$143 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
127 reviews
Great last minute hotel

We booked this hotel on our way to Portland, about 3 hours before we checked-in. The staff was... See full review

  • Nicholas M.
  • Mar 3, 2015
Winter trip to Portland Maine

My husband and I had a great stay at the Holiday Inn by the Bay in Portland, Maine. Upon arrival,... See full review

  • Ana T.
  • Jan 21, 2015
Walk to the Old Port and more from this award-winning hotel

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Policies and fees
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 127
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greatest Husband
Business
East Brunswick, NJ
Aug 2, 2014

Nice little Getaway

Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful with questions. Room was clean and had all the basics you could need. Located only two blocks from the waterfront it's a nice location as well. Being much cheaper than the other hotels in Portland makes this the easy and wise choice. Definately would stay here if we come back for another visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This hotel sits on a high point overlooking the Bay, so ask for a bayview room and be rewarded with a beautiful view of Casco Bay.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alberso
Business
Puerto Rico
Jun 9, 2014

Good hotel in a pretty good location

Hotel is walking distance to the main points of interest in downtown Portland, ME. The rooms are nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wenhub
Business
Portland
Jun 8, 2014

Parking was ridiculous

Checked in and told there was a $10/night parking fee. Pulled into garage and found very few spots because they were extremely narrow and people had to take up 2 spots just to fit. Left early evening to drive out of town for massage only to return and there were NO spots available. There were NO signs telling me there was an over flow lot. AND, when I checked in the hotel staff didn't tell me either about parking issues. So, it was late and I parked in registration area then got up the next morning to check out by 8:30 am and was informed I was being charged not only the $10/night fee (of which I couldnt even use in garage) and $25 for parking in registration area. I gave the hotel frontdesk manager Nathan a piece of my mind. No sigms informing people of other parking OR that you will be charged if you park in registration area. AND. Teyhad my phone # thats they could have called me in theevening to tell me i would need to move my car. UGH! They need to improve their parking garage. It was filthy with leaves and dirt/dust all over too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boston happy customers
Business
Boston
Aug 30, 2013

End of summer getaway

Portland is a great walkable city with alot to do both on land and water. This hotel was a two minute walk to the Old Port for great shopping, or access to ferries. In the Art Dstrict and the Old Port there are some amazing restaurants and they are also just a short walk! The hotel offers a complimentary shuttle that can take you anywhere in the Old Port (ferries, etc.), the airport or the train station. We used it several times including a trip to the train station to catch a train to Freeport where you will find the flagship store for LL Bean. Staff was very friendly and helpful even changing our room when we were too close to the elevator and found it too noisy. We would stay here again and would definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the Downeaster train by Amtrak. It is a very easy, comfortable and inexpensive way to get there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RemBrantley
Business
Milford, ME
Jul 12, 2013

Worst Hotel in the Old Port!

I will never stay at Holiday Inn by the Bay again. There were so many things wrong with this place, I don't even know where to begin. First, the lobby was beautiful, so I really thought we were in for a treat. Check in was smooth with no problems. We got off the elevator on the 4th floor and the first thing we notice is an odd odor. Not pleasant, but we can deal with it. Then the room key doesn't work. So we use the other. That doesn't work either. After about 15 attempts, the door opens. Again, a strange odor and a large stain in the middle of the carpet. The room is small, outdated and not particularly clean. The reservations were for four people and there were only 3 sets of towels. After being in the room for about an hour, someone knocks on the door. My husband asks through the door if he can help them. A person says that they thought this was their room. Hubby tells them no, this room is occupied. We go to dinner and about an hour after returning, the phone rings. It's the front desk manager calling to see if anyone was in the room. What? He says they were not sure if we checked in, so he had to check. My husband tells him that someone came to our room earlier thinking it was theirs. He said, no, that was my housekeeper! He said he sent them to see if anyone was in the room. At this point, my husband's not happy and lets them know. They apologize. We go to bed and again, the odor. I feel it's the linens, but my husband and kids don't think it's terrible, so I let it slide. The AC kept me awake all night. Each time it kicked on (which was about every 20 minutes) it sounded like a jet engine winding up for take off. Crazy annoying! Also, the toilet would not stop running after it was flushed without us wiggling the handle repeatedly. The next morning, I'm getting out of the shower when I hear my husband having a loud conversation with someone. I come out to find that yet another person had come to our door saying this was their room! He called the front desk and let them know AGAIN how unhappy he was. Again, they apologized, but made no offers to atone for the irritation and inconvenience. On our second day, we returned to the hotel at around 9:30. We went into the parking garage (that we paid $10 per night for) to find there are no parking spaces left. When we checked in, we were told where to park. So, my husband went to the front desk to express his irritation. They are not apologetic; actually they appear to be bothered by us and say that there's another parking area down the street. My husband drives down to the other parking area, to find that it's locked and he cannot get into it. So he drives around the block (one way street) and back to the front desk again. He was told that the manager just "ran down to let you in". So he drove back again! Oh! Then there were the creepy security guys! They seemed to pop out of nowhere. They were very UNFRIENDLY and just plain creepy. I mean, jeez, this is Maine. Who DOESN'T nod or say hello when getting into an elevator or meeting someone in a hallway, especially when it's their place of employment. Security should make you feel safe, not make you feel like you need to hold your purse tighter! And apparently, the room odor was the linen. The second day, the linens and towels didn't have that awful odor. But the entries from the parking areas...that odor seemed to get worse while we were there. Pass on this hotel. Seriously. We've stayed at the Portland Regency and the Marriott in the Old Port within the past two years. Great experiences. Stay anywhere but Holiday Inn! The ONLY plus is the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2e1969
Business
va
Jul 30, 2012

Queen City

Nice hotel. Good location but not great. Short walk down hill to the Old Port. Long walk up hill back. Staff is always friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Miyake for dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shombolly
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 9, 2012

Good Value

Clean, free prking , decent lounge,great location to museums, nite life.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shebedinogal
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Perfect for Portland

Clean, friendly staff, great location. I took my daughters for a weekend and the location was central to everything planned. Great swimming pool. For a 2 star property, it really was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duck Fat restaurant - de-lish! Really not that far away, but not around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cupper
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Aug 30, 2011

Nice Holiday Inn

Overall, very nice. Staff was very helpful. Good shuttle service to and from airport. Got into our room early, which was great. The room was large and comfortable--the bed was very nice. We were on the "city" side, so the view was ok, but should be better on the ocean side. Amenities were fine and room and hotel were clean, except we did find a child's "sippy cup" when we moved the TV. The internet connection was not very good. The hotel is not in the most interesting part of the city, though nothing is very far and it was very close to where we needed to be. I thought the rate was a bit high, but probably not out of line for the season. Not a "charming" hotel, but it is a Holiday Inn. Overall, it was a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisb
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Aug 17, 2011

weekend getaway

Hotels was nice and the room was quite large. The sofa was a bit old and not very comfortable. The beds were nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top