$65 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 10, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

3 stars
View map of 340 Park Ave, 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Nice Short Stay

Had a really nice stay at the hotel during weekend. See full review

  • Z...
  • Sep 9, 2014
good

It's good, not so far from the place of my conference. It's a good walk from the center to the... See full review

  • qinger
  • Feb 4, 2015
Free breakfast just blocks from the ball games

In the heart of the Ball Park District, La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland sits down the street from Portland Seadogs action at Hadlock Field. Catch a game or head two miles into downtown for museums, historic sites and seafood eateries along the waterfront. Use the fitness center, enjoy the outdoor pool and wake daily to a free breakfast of waffles, cereal, pastries and fresh fruit. A free shuttle runs to the airport, Amtrak station, Greyhound terminal and local medical centers. Wi-Fi and pet-friendly rooms are offered at no extra charge.

Highlights

  • Pet-friendly rooms at no extra charge
  • Free continental breakfast with waffles
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool
  • Free shuttle service to the Portland Jetport, Amtrak, Greyhound bus terminal and local medical centers

Rooms

Dark wood furnishings with pops of bright orange set a retro mood in 105 rooms at La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland. Basic and affordable, each neat and tidy room includes free wireless Internet access, an oversized work area, dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls and a recliner from which to watch the 25-inch TV with expanded cable programming and pay-per-view movies. For guest convenience, rooms feature a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board.

Features

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland combines reasonable rates with on-site amenities that include a coin-operated guest laundry facility, same-day dry cleaning service, a business center and 24-hour copy and fax services. Parking is free with "stay-and-go" parking rates available. Find several family-friendly restaurants within less than a mile of this Portland hotel. The hotel is two miles from the University of Southern Maine campus and even closer to Maine Medical Center, the Portland Expo, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Free shuttle service to the Portland Jetport, Amtrak, Greyhound bus terminal and local medical centers

Attractions

  • Victoria Mansion (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Portland Museum of Art (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Portland Schooner (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Maine Mall (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (17 mi/27.3 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with 24-hour fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, sofa sleeper, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Bedded Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
One Full Bed Non-Smoking Features a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, voice mail, and dataport telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (135)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
nanaevans
Business
Goliad, Texas
Aug 21, 2010

It was convienant to my needs

I was here to visit with my son who was home on leave from Iraq. I was disappointed in the appearance of the hotel and pool, especially with all of the ads running on tv about LaQuinta Inns doing upgrades. This was very low in score compared to other places I have stayed at previously

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Dining was a breeze, and I did love the breakfast that was offered

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth,MA
Jan 10, 2011

police with night sticks banging on door

i will never stay at a la Quinta again. I checked in at at 9:00 pm and there were 2 police cruisers and police there. I asked the front desk staff is there was a problem, since I am a woman travelling alone, assured there was not. There was noise ALL night across the hall, I finally called the desk at 1AM and was assured the police were on the elevators going there now, they were and then endured 1/2 hour of them banging the door down and ejecting the 18yr olds. I was exhausted for a very siginiicant day in my son's life and frankly will NEVER stay there again. The first tip off was the rude girl vacuming the lobby who rolled her eyes and sighed every time I came in or out with my belongiings. First time [...]and last[...]with La Quinta.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vero beach, florida
Oct 11, 2009

not as nice as you think

hotel not very clean. fridge in room didn't work but they did fix it. dusty room even after a couple days of housekeeping coming in. bed very uncomfortable. no views at all. pool was closed, we stayed in the begining of Oct. close to down town, but in between two one-way roads so a little confusing getting in and out. good trip overall though we had a very nice time. Bussiness and pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of very nice restraunts close by. low to high price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flizzer
Business
Westport, CT
Mar 3, 2014

Average at best.

Heating unit kept turning itself on--loudly--all night. This, combined with heat that was way above what I set the thermostat at, made getting a good night's sleep impossible. TV in exercise room did not work, so working out was even more of a chore than usual. Best thing about this place was its cheerful, helpful staff combined with the free shuttle service--not to everywhere, but at least to one key place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nick and Ashley
Business
Exeter NH
Apr 27, 2014

Smoking room or non-smoking

Our room had a smoke smell that was obvious. We actually bought our own air freshener to combat the stench. When we asked the staff if it was perilously a smoking room they simply replied "no". And did nothing to offer a solution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rosco
Business
USA
Aug 18, 2011

Ok, just not worth the price.

The place was fine. However, I've had a comperable stay elsewhere for much less. It just didn't seem to be worth what they cherged. The location isn't that great either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jun 27, 2011

Disappointed in the 'bait and switch'

I have stayed at LaQuinta Inn's before and have always found them clean and comfortable. I was very disappointed to find upon check in at LaQuinta Portland, that the two double bed non-smoking room I had reserved [...] more than a month earlier was not available. This I learned after traveling all day, cross country, to get to Portland for a wedding the next day. Mind you, I had a paper confirmation of the room I reserved. I had also telephoned the hotel front desk directly about two weeks after booking the room to check on the reservation and confirm it was correct. When I arrived to check in, I was told they don't know what happened, but the reservation did not come over as two double beds. I was also told that the hotel was full and no other double bed rooms were available. I was offered a king and a cot but after traveling all day with my adult son, neither one of us was looking forward to sleeping on a cot. And a king bed was just not necessary or what I had reserved! I was angry as the clerk shrugged her shoulders saying there was nothing she could do. Of course, the manager was not available. [...] Unfortunately the room was a smoking room. While the odor was unpleasant it was tolerable and we agreed to the room as we had other family members staying at the same location. So, as there is apparently no way to be sure the room type you are reserving will be the room you get upon arrival, I recommend caution to anyone considering this hotel. Otherwise it is a fairly convenient location with free shuttle service to the airport and the Ferry.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newton, MA
Oct 15, 2009

disappointed

We had reserved a queen size bedroom. We were given a double bed room with one side table. We objected and were moved to another double bed room. Asked desk for available queen size bed and were told none were available. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent seafood. Restaurant in Marina area in south Portland.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alexandria, MN
Apr 20, 2010

Different

I went out for great food. The room should have been cleaned from whomever left their mark on all the walls with their garbage. The trip was fun but the hotel room was not. The staff was great and concerned on my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
via
Business
boston ma
Apr 25, 2011

bad customer service

good location but service was rude

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top