$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 13, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Motel 6 Portland ME

2 stars
View map of 1 Riverside St, I-95 at Larrabee Road, Exit #48, Portland, ME 04103

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
84 reviews
Good location, price, staff and cleanliness!

Fits the need for location and price. We have stayed here twice after a late flight in and the... See full review

  • Olivia75
  • Oct 4, 2014
Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant... See full review

  • Alex nice dad
  • Jul 25, 2014
Situated in the western end of Portland, this Motel 6 is conveniently located off I-95, only 5 minutes from downtown and the historic old port. Features include a guest laundry and Wi-Fi is available in all modern rooms for 2.99 USD per 24 hours.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Motel 6 Portland ME also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Motel 6 Portland ME Rooms

Premier
Modern Room 1 Queen Bed

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
24 hour front desk
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Heated guest rooms
Temperature control
Electronic door locks

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 3.8 mi

Dining

Dennys
adjacent
Verrillos
adjacent
Applebees
0.25 miles
Applebees
0.25 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Motel 6 Portland ME

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.9

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjim w
wilmington vt.
May 7, 2012

good place

good place to stay. clean comfortable. close to resturaunts and shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olivia75
Business
Maine
Oct 4, 2014

Good location, price, staff and cleanliness!

Fits the need for location and price. We have stayed here twice after a late flight in and the staff is friendly and the rooms are basic, colorful and clean. I love the fact that they have no carpeting in the room, what a great idea ...so much cleaner!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UnhappyTravelers
Business
Maine
Sep 28, 2014

For a newly renovated motel they left out some important things

Upon arrival room lights didn't work. They charge $3 a day for wi-fi service. The ceiling was crumbling leaving popcorn paint everywhere. Mold in the tub Tv reception was terrible. I certainly wouldn't recommend to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
the eschwins
Business
brooklyn, ny
Sep 19, 2014

it was just fine

we stayed in a remodeled room for one night on our way further north, it was off of the freeway and clean. the bed was fine, the bathroom was fine, the attempts to modernize were cute, it's was a bit pricey but i think that was due to the weekend night and holiday weekend, still was less than anything else around and was just as good. would stay here again, staff were friendly, it was all easy, no hassle, the drive into town to check out the waterfront took about 10 minutes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sometime traveler2
Business
New York
Sep 7, 2014

Not a great bargain

The cheapest around, but next time I'd pay more for somewhere else. Tiny rooms (think college dorm or ship's cabin), faux wood floors at a slight pitch, only 2 pillows, no shampoo/conditioner, and non-smoking still smelled like smoking. If I'd had to stay more than one night I'd have been very displeased. On the plus side, because the rooms are accessed via an indoor hallway (like a hotel), you have more privacy than at a motel with an open walkway where everyone passes your window.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're heading into Portland and don't have a designated driver, catch the #4 bus across the street in front of the entrance to Shaw's. $1.50 takes you right downtown.

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vitorkcc
Business
Macau, Macau
Sep 3, 2014

smokey room

asked for a non smoking room but the room has a strong smoking smell. location is fine. bed sheets are old and have stains on them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alex nice dad
Business
Waltham, ma
Jul 25, 2014

Tidy and clean

My family is satisfied with the hotel. It is very clean in the Rooney without any unpleasant smells. Moreover, the staff there is very friendly. The only thing that needs yo improve is that the queen size bed is not as big as I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Apple Bee very close to the hotel. The food and service is excellent there. We have been there three times during our three days' stay. Highly recommend this place. And it is pretty cheap there.

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dom and Wys Momma
Business
maine
Jul 16, 2014

night out....

Was not impressed that they didnt provide shampoo and only one wash cloth.. then got a hard time about getting more towels

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
paticblue
Business
ME
Jul 16, 2014

Motel 6

Very pet friendly. Nice area for pets. Price was reasonable for area and time of year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the egg & I for breakfast. Excellent food!

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tetlepdot
Business
Central Maine
Jul 13, 2014

Great dorm room!

The Motel 6 chain is known for spare but inexpensive and clean accommodations. If that is what you're looking for, this motel is perfect. On entering the room, I was immediately back in my freshman year dorm from from 40 years ago: cheap, bland, featureless furniture; a perfectly comfortable bed that looked like a military bunk, nothing on the walls, and absolutely no amenities - not a hairdryer, not a bottle of cheap shampoo - nothing but a bar of soap and a plastic cup. At $80/night, this seemed kind of stingy, but then it was high season in Maine. If you don't smoke, be sure to ask for a non-smoking room, because I got a "smoking optional" room, and had to air out all my belongings when I got home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Motel 6 Portland ME

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PJ24
Business
Lady Lake, Florida
Jun 24, 2014

Small rooms

The single bed rooms are very small. There is barely room to get off the bed on the wall side. The room smelled ok..the bedspread had burn holes in it. The bathroom did not have a tub..when you took a shower, the water would splatter underneath the curtain to the rest of the bathroom. They charge extra for WIFi..pets are $5 extra. When I was ready to leave the motel, I found that my car had been keyed during the night. The only breakfast offering was coffee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a drive to the Old Port section of Portland. It's located on Casco Bay with a lot of nice restaurants.

Back to menu Return to top