$62 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 6, 2015

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

3 stars
340 Park Ave, 340 Park Ave, Portland, ME 04102
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
131 reviews
Nice Short Stay

Had a really nice stay at the hotel during weekend. See full review

  • Z...
  • Sep 9, 2014
good stay

This hotel is not far from the center of the downtown. Comfortable and feels good to stay in this... See full review

  • qinger
  • Nov 3, 2014
Free breakfast just blocks from the ball games

In the heart of the Ball Park District, La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland sits down the street from Portland Seadogs action at Hadlock Field. Catch a game or head two miles into downtown for museums, historic sites and seafood eateries along the waterfront. Use the fitness center, enjoy the outdoor pool and wake daily to a free breakfast of waffles, cereal, pastries and fresh fruit. A free shuttle runs to the airport, Amtrak station, Greyhound terminal and local medical centers. Wi-Fi and pet-friendly rooms are offered at no extra charge.

Highlights

  • Pet-friendly rooms at no extra charge
  • Free continental breakfast with waffles
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Fitness center and seasonal outdoor pool
  • Free shuttle service to the Portland Jetport, Amtrak, Greyhound bus terminal and local medical centers

Rooms

Dark wood furnishings with pops of bright orange set a retro mood in 105 rooms at La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland. Basic and affordable, each neat and tidy room includes free wireless Internet access, an oversized work area, dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls and a recliner from which to watch the 25-inch TV with expanded cable programming and pay-per-view movies. For guest convenience, rooms feature a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and ironing board.

Features

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland combines reasonable rates with on-site amenities that include a coin-operated guest laundry facility, same-day dry cleaning service, a business center and 24-hour copy and fax services. Parking is free with "stay-and-go" parking rates available. Find several family-friendly restaurants within less than a mile of this Portland hotel. The hotel is two miles from the University of Southern Maine campus and even closer to Maine Medical Center, the Portland Expo, Merrill Auditorium and Cumberland County Civic Center.

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Free shuttle service to the Portland Jetport, Amtrak, Greyhound bus terminal and local medical centers

Attractions

  • Victoria Mansion (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Portland Museum of Art (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Old Port historic downtown waterfront district (2 mi/3.2 km)
  • Portland Schooner (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Maine Mall (4.3 mi/6.9 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13 mi/20.9 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (14.2 mi/22.8 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (17 mi/27.3 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access
  • Business center with 24-hour fax and copy services available (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Rooms

Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, sofa sleeper, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Deluxe
King Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Executive
Executive King Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
Two Full or Queen Beds Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with two full or queen beds, oversized desk and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls
Standard
Two Full Bedded Room Non-Smoking Relaxing and comfortable room with king bed, recliner, oversized work area and dataport phone with voice mail and free local calls, and 25-inch TV with expanded cable.
Standard
One Full Bed Non-Smoking Features a TV, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron w/ironing board, voice mail, and dataport telephone.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
FEMA approved
Activities
Outdoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Continental breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 1.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland. Me
Oct 13, 2009

Great value

Great place, breakfast good. Very clean. Should have nonsmoking policy for the whole floor. Could smell smoke through doors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
vero beach, florida
Oct 11, 2009

not as nice as you think

hotel not very clean. fridge in room didn't work but they did fix it. dusty room even after a couple days of housekeeping coming in. bed very uncomfortable. no views at all. pool was closed, we stayed in the begining of Oct. close to down town, but in between two one-way roads so a little confusing getting in and out. good trip overall though we had a very nice time. Bussiness and pleasure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of very nice restraunts close by. low to high price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 11, 2009

generally good

The stuff is nice and the room is clean. But our room is on the first floor, against to elevator and restroom, quite noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 8, 2009

A little bit of this and that.

I was staying in Maine for two weeks to see it as a quick vacation while I was moving my friend with me to California. I did enjoy the hotel, but because the location was a type of shutoff for walkers as I don`t have a car, the only thing missing was easy, understandable directions and suggestions about restaurants and attractions that I probably ended up missing out on because the staff didn`t seem too engaged in helping me with that. I also felt that because I am a young traveler, perhaps that effected the costumer service I received because there was one night where an older group asked similar questions to mine, and the front desk personnel not only answered them thoroughly, but they successfully suggested other locations that would have been desirable for me too. I have traveled a lot in my short lifetime and I don`t appreciate it when I am treated differently because of my age. The hotel was very consistent with cleanliness around the lobby and gym room, granted, there were two nights where my room was very close to running out of toilet paper, but I didn`t find it that troublesome, maybe a note about the cleanliness in the actual hotel room can be brought to the staff`s attention though--I`m not sure if vacuuming is protocol, but I stayed there for a while and I don`t think the carpet was vacuumed in any of those 10 days. On a light note, the staff was friendly and greeted me every time I walked in. I even lost my keys once and they were kind enough to not even look upset about the situation. I enjoyed my stay, all in all, and these are the only things I have to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Find a relative or good friend in Maine, and have them prepare a Maine lobster for you in their own home with melted butter. It saves money and it`s the best lobster you will ever eat--no restaurant can compare!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
John Cavello
Business
New York
Oct 7, 2009

Great Place to Stay in Portland, Maine

The staff upon checking in was courteous and had our key ready in less than 2 minutes. The hotel itself is very appealing. The room was immaculate and the beds were unbelievably comfortable. They offer a generous number of TV channels to watch, as well as a nice selection of offerings for their complementary breakfast each morning. Free internet access is always a plus and all of the staff we encountered was just as friendly as can be. La Quinta Inn and Suites is a hotel I would absolutely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

A great place to go (and only about a 10 minute drive from the hotel) is the Maine Mall. It's endless once you get inside. You'll find everything from the trendy to the chíc, as well as about anything for which you could ever have a hunger.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham Al.
Oct 6, 2009

Good stay

I have no complaints, all the staff were very professional....most enjoyable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Akron, Ohio
Sep 22, 2009

September stay in Portland

Stayed 3 nights while visiting Maine. Enjoyed the hotel - first rate staff & accomodations. Staff made excellent recommendations on where to dine & what local attractions to see. Only complaint was the trucks @ 4:00 AM delivering to the plant across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrannieBoots
Business
Quincy, MA
Sep 22, 2009

Great Dog Friendly Stay

The employees were great and the room was clean and comfortable. Very dog friendly. We would stay here again. The only drawback was that it's not in a great neighborhood but very close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to the waterfront and to the downtown arts district.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, ME
Sep 20, 2009

Pretty Sweet!

Place was great, close to the ocean and staff was excellent and very friendly, ill definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baton Rouge, LA
Sep 4, 2009

Sufficient

We were staying only one night. This hotel was certainly sufficient. Nothing special, but clean, GREAT beds, nice staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top