, S; Pease Air National Guard Base, (PSM), 50.10, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Portland ME also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Motel 6 Portland ME Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 3.8 mi

Dining

Dennys
adjacent
Verrillos
adjacent
Applebees
0.25 miles
Applebees
0.25 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (85)

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Portland ME

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
1.9
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.8

45% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NomadTana
Portland, Maine
Jun 15, 2012

Can't beat the price

Staff were super friendly and helpful. Hotel room was spacious but didn't feel excessively clean and my bed slanted downward at a weird angle, but it's a decent location, close to the highway and about 5 miles from downtown with plenty of restaurants nearby. I would definitely stay there again. It was a great deal especially given that now is the heavy tourist season in Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Drive to Freeport (about 15 mi away) for their excellent outlet shopping. My favorites are north face and j crew. Also LL Bean outlet store is awesome if you love outdoorsy stuff.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sometime traveler2
New York
Sep 7, 2014

Not a great bargain

The cheapest around, but next time I'd pay more for somewhere else. Tiny rooms (think college dorm or ship's cabin), faux wood floors at a slight pitch, only 2 pillows, no shampoo/conditioner, and non-smoking still smelled like smoking. If I'd had to stay more than one night I'd have been very displeased. On the plus side, because the rooms are accessed via an indoor hallway (like a hotel), you have more privacy than at a motel with an open walkway where everyone passes your window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're heading into Portland and don't have a designated driver, catch the #4 bus across the street in front of the entrance to Shaw's. $1.50 takes you right downtown.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitorkcc
Macau, Macau
Sep 3, 2014

smokey room

asked for a non smoking room but the room has a strong smoking smell. location is fine. bed sheets are old and have stains on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ch777
Montreal, Canada
Aug 4, 2014

Stopover after Nova Scotia/Portland Ferry

When we got into our room - it does look like they have been trying to re-furbish this older hotel - halls still smell like cigarette smoke - it's now non-smoking, and when we walked into our room - the first thing I saw was the cover for the bed looked stained and awfully dirty - we removed it immediately. We didn't have any shampoo or hair dryer in the room and when I asked for an ice bucket in the lobby - we did get one, I really couldn't remember having one in the room - since there was so little else. No coffee or tea in room, and coffee in the lobby only has coffee creamer not actual uht milk and cream. Very basic - one step higher than camping. Shower was okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex nice dad
Waltham, ma
Jul 25, 2014

Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant smells. Moreover, the staff there is very friendly. The only thing that needs yo improve is that the queen size bed is not as big as I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Apple Bee very close to the hotel. The food and service is excellent there. We have been there three times during our three days' stay. Highly recommend this place. And it is pretty cheap there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paticblue
Business
ME
Jul 16, 2014

Motel 6

Very pet friendly. Nice area for pets. Price was reasonable for area and time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the egg & I for breakfast. Excellent food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dom and Wys Momma
maine
Jul 16, 2014

night out....

Was not impressed that they didnt provide shampoo and only one wash cloth.. then got a hard time about getting more towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tetlepdot
Central Maine
Jul 13, 2014

Great dorm room!

The Motel 6 chain is known for spare but inexpensive and clean accommodations. If that is what you're looking for, this motel is perfect. On entering the room, I was immediately back in my freshman year dorm from from 40 years ago: cheap, bland, featureless furniture; a perfectly comfortable bed that looked like a military bunk, nothing on the walls, and absolutely no amenities - not a hairdryer, not a bottle of cheap shampoo - nothing but a bar of soap and a plastic cup. At $80/night, this seemed kind of stingy, but then it was high season in Maine. If you don't smoke, be sure to ask for a non-smoking room, because I got a "smoking optional" room, and had to air out all my belongings when I got home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PJ24
Lady Lake, Florida
Jun 24, 2014

Small rooms

The single bed rooms are very small. There is barely room to get off the bed on the wall side. The room smelled ok..the bedspread had burn holes in it. The bathroom did not have a tub..when you took a shower, the water would splatter underneath the curtain to the rest of the bathroom. They charge extra for WIFi..pets are $5 extra. When I was ready to leave the motel, I found that my car had been keyed during the night. The only breakfast offering was coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a drive to the Old Port section of Portland. It's located on Casco Bay with a lot of nice restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
coffee duck
Business
MA
May 18, 2014

Solid overnight stay

Good location. newer modern clean comfortable rooms. Internet access for $3 per day. Decent for business travel stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gigashame
Towaco, nj
Sep 23, 2013

Decent place to crash for the night

Conveniently located right off the Interstate, I got a room not expecting anything much and was not disappointed. The room was clean and sufficient for my needs. My only complaint is that the mattress was a bit worn and the linens were a bit threadbare. Still, I got the rest I needed and felt safe doing so!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search