$197 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

3 stars
View map of 88 Spring St, Portland, ME 04101

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
125 reviews
Great place to stay with family

I really enjoyed our stay and the beautiful view of the bay from our room. Room was quiet and big.... See full review

  • Travel to maine
  • Jul 10, 2015
Daughter's Graduation

The staff was so helpful right from the start. I had mistakenly registered for a smoking room and... See full review

  • Katherine M.
  • May 15, 2015

The pedestrian-friendly location of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY makes an easy starting point for Portland exploration. In one direction, the Old Port working waterfront thrives with unique shops and popular restaurants. In the other, the new city Arts District promises excitement and culture with the art museum, Children's Museum, galleries and historic homes. Enjoy the largest indoor pool around or take a break from touring town in the fitness center or sauna. A free airport shuttle and free Wi-Fi add value to the great views.

Rooms

Most of the 239 rooms at Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY afford a view worth remembering. Bay-side rooms look out to the Atlantic Ocean while others frame up the White Mountains or the Portland city skyline. Decor is simple and in line with traditional Holiday Inn guest room interiors. Amenities in all rooms include a coffee-maker, hair-dryer, iron and two dual-line telephones with voice mail. Some upgraded rooms feature 42-inch TVs. Wireless Internet access is free. 

Property features

Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY is a proud recipient of multiple awards from the InterContinental Hotels Group for quality, customer satisfaction and overall excellence. The hotel also ranks in the top 10% of Holiday Inns around the globe. Guests appreciate the parking facilities (fees apply), on-site gift shop and guest laundry facilities. Dine on site, walk to waterfront eateries or request the shuttle to a favorite local hotspot. 

Highlights

  • Largest indoor swimming pool in Greater Portland plus a fitness center and saunas
  • Informal restaurant and lounge with New England-inspired menu
  • Free wireless Internet access
  • Courtesy vans to airport, bus terminal, train station and local businesses when available
  • Walking distance to shops and restaurants of Old Port waterfront and arts district

Nearby attractions

  • Portland Museum of Art (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cumberland County Civic Center (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Casco Bay Lines Ferry (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
  • Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Co. (1.1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Portland Head Light lighthouse (4.2 mi/6.8 km)
  • Maine Mall (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
  • Old Orchard Beach (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • Funtown Splashtown USA (13.9 mi/22.3 km)
  • Freeport outlet shops (16.7 mi/26.9 km)

Business

  • Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel
  • 24-hour business center with copy and fax services (fees apply)
  • 14 meeting rooms with more than 17, 500 square feet of event space for 8 to 1,400 people

Transportation

  • Portland International Jetport (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Complimentary shuttle service to Portland airport and transportation hubs

Policies
  • Parking fee costs $10 per night.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
General
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Gift shop
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Cumberland County Civic Center: 0.1 mi

Dining

Port of Call Restaurant
Our elegant yet informal full service dining room offers friendly and attentive service. Our daily changing menu features quality American cuisine with a New England flair. Of course, Maine lobster is always on the menu. Enjoy our casual atmosphere, feat
Port of Call Lounge
Port of Call Lounge is open11:00 am to 12:45 am offering your favorite beverage and light fare.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
125 out of 125
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LisaMS
Business
Burlington, VT
Dec 30, 2013

Love Portland

We go to Portland every year in March to get away for the weekends and just love the Holiday Inn By the Bay, within walking distance to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
gr8ful
Business
Wilton, NH, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Great Hotel

We were attending a show at the State Theater and this hotel was perfect. Venue right around the corner and the room was amazing for the price. Very modern, big screen tv, keurig coffe maker! This is now our go to hotel for all State Theater shows!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
shebedinogal
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Perfect for Portland

Clean, friendly staff, great location. I took my daughters for a weekend and the location was central to everything planned. Great swimming pool. For a 2 star property, it really was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Duck Fat restaurant - de-lish! Really not that far away, but not around the corner.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aquadent
Business
Seattle aw
May 13, 2012

Exclletnt

The staff was great. The food good. Location great. Highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lezel
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2013

Great Find!!!!!

The hotel was really lovely! Beautiful bay view, great pool and loved the sauna. Would definitely stay here again! Staff was very helpful when asking directions. Location is right in the heart of Portland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrashPo
Business
New York
Jun 24, 2013

good place to stay

clean, quite, pool, good location, parking, walking distance to a number of parks and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Woki
Business
Portland, Maine
Jun 16, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere

Everyone at this hotel was very friendly and willing to help in anyway. It was a clean relaxed atmosphere. The distance from the hotel to the port and all the shops and eateries are very close. The only think i could think of that was not up to par was that the vent in the bathroom did not work, but other than that everything was clean and well kept.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, CT
Apr 22, 2009

A great jumping-off point in Portland

We like to stay at this hotel when we follow our AHL team into town. The proximity to the Portland Museum of Art, the Portland Stage Company and the Civic Center make this a great location. We usually combine these activities with a trip to the LL Bean Outlet store two blocks away and a dinner at DeMillo's, a converted ferry moored in Old Portland. The staff is very courteous and helpful. The brunch/continental breakfast on the weekends is a very good value. Marcy's is one block away if you desire the greasy spoon breakfast that will stick to the ribs for awhile. Great accommodations and great views from the rooms make this hotel a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

We have never felt threatened walking back to the hotel at night. But caution is always recommended to be on the safe side.

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daigs
Business
Beverly MA
Apr 12, 2010

Excellent place to stay!

This was an excellent hotel stay! I booked a weekend get-a-way for my brother, nephews, and me, and we had an excellent time! Our room was on the 5th floor and had a stunning view of the Portland bay. We spent hours in the pool on both Sat and Sun - it was so much fun!! And when we were at the pool on Sunday, a bunch of other families showed up, so both of my nephews were loving playing with all the kids. I was incredibly impressed that parking was free - for two cars! and that we were able to check in at 12pm b/c our room was ready - three hours before check-in. Being able to check-in was such a plus! On Sunday we went to the Children's Museum... which was literally right across the street! I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Children's Museum is right across the street

Review of Holiday Inn PORTLAND-BY THE BAY

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta
Sep 19, 2008

Great base for Portland visit

The Holiday Inn Portland-by-the-Bay was a great choice for our first trip to Portland in many years! Staff was friendly and knowledgeable at check-in, and the room was great! Since the hotel is on a somewhat busy street, it is definitely worth paying the extra few dollars for a harbor view room. Sunrise over the harbor was just beautiful, as was the evening view watching the tugboats maneuvering around the harbor. The hotel pool, exercise area and saunas were clean and well-maintainted, as well. If there was any negative, the entrance from the garage into the elevator lobby is definitely a little grungy and dated. The rest of the property, however, is just great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is perfectly located for short walks to lots of locally owned stores and a number of excellent dinner choices.

Back to menu Return to top