$210 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 25, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
125 reviews
Great place to stay with family

I really enjoyed our stay and the beautiful view of the bay from our room. Room was quiet and big.... See full review

  • Travel to maine
  • Jul 10, 2015
Daughter's Graduation

The staff was so helpful right from the start. I had mistakenly registered for a smoking room and... See full review

  • Katherine M.
  • May 15, 2015

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Property features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Nearby attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Policies
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 125
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brats
Business
New York Metro
Jul 30, 2014

By the Bay

Nice Hotel near the Bay! Very comfortable rooms. Convenient location near downtown Portland

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tami Arnold
Business
Dallas
Oct 14, 2013

I doubt I'd stay anywhere else.

My stay was fantastic. The entire staff was personable and accomodating. Loved the fact that they have a shuttle so unless your destination is more than three miles away you will not have to rent a car plus pay for parking. My stay was business related and was a ten minute walk DOWNhill to office (and twenty minutes uphill... who needs the workout room after that?) Plus was near the neatest little shops behind the museum. Will definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When going to old port/commercial street, WEAR SNEAKERS! :)

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dangin
Business
RI
Sep 22, 2013

Filthy

I am a business traveler and sleep in hotels about 150 nights/year. The room I stayed in was dirty beyond any other hotel I've stayed since staring this job. It was a double room, when I pulled down the covers it had many long black hairs on the pillows and the sheets. The bathroom was filthy; thick layers of mold that had obviously been neglected for some time, the toilet was dirty - hair on the seat and stains under the seat as well as the outside of the bowl having not been cleaned recently. I was placed in a smoking room despite having both specified a non-smoking room and my Holiday Inn rewards profile stating I want a non-smoking room. The room, was dated, and the smell of smoke did little to improve the ambiance. I would not stay here again if it were free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jdeeds
Business
portland maine
Aug 3, 2013

buss trip

It was great ihad a smoking room thats all i need to say

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ricardo8
Business
Laguna Beach, CA
Apr 14, 2013

Great walkable location

Across the street from the Portland Museum of Art and walking distance to the old Port and all its amenities. Very courteous and helpful and friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Emilitsa - very good Greek dining - about two blocks away.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville, KY
Dec 13, 2010

Great location and value

The staff was welcoming and extremely helpful. My short stay there was lovely and I would love to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
four children
Business
Australia
Nov 3, 2009

Great Service

Great service, was impressed by the taxi service provided by the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Sep 22, 2009

great location but dirty

Great location, beautiful view, and helpful and efficient check in. Unfortunately, the room smelled, obviously hadn't been vacumed or dusted, and the bathroom had spots all over the mirrors and hair all over the floor and shower, oh and the tub was sticky. On the second stay of the visit, when I returned in the evening the bed wasn't made, the garbage in the bedroom wasn't thrown out, the carpet still had debris, the crumb from my bagel was still sitting on the desk, and the bathroom was still disgusting...the same spots on the mirror and hair all over the floor and shower were still there (literally in the exact same place). Just about all the maid did was pick up the towels on the floor and throw out the garbage in the bathroom. I hate to complain so didn't even bother. The location and view really were wonderful and the front desk employees were great. It was just one of the dirtiest places I've ever stayed, which is such a shame.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hatfield, PA
Aug 13, 2009

Great Place to Stay on Business

Great place to stay, everytime i'm in Portland on business it's a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hatifeld, PA
Jun 10, 2009

Awesome place to stay

The experience was great, the room had a great view and I enjoyed my visit. I couldn't ask for anything more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top