$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 28, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

3 stars
View map of 340 Park Ave, 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
144 out of 144
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rahtid
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Quiet

The area where the hotel is is very quiet. Good for a relaxing get away. The hotel doesn't have a bar, but downtown portland is about 1.5 mile away. The breakfast is awesome, free and awesome. The staff is very nice and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AlexG33
Business
Somerville, MA, USA
Sep 4, 2011

Good value

Laborday weekend. It was a pricey weekend to be traveling....and this place isn't normally worth the $170/night that we paid, but all things considered it was a good value for location, cleanliness and price relative to other hotels. Free Wifi was excellent. Friendly, helpful desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lance
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 28, 2011

Okay Stay

The location is not bad for the hotel rate. It is a short drive to downtown Portland and parking is fairly easy to find. The breakfast is nice and the room is pretty comfortable. It is also very clean except for a couple things that were disconcerting. There is a double toilet roll dispenser in the bathroom. Both rolls were used by previous guests and one was soiled. The soap dish, at the sink, is actually a folded washcloth which had not been changed in some time and was very dirty. There was only one washcloth provided in our room. We have stayed here before and have not had a similar experience. It was very disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Street and Company is a marvelous restaurant. A little expensive, but fabulous food. And a very short second is the Portland Lobster Company. Great food with a live band for both lunch and dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suma
Business
Salem, NH, USA
Aug 23, 2011

Volunteer Weekend

The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The room was spacious enough and had just enough of the right stuff, no frills, just good. The breakfast wasn't bad, but the room was quite inadequate for the full house that seemed to be there. It was not a bad stay at all, just not great for the amount of money for a hotel on the outskirts of the city. The proximity to the highway was convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stipeified
Business
Burlington, VT
Aug 21, 2011

A good choice

We chose La Quinta Inn & Suites because it was less expensive than the other hotels in the heart of downtown but was still relatively close. If you have a car, this is a good choice. Parking is pretty easy to find downtown and the hotel is only a short 5-10 minute drive to get there, or many of the surrounding areas. Staff was helpful and courteous. They were on top of refilling the breakfast items. The neighborhood is a bit shady, but we never worried for our safety. The room was pretty average. It did have a fridge and microwave, which was nice. It also had a very comfortable bed! In my experience, that can be hard to come by. Overall, good choice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Duck Fat--amazing food and by far the best meal we had in Portland!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rosco
Business
USA
Aug 18, 2011

Ok, just not worth the price.

The place was fine. However, I've had a comperable stay elsewhere for much less. It just didn't seem to be worth what they cherged. The location isn't that great either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jjmbftsc
Business
Beaufort, SC, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Fine overnight stay

We just stayed overnight. Everything was fine and we were very comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shortman40
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 14, 2011

Quick stop

This hotel was a quick stop between Boston and the Maine coast. We took the amtrak up and they picked us up right from the station. We also needed to pick up a rental car and they had no problem bringing us to the airport. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dscaron
Business
Jay, New York
Aug 11, 2011

Location lacking.

This La Quinta was clean, had a decent breakfast (although overwhelmingly BUSY), and excellent front desk staff. Although it was a "no frills" stay, the bed was VERY comfortable. The outdoor pool was okay, but it was a bit chilly to swim while we were there in the beginning of August. The location was too far, in my opinion, from the downtown/port areas and the neighborhood was a bit run down. At one point, we were witness to a domestic dispute on the sidewalk outside our hotel. Fortunately, we incorporated the 2 mile walk into our exercise regime and the price we had negotiated was definitely fair. We spent most of our time in the downtown area, shopping, dining, or just walking so being on the outskirts was a bit of an inconvenience. The few times that we did take a cab, it was a $12 fare each way to the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fore Street Restaurant was EXCELLENT. Although it is a bit pricey, it is worth it. Definitely make reservations. We took a cab that evening as we had a late reservation. Great lunch at J's Oyster Bar at the port!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blue Bell, PA
Aug 2, 2011

Good Location and Friendly Staff

My husband and I decided to tour Portland and Free Port and this was a great place to stay as it was very convenient to drive into either town. The rooms were nice and kept clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful in guiding us to all the places we wanted to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top